You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Interesting Airplane Riddle...

This was interesting. I definitely fell into the trap of thinking that the wind speed would cancel itself out. Playing with the numbers a little bit shows us that this isn't the case. It reminds me of my first calculus course in high school, in which I learned not to trust my first instinct when a problem can be worked out with some hypotheticals and a little bit of math.

And now a question for any experts that might see this: Could wind speeds realistically get that fast in an area so widespread that a plane could not avoid it? If not, the flight won't be impossible, we would just have to do more math to figure out how long it takes to detour around the windy area when it's not in your favor. This is a bit out of scope, being the difference between real world problems and riddles, but I love how a riddle can start off simple yet provoke more in-depth thoughts.

Sort:  

Yeah...also I think winds vary largely based on elevation, so you could consider the cost in time for climbing to an elevation where the wind is less. Fun stuff! Glad you liked the post!

Oh, perhaps instead of flying around the wind, we could potentially save time by flying over or under it! Now we're thinking in 3-dimensional space!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67024.68
ETH 3312.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74