I am Amanda Johnson (So are you)

in #marketing7 years ago (edited)

Regardless of whether or not you like the technology of Dash, I like the way they are thinking about things.  To be truly successful they have to reach past developers and the original crypto-geeks and talk to mainstream.  In order to do that, they have decided to pitch a likable person who can talk to the mainstream users, with language they can understand.

WE ARE AHEAD - BUT NOBODY KNOWS IT.

Steemit is already setup to be more user friendly than Dash.  (We are as fast or faster than Dash)  

(What makes us different and better?)

  • You don't need to know how to mine to earn Steem.  
  • We have usernames we can remember
  • We have free transactions and they are fast!
  • We have a platform to support the message and an easy way to distribute it.  
  • Your ideas here.  What are our strengths? 

I understand those of you who are frustrated with the marketing efforts, but I think the message is the value of STEEM is multi-faceted and Steemit is just one of the tools that can increase the value.  I support that.  I could complain here about the decisions they have made, but instead I think as a community we should "Sell" SteemIt, Inc on why this proof of concept is so important to help them gain momentum in a fast-paced technology niche where things will change quickly.  Frankly, they can not afford to ignore their only operating "proof of concept".  

We have a community full of talent, ideas and energy.  


How do we talk about the blockchain and it's technology in a manner that is digestible to the average user?

There are many brain storming activities out there used by Corporations, to assist with gathering this information, from the real end-users we already have.

Define the benefits

Of Steem over other currencies

The advantages of the technology of our blockchain

WHY STEEM?


SteemIt is a proof of concept.  As well as an education tool for "the masses".

Are you an asset or a liability to SteemIt, Inc.?

Either that or we over throw the government!  
What do you want to do?  


BE AMANDA.


Sort:  

YES, I WILL BE AMANDA.

A friend is watching this video now.

Maybe... in a few months I'll buy Facebook or twitter with my steemit earnings.

XD lol

lol - Be Amanda. Thank you.

The second video he saw, was this one.

Then he said: "sign me up for this Steemit stuff."

One new Steemian today ;-)

Yes, I am AMANDA.

Brilliant Video!

This is really good! I hadn't seen it before. Can you repost this to steemit?

So Steem gives load of chicks ... + Steem + Steem Power ... Fuck yeah ...

Oh and you are right, you are Amanda.

:D :D :D hehehehe

I like both Dash and Steem.
What I like about Dash for starters is that it has a limited supply, we already have experience with unlimited supplies using fiat and this website exists because that hasn't worked very well. Ironically Steem doesn't have a limit, but I give it a pass simply because the blockchain already provides a valuable service and I can't really see how limits would work in the context of communication.

Now, in the context of representing value, I think Dash is better for that job because of its limit. While the world doesn't just die, it can come to an end and I think we can already calculate the resources enough to say there is a limit since we are exchanging so many resources at a large scale. I don't think a single coin should represent all the value from earth though, that's one easy way to lose all control and live under more severe surveillance than we already do.

Steem is great because it's easy, but I am not sold on how security is kept without mining. If Steem can keep our information secure without mining then I can't really criticize it much. If Steem can deliver on the promise of keeping things uncensored and safe, then in my opinion it should be worth more than Dash is today.

Steem is not worth more than Dash in the greater vision though, at least not in my vision. This is simply because the way Dash is going about reward distribution is revolutionary for the industry and business in general. That 10% dedicated to development is gold.

But for crypto newbies Steem is great and I think it's already doing good in regards to marketing. Steem has marketing built in its userbase. Every time someone mentions the technology, even if only because they are looking to get something going with their own account, that's publicity.

There is danger in having a single or couple of faces representing too ;)

Steem does have a limit. HF 16 changed the inflation, it's now ~9.5% and will go down over the next 20 years. I think I remember something around 600-700M as the upper limit.

I thought there is a point in which Steem stops being created or slows down a lot.
I don't think we need one face. I think we have an army of people representing us.
Let's give them a message to go forward with.

Any coin that has a structure, financial backing and a long term vision for teh future will do better than the others. That is business. The next 2 to 5 years will see who the 'real' alt-coin leaders truly are.

We have end-users who are earning, getting paid and spending a crypto-currency, that is our "Story", if anyone chooses to market it.

Like storj siacoin maid safe steem is too easy to earn. Further the flawed reward curves concentrates wealth in a few more highly paid post. These authors then sell it.

To go higher need to

  1. Flatten reward curve
  2. tilt rewards towards curation and away from authors (make it harder to earn much steem)
  3. use the steem dollar. Pivx has 15percent interest and goes up constantly. If we changed steem dollar to 15 percent you would have tons of people buy in steem it's so much easier.

There are always things to do to make it better. We have a proof of concept. People are blogging and earning and cashing out and spending!!! That is a successful crypto story right there. Someone just needs to spin it.

My thoughts:

  1. Yes, I am for this.
  2. No, Why would you stifle those with a voice to make Steem valuable?
  3. I don't fully understand how this works or how the value would be created.

Up and resteem!

nice post @whatsup

Thank you.


Hi @whatsup, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Well said! I dont know dash too much. But Steemit had great people and a strong community, beyond some particular cases. I have no doubt that steemit will be used by many more users

We can all either be a voice to where we are headed or a voice about what is wrong.

@whatsup, I think you should have come out as Amanda much earlier. You are very good at what you do in Dash videos and honestly I noticed a surge in your followers or I should say fans, the moment @stellabelle started posting your videos on Dash as her teacher. Well, I've been following you since I joined this platform 120 days ago even if I didn't know you as Amanda. I think you'll be a great help on this site, an influential person if I may say so. Thanks a lot for the positive information.

Are you feeling the bern?

No, I am not going to get upset about pennies when there are dollars out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05