You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MBDs- Monster Backed Dollars

in #mbd6 years ago

I can't get over the '$20K' figure as an example.

I'm richer than 95% of the population in a top 6 GDP country and I regard the $20 worth I've bought as risky!

Maybe take the 'K' off the example and you'll speak effectively to a lot more people.

Sort:  

it's 5 btc. Does that sound like an absurd amount?

To most people in mainstream society, 5 BTC is a crazily absurd amount of money.

In my workplace there are two of us who have bought any crypto (the other guy manages the databases) - we both regard investing >5% of our TNW in crypto as risky.

Most people I work with think we're both nuts investing anything.

So yes, 5 BTC to most people just sounds crazy, let alone 5 BTC in a new alt coin development.

Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love the cards, I've bought about 7 packs: and I might buy more, but ATM I'm spread a bit thin.... and I'm in the 1% of people in the UK whose bought into crypto, richer than 95% of the population here.

In other words, if I'm thinking $20K invested in steemmonsters sounds like an insane amount of money, something like 99.95% of the population will think it's even insaner!

Of course that doesn't stop the cards being fantastic, and it's not going to stop them going up in value, driven by the relatively few people with millions invested in crypto, this crypto space is somewhat detached from mainstream economics after all.

My comment was really written from the perspective on someone with a grasp on 'ordinary society out there' - all I'm saying is most people just don't operate in terms of those sort of numbers, not even rich ones living in the middle of 'stockbroker wealth' on the outskirts of London.

Of course it's perfectly feasible that that 99.95% of the population are the crazy ones and they'll regret missing out in this wonderful innovation you've created - quite possibly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64