Challenge Yourself Here on Steemit

in #matter8 years ago (edited)


My name is Sera born and raised in New York City. I attended the Fashion Institute of Technology for my undergrad and worked in the fashion industry for 10+ years. A few years ago I decided to change careers and moved into health & wellness. About 5 years ago I married an amazing soul. 

(

we now have a super sweet soul added to our family... Ella. 

Once we had our daughter we were on a quest to find the perfect place to raise her. 

 And so the journey began...       

During our 5 month journey to find the perfect place (whatever that meant) we traveled to the Dominican Republic, Bahamas, Barbados & Costa Rica. Ultimately we ended up in Austin, Texas (which we absolutely love).  

 "What mommy all that island hopping to just end up in Austin"

A few years back while living in Brooklyn, NY and working a job which had long passed its expiration date (but was too afraid to quit). It was at this time that my husband and I did our first "cold shower" challenge. We set the challenge to be completed after 7 days (it was also the dead of winter). Every morning we woke up and had to take a 5 min cold shower. The challenge was definitely exhilarating to say the least. I surpassed the challenge and continued for a full 30 days. In fact it made me look forward to going to work. I figured if I can take a cold shower for 5 minutes and get thru it then there was nothing else in my day that I couldn’t do. Oddly enough I started looking forward to the cold showers and thats when I discovered it all came down to "Mind Over Matter". 

A few months later I got up enough nerve to quit my job (the best thing I ever did). I fell in love with creating & participating in challenges with friends and strangers alike.  Challenges are a perfect way to hold yourself accountable even when no one is watching. It helps you accomplish your goals and pushes you out of your comfort zone. The world we live in is in need of strong minds that can help to make positive changes and it starts with you.   

I would love to contribute to the Steemit community by introducing challenges for the mind & body along with the occasional healthy recipe. Each challenge is carefully designed to enhance your well being while allowing you to grow closer with friends & family that join you. I will give instructions and time frames with each challenge that is posted. I'm so excited to share these challenges with like minded individuals here on Steemit.   

First Challenge Soon to Follow This Post :)  

xo Sera  

*“If you're going to try, go all the way. Otherwise, don't even start. This could mean losing girlfriends, wives, relatives and maybe even your mind. It could mean not eating for three or four days. It could mean freezing on a park bench. It could mean jail. It could mean derision. It could mean mockery--isolation. Isolation is the gift. All the others are a test of your endurance, of how much you really want to do it. And, you'll do it, despite rejection and the worst odds. And it will be better than anything else you can imagine. If you're going to try, go all the way. There is no other feeling like that. You will be alone with the gods, and the nights will flame with fire. You will ride life straight to perfect laughter. It's the only good fight there is.” ~ Charles Bukowski* 

 Cabrera, Dominican Republic     

Sort:  

Congratulations @mamawarrior! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful post

Congratulations @mamawarrior! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51