You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abolitionist Abstractions Vlog 97: But if not for government, who would stop the doctors from prescribing legal supplements?

in #medicine6 years ago

Thanks for this @abolitionistjay, great Vlog. Keep up the fight whichever route you choose to take, and good luck, it's a tough battle for sure. My 9 y/o border collie was just diagnosed with lymphona (cancer of the lymph nodes - attacks the immune system) just over 2 weeks ago, and I'm trying the natural path to fight it as best I can, and will hopefully get to making a quick blog post on it soon. So I feel you, as I'm going through the same fight. It's just so sad that so many dogs are getting cancer nowadays, I guess just another side effect of the powers that shouldn't be poisoning the earth we live on for their profit.

I just saw a natural vet nutritionist yesterday which was super informative and she tweaked the new diet I had already put Pepper (the dog) on to a completely raw meat diet without even fruits or veggies (no carbs at all), upped the dosages of the natural medicine I was already using (CBD oil, cordyceps mushrooms), and had me add a few more supplements to the other supplements such as omega-3 fish oil I was already giving her.

Apparently one of the best ways to stop the cancer in its tracks is to starve it by switching to a zero-carb diet as carbs feed the cancer. So basically raw meat, supplements to replace the vitamins they would be getting in fruits & veggies, plus whatever is chosen to help fight the cancer like CBD, Turkey Tail and numerous other options. I don't think such a diet would conflict with chemo either... Figured I'd pass on the info in case you're interested - I'd be happy to share the specifics of the supplements and what not; if you're interested just lemme know.

Can't wait to hear what you find out from your trip to the cancer researchers, and I wish you the best of luck in your fight against this awful sickness, whether you choose chemo or natural options or a combo.

Thanks again for the video update and good luck,
Jason

Sort:  

I switched my dogs diet to a protein dog food when he had cancer. He was noticeably craving salmon and so I started giving him raw salmon, canned salmon and salmon protein dry dog foods. He had a soft tissue sarcoma on his front leg. He had two surgeries to remove the tumors and then was told a third surgery would do more harm than good and he was given 6 to 9 months to survive. He lived 3 1/2 more years. Wondered if the salmon diet helped and if some dog foods are causing cancer. What other environmental causes would you blame that could effect dogs? It seems diet would be the obvious one.

@wanderingagorist, I would definitely think your salmon diet helped give your dog those extra years, and from everything I've read it definitely seemed the highly processed commercial dry food is one of the biggest causes of cancer, just like all the gmo & processed food sprayed with poisonous insecticides is helping cause cancer in humans. I know that commercial flea & tick products are full of bad chemicals that can be responsible for causing cancer, especially since these are applied directly to the pet, and I also read that toxic tap water can be a cause, probably from heavy metals, chlorine & maybe even the flouride, not to mention all the used Prozak & opioids and pharmaceutical drug waste leaching into the groundwater, slowly compromising all water everywhere, happening more quickly the more people get on manufactured pharmaceutical drugs. Also vaccines seem to be another major cause of some types of cancer in dogs...

The main environmental causes based on my research seem to be lawn & garden insecticides, lawn fertilizers, and chemicals found in non-natural household cleaners. Probably big-city pollution too, but that's a moot point where I'm at in a rather small town. Any chemical spray on the lawn or chemical cleaner on the carpet indoors is particularly bad because the dog's nose is usually so close to the ground. Second-hand smoke is also a cause of lymphoma in dogs (what I was personally fighting), as well as chemicals in the environment. Hope my response was helpful. You're right though, diet seems to be the main thing - with the right diet & healthy immune system the body is typically strong enough to fight it off on its own even if it forms. Once the body is compromised by bad diet or environmental poisons, it becomes that much easier for the cancer to find an opening to spread and start taking over, or to begin forming in the first place...

Glad to hear your dog beat the odds to live a few more years - that's amazing! Sadly mine didn't stand a chance as we just got to the cancer too late and the vet also thinks it was an extremely aggressive form of lymphoma moving particularly fast. And this is a dog who hadn't once gotten sick in her entire 9 year life until she got cancer - it just doesn't seem right. Feel free to check out my blog post documenting the story of our fight which we sadly just lost, as Pepper passed away the evening I was planning to conclude and post our story to Steemit, the night before last. At least she went as peacefully and painlessly as possible with me by her side. Post also has some embedded links to articles talking about causes of cancer in dogs you might also find interesting: https://steemit.com/blog/@jasonliberty/when-the-vet-gives-your-dog-1-3-days-to-live-every-healthy-day-is-a-gift-fighting-cancer-naturally

Thanks for the interaction, take care & have a wonderful day!

Hi, thanks for all the information. My sympathy for the loss of Pepper. It is tough when we loose our companion animal of any type. I am following and will be checking out your blog. Unfortunate to find a person in the freedom community under these circumstances, but these times of hardship and personal pain are good times to show others with like values support. Again sorry for your loss. I think about my dog Beau every time I see another dog or am just on a hike I still miss his presence. Dogs sure do bring us much companionship and happiness with their no strings attached love. I'm not planning to have another dog companion, at least while I'm doing my nomading. Maybe I will if I ever have to settle down in one place again. I intend to travel to many different places around the world and its just not practical at all to have a dog. That is one of the negatives to this lifestyle though indeed. Take care, peace, love and freedom.

Thanks, @jasonliberty. Yeah, this is definitely rough. I just put up a new vlog a little while ago, which talk about the decision I'm going with for now. I'm going to put her in the trials for the I'm-Yunity (the turkey tail mushroom extract) supplement and see how she does. It does mean that she will also have to receive chemo but, with this type of cancer, things can get bad in a hurry anyway.

If she doesn't respond well after a seesion or two, I will likely pull her out and try the more natural route. I just want to keep her quality of life as high as I can for as long as I can. Right now she still seems to be doing great, so i'll take that. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31