Most Viral Math Problem

in #math7 years ago

One of the most viral math problem

What is the answer for the following simple math problem? This is one of the math problem which went viral!


Sort:  

Holy! nice one, you got me!

I thought its 1, but it is not. You could argue about the formulation of the problem, tho. It is more 9 than 1 , imo. Because a fraction is a unit.

Now I get why all profs and teachers hat the classic ÷ sign :D.

Think twice!! There is a hint in @preparedwombat comment!!

6/2(1+2)=6/2+4 was my thinking, even tho it feels strange to solve the brackets like that

That is distribution of 2 inside the brackets and we still have to keep the brackets around "2+4" as the answer is still engaging in another operation of division.

yeah, I was desperate :D. Kudos to @waldfee for sticking to her solution.

without a reference to the problem to solve, its not unambiguously to solve.
6/2(1+2) is the same as 6 / 2 * 3. There's no rule, whats to calculate first.
So the formula could interpreted as :
(6 / 2) * 3 = 9
or
6 / (2 * 3) = 1

ok, should be 9
look here:

9 is only true for this particular problem. If you replace let's say "2" with "x" in the parenthesis and solve for "x" having "9" on the right hand side. You never get x = 2; it will be 1.6666..

So I never teach my students this way as it is not consistent. Correct way is, if there appear a parenthesis in the expression it has priority over division and need to be solved first. This way correct answer is 1.

Which also stands if you replace "2" by x and solve for "1" on the right hand side.

windows calc and my ti30 got 9 as result

Try using scientific calculator ! :)

The TI-30 is a scientific calculator.

you could actually go as far and argue that 6/2 is a fraction and thus always a unit! Maybe there is even a rule about it somewhere. I guess it is the reason why you don't see the ÷ in advanced math.

The best answer! Itself it is not a problem as there is no need to put (1 + 2), as it everybody knows that it is 3 from first grade.

Answer is 1 .

=6/2(1+2)
=6/2(3)
=6/6
=1

Thanks for stopping by and solving it the way it should be @cookraphy!

It is 1 right?

Not sure why it went viral. That triangle pile was a much more interesting problem.

Yes it is "1" @rubenalexander. I think it went viral as this particular problem can be solved 2 giving two answers "1" and "9". So everybody wanted to give it a try?

It can be 9 too but technically it has to be 1. I will give explanations in my next post.

The answer was 1. But then i thought about it. You do parenthesis first which leaves 6/2 *3. So then you move from left to right. So its 3 * 3 which equals 9. ! I see what you mean bynit going vieal! Good one @mathworksheets!

Yes, there's a lot of argument about if this is 9 or 1. I will try to clear it based on my little knowledge in my next post.

I love your posts. I have nephews in 3rd grade. I'm always helping with homework and the commoncore math in USA drives me crazy. I've been using some of your old post (dealing with fractions) to help explain to them. I love that you also offer the pdfs. Great, useful, Thank you!

Thanks for stopping by dear @rangertx. I really like the video.
I have a full site only on fractions.
www.fractionsworksheets.ca

For 2nd grade math
www.grade2mathworksheets.com
Division www.division-worksheets.com

I started to work on 3rd grade math but got very busy in my accounting firm. This site has many broken links (www.3rdgrade-math.com) needs an update. Don't know how many links still work.

Thank you! I'm bookmarking them now. Hope you will be posting more soon!

Yes I will keep working on this side. Maths is in my blood now can't live without creating more content!! Thanks for communication dear :)

What is viral about a 3rd grade math problem?

I think I know: It was initially posted as "this will become viral" and then everybody talked about "How is this viral". Thus it became viral.

I have to ask my friends then if they think this becomes viral ;)

I don't know dear @lennstar? But it went viral is a fact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78