Why You are a Part of Me

in #me6 years ago


You are a part of me. Of this I can assure you. And, if you're willing to allow me a few moments of your precious time, I might even convince you that I am a part of you.

However, before we can embark on this journey of realisation together, we must first ask the question; Who is me?

Ask a million people who "me" is, and you may very well get a million different responses. I'm a carpenter, I'm a chef. I'm a mother of five, or a small business owner. I'm a man who never says never, or a girl who loves to dance more than any other.

Whilst there may be a great disparity between our individual thoughts on who "me" is, we can find very much in common in regards to the methods we use to decide who we are.

This is because the concept of "who" we are is fleeting. It will change countless times in our lives, but what "me" is shall forever remain the same. "Me," is simply the description we have ascribed to ourselves based within the context of our environment.

Without the exterior world, and those who populate it, the concept of me cannot exist. I am a man only because I walk in a world among men and women. I am a writer only because you exist to read my words. I am an artist only because I have been inspired by that which I have witnessed in my time. I am a son only because I had a mother and father to create me, and a student only because there is others out there that I can learn from.

It becomes clear we when we scrutinize the word "me," which we throw around so often each day, that without the compliment of one another, "me" is nobody at all.

This is why you are a part of me, and why I thank you for it.


How to Love the Fuck Out of Your Enemies

Sort:  

Water can take many forms, but it's always water. If only water could remember that it was water instead of the container, perhaps it could go from liquid to solid to gas at will.

Profound stuff. Really fucking profound. Did you come up with this one yourself?

I think so? Haha I’m sure it was influenced by someone, but I can’t be sure. Bruce lee said something not so different, right? “Be water my friend” I remixed I guess?

Yes I am familiar with that, but I think yours infers a different lesson, and is one of my favourite ever analogies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97