The Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective: Liver & Gallbladder Health with Raw Rhubarb Compote & Buckwheat Pancakes

IMG_6655.jpg

Using food to support health and vitality is at the heart of our life on this homestead. We enjoy taking control of our health and wellness through the plants we grow and forage.

Over the summer we have been doing our utmost to live on the food we grow paired with dried goods in the pantry. Not being able to shop for ingredients specific for this challenge forced me to get creative.

This week the Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective is asking us to provide recipes for a meal/drink/dessert (or all of these things) that focus on an a specific element and the organ that it support. This week we will be focusing on:
Wood & Gallbladder/Liver.

The Gall Bladder is the Yang organ paired with the Yin Liver in the Wood element. The Gallbladder’s job is to absorb any excesses from the Liver. Since the Liver’s job is to create smooth flow of Qi, together these organs help regulate Blood, Digestion, and Emotion. source

To learn more about this wonderful challenge read this post from @eco-alex
The Medicinal Cooking Collective Week 2 Guidelines: Cooking For The Liver & Gallbladder / Wood Element

I searched around the homestead today looking for sour green foods to support the liver and gallbladder. I found this a bit challenging and almost gave up until I noticed some rhubarb peeking out of the weeds. Rhubarb is a perfect sour ingredient for liver and gallbladder health.


About Rhubarb

IMG_5580.jpg

A lot of the people who use Rhubarb considered it a fruit but really it is a vegetable. Rhubarb has very sour,tart flavour. It has long green & pink edible stalks. The root can also be used in medicine but the leaves are toxic. Rhubarb is packed with vitamins and minerals including vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, calcium, potassium and magnesium. It is very low in calories.

Rhubarb For Liver & Gallbladder support

Rhubarb root is sour and bitter in taste, and cooling in action. It is a stimulant laxative that drains inflammation from the liver, large intestine and kidney.S

I needed something to go with the rhubarb and decided to use buckwheat. Someone had just given me a small sack of fresh stone ground buckwheat flour and I was eager to try it. Imagine my surprise when researching the nutritional benefits I discovered that buckwheat (Fagopyrum esculentum) is not related to wheat at all. It is related to sorrel, knotweed and rhubarb!

About Buckwheat

IMG_7854.jpg

Buckwheat is rich in complex carbohydrates, high in fiber, protein, iron and magnesium & contains eight essential amino acids. It is an excellent gluten free wheat substitute. Best of all. studies show that buckwheat can suppress gallstone formation & cleanse the liver. S

I just love serendipitous discoveries don't you? Buckwheat and rhubarb are a perfect way to support liver and gallbladder health.


Raw Rhubarb Compote & Buckwheat Pancakes

I decided to make a raw rhubarb compote, buckwheat pancakes & a rhubarb/raspberry juice for my lunch today. The compote was sensational. Its a perfect combination of sour, tart, nutty, and sweet. I can't believe how great it tastes. This compote is extremely versatile and we have some left over so I can eat it again this evening.

Here's how I made it!

IMG_6634.jpg

Raw Rhubarb Compote

Ingredients

  • 2 stalks of thinly sliced raw rhubarb
  • 1 cup dried fruit (apricots, raisins & figs)
  • 10 almonds chopped
  • 1 handful fresh chopped herbs (basil, thyme, oregano)
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • Pinch of sea salt & pepper

Directions

Chop up all of your ingredients and toss into a bowl. Stir in the maple syrup, salt and pepper until combined. Cover and refrigerate for several hours to allow flavours to develop.

wood gallbladder.jpg

Buckwheat Pancakes

I followed the recipe that was included with the buckwheat flour. It is not a complete gluten free recipe but there are many 100% buckwheat recipes on-line if you prefer that!

  • 1 cup buckwheat
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • melted butter the sizes of an egg
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs

Directions

Mix all Ingredients together and cook on a medium hot griddle.

Rhubarb Juice

This recipe is nothing fancy. I juiced some rhubarb using my juicer added filtered water, a cup of raspberries and honey to a jar and shook well. I served the juice with the raspberry chunks floating in it.

IMG_6649.jpg

I am so pleased with how this recipe came together! This challenge is a wonderful way to inspire us to look more deeply into the food we eat and how it can support our health and well-being. I strongly recommend that you give it a try! I would love to see what recipes you come up with!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


amazing post loved it hoping to see more from you

guyssss i am a food blogger follow me to get unbelievable facts regarding health

Pepper and rhubarb, who knew? I bet that compote was just amazing on the buckwheat pancakes. Truly impressive use of what you had on hand!

Thanks @goldenoakfarm! I am alone for dinner tonight so I am having the leftovers tonight. I think I could eat that compote every day.

That's great that you were able to look around your homestead and find the inspiration for this recipe.

I just love serendipitous discoveries don't you? Buckwheat and rhubarb are a perfect way to support liver and gallbladder health.

Because of this contest, I have also been reading and learning new things. It's such a great way to keep learning from others and my own research. Your compote looks delicious. Good thing you get to eat it all tonight :-)

I am having so much fun with this challenge! It really is a cool idea. Can't wait to read everyone else's recipes and ideas.

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

My mom always makes rhunbarb jam. Love the flavor. Never seen it here in Cambodia though. I bet the pancakes taste amazing. They sure look delicious.

I have never had rhubarb jam. I will have to give that a try. Rhubarb enjoys colder climates so I don't suspect it would be easy to find there. I do have a friend that is growing it in Mexico but she has to dig it up and stick it in cold storage for three months to give it that cold/dormant period it needs ...a lot of work but she loves Rhubarb.

It so good. I hope you give it a try. Sounds like a lot of work indeed. Think i'll stick to the tropical produce for now ;)

VERY nice walkerland! I really like this recipe, and didn't know about Rhubarb, or buckwheat being good for the liver.. There is a dessert and drink that is sure to please the tongue!and body! Thanks for sharing this..
oh and...

Congratulations @walkerland your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.20 as part of the @ecoTrain Community Support Initiative. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Thank you for the encouragement and for inspiring me with this challenge - I truly appreciate it. This challenge is pushing me to investigate and understand the healing benefits of all the food we grow. I am learning so much through the process of responding to the challenge with my own post and through reading everyone else's. I just love this. Thank you so much!

Gosh this is absolutely fabulous!!! Raw compote of rhubarb - would never have thought of that one!! But it works, huh? what an inspired idea. We just had a rhubarb compote with chia seeds and an oat and almond and sunflower crumble - but I love your pancakes... so good!

oooh, you have inspired me to make another rhubarb compote because that crumble sounds like a heavenly dish.

Highly recommended! With custard!

oh now you've done it ...custard is a weakness of mine.

Now that looks like an incredibly tasty way to eat one's medicine! Raspberries and honey sound like a perfect way to take the tart out of the rhubarb. I'd love to try this one - it'd be nice with a splash of lime too I imagine.

naturalmedicinesmallavatar.jpg

Everything is nice with lemons and limes! I wish we could grow them here. :)

Can you grow them in a greenhouse? We're lucky here in Australia as it never gets cold enough to NOT grow them, well, in most parts anyway, as long as it's not too exposed. Lemon trees are everywhere here - wish I could send you a bunch! - K.

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13