Wonderful powers of Herbal medicines.. Dandelion.

in #medicine7 years ago (edited)

As a holistic therapist herbs are like cartoon strips.. super gripping and interesting all while not using every neuron in my brain :o)


My mother has been having a few issues with lymphedema, so my attention was turned to finding a way to ease the swelling and pain for her. While digging through my textbooks half asleep as it was rather late!, I remembered the powers that dandelions have in fighting the lymphedema symptoms. 


Dandelions have the following medicinal properties:

It is known as a bitter which gives it strong diuretic powers making it very popular in uses for, water retention, kidney disorders, cellulite and obesity.
Naturally contains Potassium, this aids in replacing the potassium lost through all the urination.

So in a nutshell, it helps:

1. Fluid retention
2. Kidney disorders
3. Cellulite  
4. Obesity

Fantastic plant because both the leaves and roots can be used as they both act on the liver and gall bladder. It stimulates the secretion of bile, which helps to cleanse the body of waste and toxins.  With that being said.. It is preferred to use the leaves for urinary tract conditions and the roots for digestive, liver and gall bladder issues.

Now, for my own mom, I decided to rather opt for giving her capsules instead of tinctures or tea. 

Dosage via capsules are: up to a maximum of 1g per day.

I always prefer the herbal remedies for her instead of the pharmaceutical medicines. Although there are always side effects from both types of medicine, I like that I can always opt for a "gentle" medication for her which will ultimately leave her with a whole lot less negative side effects. Other thing is, truthfully something like a conventional water tablet just simply doesn't do a thing! Yet, after only one dosage of her holistic caps.. her urine flow is already increasing with her frequent trips to the ladies.

FYI, If you can stomach it and keep it down.. then herbal tea's from (as fresh as possible) cut herb's always pack a bigger punch and start working quicker and in my opinion mostly better than the "old" capsules etc.. but do the best with what you have available to you ♥


Hope you enjoyed a little knowledge burst from me ♥

lots of love,
@mysticlilly16

#minnowsupport
#alternativemedicine





Sort:  

Great post @mysticlilly16 - I hope you will do more like this 🎀🎀🎀

I drink a lot of chamomile tea, and also hot water with lemon lately, and have been noticing some weight loss. Could it be because of these two things?

Hey girl, lemon could help as it makes your body alkaline, the chamomile has anti-fungal and anti-inflammatory properties so just with all the inflammation going down will help you ♥. Try making apple and cucumber smoothies every morning with a few fresh peppermint leaves!! This works well for weight loss :o)

Mmm that sounds so good! Thank you💓 I don't have a blender, it's one of the things I would like to buy if my posts do well!

You should post recipes for smoothies and tea etc and explain the health benefits each one provides. I would love that.

Are you based in Cape Town?

Nope.. in KZN. You must go and visit checkers.. I saw today they have a smoothie blender for under R200.00.

I will most definitely write a few posts with smoothies soon ♥♥

Ooh that sounds so good, I will definitely check it out!

Damn, I thought you were in CT, cuz we are having a meet up this Saturday!

you must enjoy it!

haha, you must go read my post on chamomile ♥ sure you will find it interesting as you say you enjoy it so much ♥♥
https://steemit.com/medicine/@mysticlilly16/wonderful-powers-of-herbal-medicines-chamomile

Hi there, I hope your mom is feeling better soon...
My mother developed Lymphedema after cancer treatments. We were not able to use dandelion because they had her on fluid pills...so we did ginger baths and lymphatic massage. It worked well, and then once the fluids were down we went with hibiscus/peppermint tea in the evening, about an hour before massage.

It all worked well, but it would have been great if we could have done dandelion instead of the fluid pills the hospital was giving her. Good choice of herbs.
If you can do lymphatic massage, it really helps to flush the fluids through. It is like the lymph nodes are sleeping, and it wakes them up for a moment :)

thank you very much. sadly my mom passed away yesterday.

Oh, I am so sorry to hear...and I wish her the best journey <3

Great stuff babe, I love the natural remedies over the big Pharma crap.
Good on ya for sharing.

aww, you are super for reading it so quickly ♥ I cannot handle how big pharma is ruining all the holistic medicines credibility! So many sheeple just accept what they say and then opt for the pharmaceuticals instead of natural medicine.

Hey no worries.
Big Pharma do more than ruin holistic medicines credibility, I believe they are involved in silencing successful practitioners permanently. A number of advocates for natural remedies for serious illnesses have been forced to leave the US and in some cases died in suspicious circumstances.

no joke there. you are so right!
Last year I went with my mother to Mexico and after I learnt the whole story of how the states mistreated Dr Harry Hoxsey I was sickened to my stomach. I'm not sure how closely you follow it but through the last few years there have been numerous Alternative health Dr's and conventional Dr's "silenced" purely for just curing peoples so called (terminal) illnesses purely because it didn't suit the FDA and big Pharma's pockets.

I follow everything possible.

Hi there, @mysticlilly16 We are from The Curator. (A Magazine style post on Steemit) We do curating for creative, artistic. informative, & entertaining. yet undervalued posts. We loved your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post, that we will use as a thumbnail, And we will share some of the post gifts with those posts that we share in that issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment.
Thank you. The Curator.
And keep on steeming your fabulous posts

Hi, yes you are welcome too!

Thank you for enjoying my post ♥

We thank you. Have a fabulous day/evening. (The Curator)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57