Attention Artists and Graphic Designers - Help Create a Steemit Facebook Advertisement - 50 STEEM Bounty

in #marketing7 years ago (edited)

I am planning to create a Facebook advertisement for Steemit.com. I need an image to use for the add. Their recommended size is 1,200 x 628 pixels. The image will be shrunk down about 4-5x once it is placed in the ad though, so it needs to be something that will look good small. Also, they recommend having little to no text in the image.

Here is an example, just to show what one looks like:

Contest Rules:

  • Users can submit their entries as comments to this post, or create their own separate post and put a link to it in the comments.
  • Images should be 1,200 x 628.
  • I will select one winner from all of the entries to use for the ad. The winner will be selected based on my own subjective preference, but votes and comments from the community will be taken into consideration.
  • The winner will receive 50 STEEM or 75% of the liquid payout from this post (converted to STEEM) - whichever is greater.
  • I will also award 10 STEEM to the top two runners up.
  • The bounty/contest will run until this post payout closes.
  • Winners will be selected and paid within 48 hours of the post closing.
  • Users may submit as many entries as they would like.

I am really looking forward to seeing what the community comes up with!


Reminder to vote for witnesses!
The Steem witnesses are the elected leaders of the community that power the blockchain. If you don't know much about witnesses or aren't sure who to vote for, you can check out this Witness Voting Guide. If you think @timcliff is doing a great job as witness, I would really appreciate your vote!

Vote for witnesses here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Oh once i get some free time ill prob do this.

Those who don't know how to read you got 7 days..

looking forward to seeing what you come up with!
Great idea @timcliff

Awesome, I'll look forward to seeing what you create :)

9 days?

Its says 48 hours of the post closing.
Post last for 7 days + 48 hours that's 9 days.

The contest is only open until the post payout closes. The extra 48 hours are for me to review them, test them in the Facebook ad app, and decide on a winner ;)

steamy6666.jpg

Great idea! Now I'm very curious to see the results of this. Last summer, I had taken a shot specifically for this purpose...

STEEMIT ADVERTISEMENT.jpg

I thought the sky would give it the space needed to write and these Whistler stairs are rather world famous.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Wow, very cool!! I like it :)

Based on my own advertising experience on FB, this is something closer to what should be shown. The text ad copy should be saved for the call-to-action placement above the ad. steemitad1test.jpg

Wow, that's awesome!

Thank you! It will still hold up fairly well at the smallest size in desktop-mode, side advertising. When they say little to no text in the graphic, they really mean it. All ads have to go through an approval process before they run.

Yeah, Tim, what @dawnmarie said - FB will reject your ad if it's not like 97% visual. It's no joke.
btw - great job dawnmarie! it's very classy.

@merej99 thank you very much!

Im a facebook ad man...the problem is not to have a good ad...its where you lead them. The signup process kills conversion right now.

Great point! Don't worry, I also have plans to write a kick-ass landing page.

"phase 1" can be seen here:
https://steemit.com/recruitment/@timcliff/help-me-collect-a-list-of-join-steemit-recruitment-posts-information-bounty-paying-1-steem-per-qualified-response

Awesome. In my humble opinion, communities will be the perfect landing pages since the audience, the ad and the landing page can be in sync. (With all the $$$ on it too)

https://steemit.com/socialmedia/@reisolutions/free-social-media-assets-to-promote-steemit

I whipped up some for everyone to use. Went light on the text because Facebook hates text with images, and tried to convey the community aspect of steemit, but the real selling point for this platform are the rewards.

If you feel like using one of these, please put 50% percent of the bounty back into the ad campaign.

Looking forward to seeing what the community comes up with!

Cool, thanks!

 photo Steemit logo_zps8iktdrbg.png
Hey I gave this a shot, nice post and contest!
Please check out my Blog here:
https://steemit.com/filmmaker/@larutanton/starman-episode-001-commentary-by-larutanton

I really like it! One of my favorites so far :)

Virtual-Reality custom steemit.jpg
Changed it up a bit just an update, hand made. Take Care

Thanks hope it gives some ideas^^

FB-steemit1.jpg

first attempt

Hello steemit community and sir @timcliff , please let me submit my 1st entry, I welcome criticism.. Feel free to bash hehe:)

It looks cool, but just based on the requirements from Facebook, there is not supposed to be much text in the image. I think it is something like 15% or less can be text, and the rest has to be graphic. Thanks for the entry though!

Ok sir, noted.. will revise it :) Thank you

My idea.

Interesting. Thanks for the entry!

Or probably something like would work better...

Another bounty for artists. I'm intrigued! I have a few questions though. Forgive me if they sound silly, but I do not use facebook, so I don't know what their ads are supposed to look like.

Can the image be an animated gif?

Is there a max file size or specific file type that must be used?

Also...



Should we be using the Steem logo? As the roadmap stated that Steemit will be getting its own, different logo from steem.

Do we have the creative freedom to use our own slogans for Steemit?

Hi @son-of-satire - thanks for your interest. I was really hoping you would participate :) I don't know the answers to your questions, but I will try to find out tonight and let you know. If you have the time, you could look them up - it is Facebook's ad rules, so they should be public.

For gifs, it looks like the answer is yes:
Format: .MOV, .MP4 or .GIF files
Resolution: at least 720p
File size: 2.3 GB max
Recommended aspect ratio: widescreen (16:9)
Facebook: 60 minutes max

You are welcome to use the Steem logo.

I would avoid slogans though. Facebook is pretty clear that they don't really want much text in the image. The less text the better.

I was hoping to get started on this today, but I must say, I'm incredibly confused now.

I was picturing a small ad that would appear at the side or the bottom of the screen.. But based no the specs you have provided, it sounds like you're looking for a full screen video.

Is there any chance you could provide me with a link to an example facebook ad? Or do I just need to turn off my adblocker and go to facebook?>

Your first impression was right. It is small. I only included the info on animated gif ones because you asked. There is an example in the post of what one looks like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95