The Old Dog Discovers: John McAfee Trades in Steem!

in #mcafee7 years ago (edited)

Love Him or Hate Him, John McAfee is a Big Proponent of Block-chain Technology

While I enjoy watching his lectures in order to learn more about internet security the fact is that he is becoming a big player in the Bitcoin sphere. As a reference, please have a look at a recent article by @loggiaonfire "John McAfee Storms The Blockchain".


John McAfee is a huge proponent of block-chain currencies and a Steemit trader. Photo credit

Does John McAfee Use Steem?

As investors of time, energy and resources in steemit.com we are all excited when the rich and famous confirm what we already know. That Steemit is state of the art technology, a platform worth trading and investing in and one that is very likely set to continue its meteoric rise to greatness! 

When I first started delving into the question as to whether or not John McAfee uses Steem I was disappointed to find the following two articles:

1.) I'm Convincing John McAfee to Join Steemit!

2.) I Called John McAfee & He Won't Join Steemit Because Of This Flaw...

In the second article above (which was written more than 1 year ago) the author @andrewdemeter claims to have phoned McAfee personally and was told that he wouldn't be joining Steemit because of its lack of liquidity. 

If you check @andrewdemeter's account you'll see that this obviously put him off of Steemit because despite the fact that he seemed set for Steemit greatness and success that was the last post that he ever made!

The Fact is That John McAfee Does Trade in Steem!

The clear evidence shows that while John McAfee does not seem to have an account that can be definitively attributed to him he DOES trade in Steem and here's the proof:



In this London 2017 lecture between the 3.10 and 3.20 mark, John McAfee specifically mentions trading in Steem!

Questions to Ponder

  • Who do you consider to be Steemit's most famous member? Max Kaiser? James Corbett? Jeff Burwick? The homegrown @papa-pepper? Someone else?
  • Who else would you like to see on Steemit?
  • Do you think that having famous people on Steemit takes away from other members doing well here or does it help us all by making Steemit more attractive and valuable?
  • Do you find it curious that @andrewdemeter stopped posting after McAfee told him that he wouldn't be joining Steemit?


I hope that you enjoyed this article proving that "John McAfee Trades in Steem!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my 41,000 plus Steem Power! 

Sort:  

Hmm, here goes another supporter of McAfee...I totally appreciate Steemit.com but have done enough research to understand: "buyers be ware" to know that this platform is another form of circle-jerk...

Again, I really appreciate this platform. Even fund my account. But. But, as an investment; no way. It's not getting very far...

Aloha!

Thanks for your great comment and input.

I'm not so sure if McAfee is an investor or just a speculative trader. In the video he mentions trading in many alt coins as part of his research into the eventual setting up or purchasing of an exchange. What I found interesting is that in mentioning only a few coins that he was "playing" with he singled out Steem.

Steem is unique in that "normal", non tech, crypto neophytes are "earning" it and becoming holders and investors in the alt currency sphere without even realizing it or needing to understand the technology behind it. Once here many get an education in blockchain technology while using this amazing blogging platform.

Steemit.com is like a Trojan Horse that is getting a newly created currency into the hands of 10's of thousands, and potentially millions of people. Obviously some big players are taking notice of that.

You know what @kus-knee? I have not elaborated on the short comment above. Here are more detailed thought of Steemit:

  1. I first heard of Steemit through Gregory Manarrino and Bix Weir; two of several people I truly admire. As of mid-May I opened an account with Steemit. Low and behold, the crypto journey of my life has begun. Every questions I had regarding cryptocurrency was answered here. All I had to do was brave the courage to post question/help. Yes, you are very correct, Steemit is a unique place...very unique because I couldn't possibly gotten to where I'm at; blockchains knowledge without this platform. So, for that very reason, this is a jewel. I love it here. I love sharing my island here. I love the people I have met here. And I absolutely love getting a few pennies here and there. A Trojan Horse, it is!

