You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pushouts on Graphs

in #mathematics6 years ago

This I followed along okay, which surprised me because I generally stay away from category theory, and that initial Wikipedia link looks like it is written in language. I like the diagrams as well, they were very helpful.

The removal process, does it depend on finding a sort of inverse for a morphism and a pushout?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Still trying to figure that out. It looks like you start with a partial function L->R instead of a complete function, so some of the vertices or edges in L don't map to anything. You can decompose that into two morphisms L <- G -> R where the left map is injective. So G identifies the elements to keep, L is a superset of that which gives you the "match" including some elements to delete, and R is the result.

I believe the two pushouts are constructed on these two morphisms and two of something else, but that's the point where Wikipedia is vague and the article I linked to is complicated, so I'm a bit confused yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24