Aubergine stuffed with Wild Mushrooms

in #meatfree5 years ago (edited)









Last night’s supper was an experiment - which worked. Happily. Much of it consisted of homegrown vegetables - the aubergines (aka brinjals or eggplant), the green pepper, shallots and the fresh parsley and oregano. It also included some of my home made cottage cheese (so vegetarian but not vegan). A super special ingredient - a gift from a friend - dried wild, German mushrooms. Just the aroma alone had my mouth watering. Before anything, soak these in boiling water for at least 15 minutes.

In summary: scoop out and roast the brinjal shells which have been lightly coated in olive oil. While they’re roasting, sauté the onion, garlic and the brinjal pulp. Then add the chopped green pepper and finally add the mushrooms with what has now become a stock. Allow this to reduce a and the flavours to merge. With hindsight, and if, in future, I want to turn this into a vegan dish, I’d replace the cottage cheese with a dash of balsamic vinegar and have an alternative protein in a side dish.

So back to what I did: once the bits in the pan have reached the consistency you’d like, add fresh, chopped parsley and oregano, reserving some for garnish. Allow to cool a little and stir in a good dollop of cottage cheese. Finally, fill the brinjal shells with this mixture and return to a moderate oven to heat through, and brown a little on the top.

As I was “practising” my plating skills for Sunday Supper, these were served with potato and a marinated green bean and tomato salad. The carnivorous husband declared this #meatfree Monday meal, not just delicious, but the stuffing, “a step up; really good”! Thanks to @plantstoplanks for inspiring this post!

#cooking #steemblopomo #powerhousecreatives #ghsc #share2steem #gardening #countryliving #mcgregorvillage #vegetables #foodsecurity #homegrown #homemade

There it is - my 30th contribution
thanks to @traciyork for the inspiration

PS
I am going for four consecutive weeks, so am going to strive to post every day until Monday 6th May (CAT time) and get my fourth @steemitboard badge for posting every day for a week. Anyone going to join me?

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma

If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem and earn

Let me help you for blog posts any writing in English
Rates depend on the depth of edit required


DM me on Discord

More about why I am offering this service here

Join Us On Discord

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Nicee not bad :) I'm also doing my cruelty-free day today haha. I know you've said it's not vegat cuz of that cheese in, but whatever, still better than ribeye :D

Well, that depends who you talk to. I hear that there is a bit of a backlash about exclusivey plant-based diets based on how humans evolved - as omnivores. However, more vegetables and plants is my preferences. The Husband - not so much. We have to compromise in our house! lol

This looks absolutely amazing. I often do this with large mushrooms, but stuff them with capsicum, some cheese, and other finely diced veggies. Super delicious!

I've been eating a lot of eggplant lately (what we call it here in Australia) - and it is such a good, healthy comfort food!

Yes, I also stuff mushrooms and there I like to use red, sweet capsicums. Or on occasion, sundried tomatoes with blue cheese. Lose the SDTs and top with bacon - very yum!

Yep, definitely bookmarking this one for the upcoming garden bounty here! If I ever make it to SA I know where I'm staying...

You would be most welcome: and you'd teach me a thing or three, I am sure!

The mushrooms look like king boletes.

Posted using Partiko Android

These?
http://mushroom-collecting.com/mushroomking.html
I shall ask my friend. Her mother sends them from Germany :D

Those they are really good even if they're dried. Fresh they're even better but not very many grow in the states. There is a similar bolete called a bicolor bolete that is common here https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baorangia_bicolor the only problem is there are lots of lookalikes that can cause stomach aches.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, thanks. These are clearly the right ones because none of us have had any ill effects. LOL
As a matter of fact, one of my Dad's workers, years ago, when I was about 9 or 10, could identify edible mushrooms and from about August to October we'd have fresh, foraged mushrooms. Delicious.

Chicken of the woods is the best fall mushroom.

Posted using Partiko Android

So awesome that it was made from homegrown veggies and a gift. Looks as delicious in the pics as your description too.

Well done!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That looks so tasty ! .... and healthy :O I love it! I have not had aubergnines since forever and I love mushrooms so this is really tantalizing for me :D :D :D

Yum yum!

Hi, @fionasfavourites!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66