Möbius Strip Mathematics

in #mathematics7 years ago (edited)

A Möbius strip is a one-dimensional object you can create in your own home. You do this by taking a long strip of paper, creating a loop, and twisting one end over 180° before connecting the ends. "But that creates a 3-dimensional object I can see and hold," you might say. WRONG! There is only one side, and only one edge. But that is only where the strangeness begins. Observe what happens when you cut a Möbius strip...


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please resteem!

Sort:  

@jacobtothe If my Math teachers were like this back when I was a kid I would have loved Math!

I like the 1st sentence he wrote -

There's so much more to Math than numbers and formulas

indeed indeed!

In drafting, even before creating working drawings, sketches and diagrams are essential to design. A good engineering sketch can help design a mechanism that will work as intended and help visualize the range of motion.

Thank you.
Are you a mathematician yourself?
Do you know #Cicada3301 puzzle ? It has lots of math.

You might say I am an applied mathematician in my drafting and design education. I do not know that puzzle. I do not enjoy crunching numbers, but I do like puzzles and brain teasers along with problem solving.

Hi. Well I expect you are in for a treat. I have been following the Cicada 3301 puzzles since 2012. They come out at on Jan 6th each year. It usually starts with a simple image with an encrypted message.
This year it has spoken about DNA encryption among other things.
This is a post I put together the other day after solving some of the puzzle.
https://steemit.com/cicada3301/@fortified/cicada-3301-or-new-wesite-update-the-bay-of-pigs-encypted-message

If you are interested in knowing more about it I have done a few post on it. Also I would be happy to share any of my research.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83