  2. Being that I do have other altcoins and some really great ICOs, Steemit is part of my investment. Yes, I do plan on putting more money here so that I matter a little but here's where I miswritten; I treat Steem very differently than all other tokens because here is where I play. Here is where I get to interact with others. That's where other tokens I own doesn't do. It's so different here. I guess I enjoy it here so much that it's not like an investment but a social platform to place of love and joy.

  3. My greatest concern with Steemit is where the generated income coming from. Maybe you could help me with this puzzled question but the way I understand it is that it's generated from within. My concern with that is that at any moment the "whale/s" could pull the plug and all will be left butt hurt.

I'm not sure if it even make any sense to you because I was never the eloquent writer but I tried. Well, there it is in a 1-2-3 punch.

Thanks again for patience with a noobie. Have a wonderful day. Much mahalo. Aloha!

@islandliving my blog posts including my older posts about steem ecosystem explained your concern about: where the money come from...no worries , steem ecosystem is amazing

Can you please add a link to them here?

wow, I have many posts about the ingenuity of steem ecosystem..would you please see my blog posts ( and send in your support )...some older links are https://steemit.com/steem/@charles1/why-are-ignorant-people-calling-steem-and-bitcoin-a-ponzi-scheme
, https://steemit.com/steem/@charles1/exposed-dan-hidden-plan-to-take-over-the-world , and many recent posts

Thank u. I read both. I'll keep it short:
LiteCoin
Kin

welcome and I will keep it short, Steem and Bitcoin

Yes I too agree. I read somewhere that steem can be minted as much as owner wants, so it's unlikely that it will grow much.

And suppose it reaches 5$ or up then for new joiners it will be pretty hard to accumulate sp.

Even though they say sbd is pegged, I feel steem is also pegged.

Having big accounts and celebrities on Steemit might help with credibility on some level, as long as those "names" still loosely fit within the idea that this is an alternative to other social media.

On the other hand, just how "decentralized" and community driven is it if we end up with a handful of famous names earning 90% of the rewards for no reason other than "they are famous" while the people who have worked for months and even years publishing quality content end up with 1/4 of what they get now?

Seems to me that "big names" may just be a way to import the very problems and inequities Steemit was-- in a way-- created to escape from...

We actually don't need celebrities here in my opinion. I don't want to find the photo of Kardashian's ass with $1000 reward. Small, ordinary people will raise the steem, if you ask me.

Agreed!

Kardashian no but do you think that having someone like McAfee promote us would be good? If you look at famous crypto players like Max Keiser and Jeff Burwick, after huge initial payouts they are now more or less earning like normal bloggers.

That's why they will leave the steemit soon. But, we'll see. The only obstacle I see is the problem with on boarding new people on the platform. We don't need promotion or advertising here. Just bring on a million new users and steem will go to $10. Chess mate.

$10 Steem. That sounds good to me!

Stars may make more per post than the average joe but they BRING IN a lot of new users and investors of which INCREASES the value of $teem. Then we all win anyways!
Yes bring in the stars and check the ego!

SteemON!

Hahah you make a very good point actually !

You raise some great points. If you look at the famous member that i mentioned in this post, after an initial surge with huge earnings they have, for the most part made a moderate sum on their more recent posts. Time will tell what happens but I do share your concerns.

Now is the time to buy Steem during this dump!

I personally consider jerrybanfield a good proof of Steem quality, since he was on the internet business for quite a long time. I think it's interesting to see people like McAfee and other known names using or tranding steem, because it gives more value to the plattform, especially for those who doesn't know it... Anyway I just hope that if some famous people comes, like actors or so, they won't catch all the attention and kind of ruin the great community we have now on Steemit. I do understand @andrewdemeter, things seems to change so fast in crypto's world, anyway I personally believe in Steemit's great idea and plattform. Though I do consider an advice I found in a very wise guide on investements: "do not invest what you are not disposed to loose..."

