You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🧘 Buddhism and the Five Precepts: Do you Follow Any of These?🧘

Thank you for sharing!! I have a question about precept 1, does that mean it is imperative to be a Vegetarian? I have always tried to save bugs and animals even as a small child. I would go and save all the worms stuck on the sidewalk after it rains. (I still do😀) I don’t kill spiders and I tell them they can live in the house as long as they don’t bite any of us. I’m very interested in learning more about Buddhism. I took a philosophy of religion class and learned some, and would love to learn more. Thanks for sharing 💜💕

Sort:  

The first precept does mean you should be a vegetarian, never ever harming any life, if possible. The Buddha never ate meat unless it was offered to him during daily alms -he recognized the alms-giving, and was grateful to the giver for their generosity. When invited as a guest of honor, he always asked that no animal be killed for any reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71