What is the Importance of Patience in a Relationship?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #marriage6 years ago (edited)

couple-260899_1280.jpg


For the marriage that I have with @emaferice, patience is very important. But that doesn't mean that both of us must excel in the Patience Department.

Both of us are extroverts but @emaferice is a Turbalent type (i.e. Steve Jobs) and I am an Assertive type (i.e. Buddhist monk).

@emaferice is excellent at management, organizing and driving practical results everyday and I am good at staying calm, thinking clearly during our disagreements and understanding things from a broader perspective.

We used to try to replicate each other's strengths, she'd try to remain unusually calm and I tried to get good at practical things like cleaning, organizing and in general, working.

For the first part of our marriage that is what we did but it got mixed results. I often felt bad about my inabilty to excel in the field of manual work and she felt guilty about losing her cool. But now I cherish myself for my strengths and I also cherish her for her strengths.

Weaknesses aren't always a big deal since everyone has their fair share of weaknesses - no one is perfect.

I no longer think it's bad or unhealthy for @emaferice to lose her cool, and I realized that I have worth, even though I lack her strengths - I contribute to our relationship by offering patience and she contributes by doing or at least managing the more practical tasks of our daily life (we have more strengths than that but those are our strongest).

Patience is important in that it relieves stress & tension, and it prevents things like big fights and prolonged misunderstandings, but patience isn't everything - the people who excel in the Patience Department are less likely to be as industrious (i.e. Buddhist monks) as the people who work and strive to the extent that they lose patience (i.e. Steve Jobs).

I love you Fema @emaferice.

Source(s):


The prevention, reduction and elimination of suffering makes the happiness we experience, more enjoyable, healthy and sustainable.

~ @chrisrice


Good Evening from the Philippines

3 Mistakes to Avoid | Investing in Steem

The Pursuit of Happiness | Better than Happiness


Question 1:

  • What are your greatest strengths?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43