Thanks @airmatti for your detailed comment. Yes you are correct @jerrybanfield is another big supporter of Steemit who has migrated here from other media platforms. Your investment advice is very wise.

I think it would take more development of Steemit to make it as user friendly as FB or Instagram to get celebrities to join. Being famous usually means being very busy and so unable to engage in the platform in any meaningful way. A YouTuber called @cinemasins joined for a bit but I think he gave up, having last posted a month ago. He didn't spend any time getting to know people and didn't offer exclusive content to Steemit folowers. He does great work on YouTube but it takes a while to find your feet in Steemit and people give up quickly.
I believe if you know a famous or seni famous person and can coach them in the way the community works so that they can train their followers ( sounding a bit like a pyramid scheme here lol) then they as a celebrity can do well on Steemit. It's still a very new platform and many people don't trust it because they don't understand it.

Great points @moderndragon!

We do have the "famous" in the crypto world that I mentioned in the post who are contributing on a regular basis. As censorship and demonetization increase more YouTubers will be "forced" to look for alternatives.

True. At this point I'm still being regarded as a weirdo sales person if I contact people though. hehe.
It's not a scam or clickbait! I promise! :D

Great post Old Dog... I like Max Kaiser and Jeff Berwick... I would love to see Vitalik Buterin here, but this will never happen, cause he's "working" on another decentralized social media (on the Ethereum blockchain)... and he's the Ethereum-guy... so, nada de nada.
McAffee is a really crazy, smart, psycho guy... last year I saw the documentary: "Gringo: The Dangerous Life of John McAfee" ... you should absolutly watch it... I don't know what to think about John McAfee, haha... you can find it online (Netflix, Amazon, etc.)
Hugs!
Steemitri

Great comment @steemitri! You are such a knowledgeable mannequin a a rising star here on Steemit!

Yes he's very wild and his life style is the opposite of mine but I respect his expertise in privacy and security issues. Crypto is like the wild west and it will be so easy to have your savings hacked away.

Thanks for the links.

Yeah... that's right, crypto is wild west, totally agree... and no doubts about his knowledge on privacy and security!
Ciao ciao

Celebrities joining will make Steemit valuable for sure but thing is steemit will become just like facebook and instagram where they will earn 1000 upvote just for a picture and the commons will hardly earn any even after working hard and posting valuable stuffs. As you can see how hard it has become for a minnow to get upvote ,i can feel the pain and i think it will become worse after some celebrity joins.

You make some good points and it could be very positive or even negative for many. Time will tell.

ha, that was in interesting insight to the topic! Thank you for sharing... still on my way to dig into all the mud out there... :-)

I think Steemit is still in its infancy. At least the platform should get a little matured to offer many more features, apps and ease of use for everyone before any celebrity joins up. A celebrity normally joins when a platform attains some maturity. Until then it's good if some one just mentions it or trade in it.

I'd like to see celebrated intellectuals from every field here. Whether they are some renowned scientists, researchers, philosophers, editors, senior journalists & columnists from prestigious media outlets, well known artists, reformers, activists ...well the list may go on to as many tags are there on Steemit or even more 😊. What I mean is I wanna see masters and authority figures from all spheres on Steem. How about that?

I like your ideas as to who you'd like to see here.

Thanks for questioning this. I think our cryptocurrency community has other heroes than the rest of the world. Do I really expect or desire to meet Britney Spears, Miley Cyrus or Lionel Messi here on steemit?? No, I dont!
I like to spend my time with very interesting people all over the world I met only here! For example @kus-knee.
But indeed I'd like some certain people join this platform, e.g. Ron Paul or some other libertarians, especially from Germany.

I agree with your way of thinking. I would like to see continued growth and adoption but not at the cost of the little guy who does produce quality being squeezed out. All the "famous" people that I mentioned in the article are of the mindset that you see.

As you write it would be good to have German "celebrities" as well as "celebrities" writing in other languages joining us.

Greeting to you in Munich @freiheit50 you have lots to teach and to share!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83