Spider Bites @stardust: (don't look if you don't like graphic injury photos)

in #medical7 years ago

Spider Bites @stardust: (don't look if you don't like graphic injury photos)

IMG_7989.jpg
Normally when you get bitten by a spider, it is not serious, and the bite can be treated at home. Most spiders are poisonous, but their fangs are to small to cause humans any serious trouble. Normally the bite goes away by itself in approximately a week.

The normal treatment for a spider bite is to wash it with water and soap and then treat it further with an ice pack. If the bite itches you can treat it with a anti histamine. You can also apply a antibiotic ointment and keep the bite mark clean.

This is how the history of my wife, @stardust's ordeal, after being bitten by a spider.

  • On Wednesday she complained about itching. I looked at the mark and told her it looks like a mosquito bite.
  • Thursday the bite itched some more, and started to swell and became red, while the itching continued.
  • On Friday @stardust started to find it difficult to breath.
  • She then went to the hospital, where she was put on a drip. She received some antibiotics and was released home, with the instruction to come back to hospital on Sunday if things did not improve.
  • On Saturday the wound opened and a lot of puss came out.
  • Sunday the wound were swolen severely and more puss came out.
  • I took her back to hospital, where she was submitted and put on a drip with some heavy antibiotics. The doctor informed us that she will have to operate, to cut open the wound, and clean it out properly.
  • Monday the operation took place and every thing went well.
  • Today I stood by when the wound was cleaned, as they were teaching me the proper to clean the wound, as I will have to do it at home, when she is released.
  • The Doctor said she can be released tomorrow, after she has examined the wound again.

We don't have the slightest idea when the spider bit her and what type of spider it was. My advice to anybody being bitten by a spider is to go for a medical opinion by a doctor. Better safe than sorry!!

Below is the photo of the wound as it looked today after it was cleaned!!
IMG_9524.jpg
IMG_9522.jpg

(The spider at the top was also photographed in our house, I actually made a post on it some time back)

The photos were taken by me with my iPhone

Thank you for reading, I hope you liked it.

Sort:  

That is a hell of a wound. I'm glad that she is safe and recovering well. Wish you and your wife all the luck.

Thank you very much for the well wishes, I must say my wife looks good, and seems to be recovering very well.

oh my, that really looks disgusting

It does, I was shocked to see it when they took off the dressing!!

wtf so sorry to see that hope you get better son @rynow

Thanks for your concern.

Good grief that looks like a painful, horrible wound. I hope she recovers fully and quickly. Yikes!

Thank you very mush for the well wishes.

Oh my god that looks horrible! hopes she get better.

Thank you for the well-wishes, she is came home today and she is looking better.

Eina man... dit lyk seer!

Sy se dit was baie seer!! Sy voel nou darem beter.

Omg!
That looks like a deadly bite!
It's quite deep isn't it?
Hope she is doing well!

Thanks for the post.
I learnt a lot from it!
I will never ignore any insect bite if it persists for more than two days :(

Upvoted!
Followed!! :)

Thank you very much @taraamin77, the bite is quite deep. She came home today and is looking better, now the wound must just heal.

That's insane and super scary! Take care :)

Wow, glad she is ok, but i also like the pic, i follow

Yikes! That looks scary. Do you think it was a brown recluse? We have those in Arkansas and they eat away at the skin like that. I was going to get a special spider bite kit that contains black charcoal to draw out poison along with something else. Good to have on hand before you even get to the hospital to slow the progress. Glad she's getting better.

I don't have the slightest idea what type of spider it was as we did not even see it. The spider bite kit is a good idea.
Thanks for the comment

eina pain! dit lyk flippen seer!

Sterkte vir @rynow vir al die nursing en liefde vir @stardust hoop alles kom reg gou gou

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56662.37
ETH 2982.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15