Only get to do this once...

in #marriage7 years ago

Unknown.jpeg

This moment will never come again for me.

Looked over this morning, like any other morning and hugged my wife. Only this morning it was;
"10 years baby...wow...I love you more today...and (as always) ill go make you some coffee"

There were no incredible heart sparkles, or my brain bursting with these romantic plans (while we are celebrating properly in Mexico in a few months). It was the simple reality of getting up to take on another day, knowing that this women has my back, is a safe place for my failures, and regardless of what happens tomorrow I have someone to take it on with.

What started on her apartment back porch here -
1933779_520055961613_1865_n.jpg

turned to

1929630_546046017333_3872_n.jpg

and now

IMG_2668.JPG

This last few days, our 10 year anniversary has had my brain running, why is this a big deal in our society. Why to we look on at people celebrating 10, 20, 30 40+ years of marriage with respect and awe?

As I thought, I realized marriage and family are foundational in nearly every culture, and nearly every society. I understand that in more modern societies what you define as family may be moving from a traditional perspective. Regardless of your definition, without family, your just a person. Solo, by yourself, caring for yourself, thinking generally just for yourself. Just having that thought is lonely. Who wants to live that way? And those that do, I would say are probably just protecting themselves from previous pain.

Marriage and family is one of the most painful and satisfying things I know. The commitment my wife and I have has set a brilliant foundation that can hold any amount of weight. The choices we make can sometimes cause incredible pain. It is part of the process. I wouldn't trade that pain. The process is only increasing our capacity to choose to love, forgive and commit to each other. We are only getting stronger, deeper and more powerful with every new challenge.

I guess thats why people married for 50 years demand a sense of awe and respect without even saying anything...

Thanks for celebrating with me...

Babe - heres to 50 more years of marriage...

1928975_520056181173_123_n.jpg

1909863_520055891753_2599_n.jpg

188918_1353258271490_8241119_n.jpg

75318_471191545880_8062415_n.jpg

10308209_10205993607100262_1152434013776368004_n.jpg

18698461_1506684719384233_1333903957971402720_n.jpg

And heres our greatest adventure! Lets keep building world changers...

067A6823.jpg

Thanks for following along, and supporting my wife and I. Live big today - dominate life and look to love...

Sort:  

This is so beautiful!
You can feel the love in your words and see it in the photos.
I totally agree that love is so special and those who find it and live happily together deserve to be recognised and appreciated for bringing this love into our world and raising the vibration of those who they connect to.
Your children (wow 4!) look adorable too! You're obviously great loving parents, you can see it in your children's eyes, as well as love in your and your wife's eyes!
Sending much love and blessings to you all.
& HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! (ps Up-voted & Re-steemed!)

Thanks Michelle! Looking forward to following along your blog as well

Marriage is a beautiful gift. So are children. My wife and I will be married 16 years in December.

Keep you relationship with your wife strong so that you kids will know what to strive for when they are ready to get married.

dang right! way to be an example man -

That is a great post. You have a great collection of pictures of you two.
Did you ever NOT have a beard. At least you haven't kept it like the image at the beach!

Darryl @dadview

it comes and goes - but the no beard makes me look 21 - i generally try and keep one

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breakthrough from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you - beautiful post - we So need to hear from the men who love us what it is that they love, and you said it... "this women has my back, is a safe place for my failures, and regardless of what happens tomorrow I have someone to take it on with." Companionship - that's the commitment and it is fundamental, as you say. Come and visit me @talk2momz - I believe you'll enjoy the message.

thanks will do! - theres a cohort of parents called #steemparents you may enjoy being apart of as well! you can check it out at discord https://discord.gg/xn78fU5

This post has received a 23.44 % upvote from thanks to: @breakthrough.
For more information, click here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64381.21
ETH 3475.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50