Am I Too Mean at Work?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mean5 years ago

Hi friends,

I have been getting some feedback from my staff and co-workers that I can be too mean (or harsh), mostly when it comes to working with vendors and strategic partners. None of them are clients, so it is more internal than anything.

8D6AA34B-19AB-4962-864B-B3F0810EEA53.gif

While that may be their perspective, my perspective is that I am very busy and need these vendors/partners to do their job on time, on budget, and accurately. I don’t have a lot of patience or grace with them, but that is because I have high expectations. I have a hard time tolerating my time getting wasted due to others’ incompetence. If the issue has risen to my level, it means that it couldn’t be resolved by others or is complicated – I can’t be the one to explain/train our vendors/partners on how to do their job, so I have an expectation that those who are working with me know what they are doing.

These sorts of issues can be tough to navigate – on one hand, having our strategic partners like us and be motivated to work well for us is important, but on the other hand, if you are getting paid to do something, you should fulfill your duty and do it with excellence. Vendor changes are usually not fun either, so tying to preserve a relationship and make it better can be in my best interest as well. From a leadership perspective, I am also being watched by my team and peers, so modeling appropriate ways of handling issues is a training tool and sets the tone for the group. I will also use issues that come up as teaching tools to help some staff out when it is appropriate, showing them both sides of the coin.

All this to say, I am not planning to change my techniques any time soon, but am keeping aware of how my sometimes harsh methods have an impact on the business and team.

Do you have similar issues to navigate?

Thanks for stopping by today,

Brian

Sort:  

If you have to ask.... 😉

Confrontation at work is always stressful. If people are willing to put themselves in an uncomfortable position to make suggestions about your style, that is something to take to heart.

On the one hand, your style may be pushing people to a point where they feel something NEEDS to be said. On the other, they see a potential in you for improvement and believe you might take their advice. These are good things.

Maybe this was a rhetorical post? ☺️

Either way, reflection is good. People often find their self perception doesn’t match how they are seen by others.

Good luck!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I hope you gain success in your work.

Hi @brian.rrr!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.020 which ranks you at #3707 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #9.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99