What Seth Godin Taught Me About STEEM...(On Page 11)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #marketing5 years ago (edited)


You can tell I'm back into 'reading mode' because I've done two @dtube book reviews in the past few weeks!

Yup that's right, maybe it's the time of the year but I ALWAYS seem to go deep into my books around the holiday season...

And I recently picked up this gem from one of my favorite authors of all time - Seth Godin!

this is marketing

I'll be sure to do a book review on this later this week (if I finish the book that is lol) because it's not often Seth releases a new book. And when he does...It captivates me.

'Purple Cow' is my all time favorite marketing book and what's unique about Seth is he evolves with the market. He was talking up social media before anyone else even knew what Facebook was...And it's only a matter of time before he jumps into...Steem??? Come on Seth, you'll love it here ;)

Anyways right at the beginning of this book (page 11 to be exact) was something that resonated with me immediately. On top of that, I saw the parallels between his example and our beloved blockchain...

this is marketing

Marketing in....5 simple steps!

Oh no, look out...Here comes Mr. Jon G. 'Marketer'...Talking about...Marketing STEEM!

But let's unpack each of these and see how this goes hand in hand with the STEEM blockchain and potential solutions to see it grow and prosper....Organically!

Step 1 - Invent Something Worth Making AND with a story worth telling...

Wow, does this ever describe STEEM. It's part blockchain, part social media and ALL parts awesome! I believe we have the best blockchain online and think the rest of the world needs to hear our story.

Step 2 - Design it so a few people care about it and want to see it grow...

Early adopters anyone? And that's what we are....It's obvious that after the bear markets of 2018 only the DEDICATED and passionate are still here. And that's a good thing in my opinion. We will lead the charge and spread the word about this amazing platform.

Step 3 - The story must align with the smallest possible market...

If we want adoption WE must believe in our story. Because we will be the champions of STEEM. This is why most remarkable projects in history started out small with a core group of passionate fans / users...That's us! And the story aligns with each of our warped / crypto fanboy mindsets lol We believe in decentralization and the potential that STEEM provides!

Step 4 - Spread. The. Word!

Like 'Pomp' (Anthony Pompliano) on Twitter always says...The virus is spreading! I use @dtube instead of YouTube. I prefer @busy.org over Facebook. Find me on @steepshot and @appics WAY before Instagram! @steempress light years before Medium! I'm spreading the word about STEEM by my daily actions and USING these apps. And so are you...Big time :)

Step 5 - Show Up. Everyday! Deliver Value!

It doesn't take guts to show up to STEEM when it's 5 bucks a pop! If you are reading this in December 2018...YOU are part of the community that will decide the future of STEEM. And there is no guarantee! That's why you deserve all th credit in the world. We've seen plenty of 'passionate' people come and go over 2017...Let's see who shows up and helps build STEEM even more in 2019...

I've maintained over the years in business that marketing a product or services that you believe in...Is effortless.

Not that it doesn't take work. Or require sacrifice...

But effortless because it's natural! I can talk about all the amazing things on STEEM and develop programs like SteemSavvy because I believe in this blockchain, it's community nd it's life changing potential.

And I'm sure that's the same for all of us...

So while marketing is always talked about as something needed to bring more people to STEEM, I would argue...We have everything and everybody we need right here. Right now!

We just need to share the story of this community and continue to use (and support) the applications being developed here...

We've got the best of both worlds, blockchain and social media...Don't worry, the rest of the world will notice...When we become the champions of this blockchain every single day.

(Inside joke: I'm going to make @bigtom13 very happy with this post...)


Ready to meet and greet other members of STEEM that make this community so special...Catch us in Austin, Texas this coming April...

steem creators




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/what-seth-godin-taught-me-about-steem-on-page-11/

Sort:  

I need that book.
Very good points you made with what Seth said and comparing it with steem blockchain. Well done man.

Indeed, I think so too, marketing a product you love and believe in is effortless. At times it bugs me that people out side of the space can't see where things are going, but I try not to shuv it down their throats. Soon they will be asking us how to get stuff done in the steem ecosystem and I will gladly show them.

thanks man. yeah i have been talking about steem now for a year on other social media. and it’s worked. but not as much as i’d like it to.

still just going to show up everyday and create content. let people outside steem discover the awesome potential

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thats corrct creating and delivering valuable things on steem will be good in future what if we are not achiving right now but people will notice us soon. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

yup. everyday people are fed up with traditional social media. we have a very attractive option here with steem

Posted using Partiko iOS

Can't wait for the book review. I read a lot of news articles, but rarely ever get to sit down to read a book or novel. ★Maybe finishing this book is your New Year's Resolution?

oh it’ll be done soon :) once i get going i get books read fairly quickly

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great parallel you've made here Jon! You should send a copy of the book to Steemit headquarters too. Christmas gift!

lol good idea. they may get that christmas gift from me lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm a big fan, that's for sure.

I'm not sure how I missed this post first time round, but thanks Jon. I haven't read the book yet, but you can bet I will...

thought you’d like it and get a kick out of the shout out lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have a habit of reading the same books I’m reading. :) “This is marketing”. People don’t want the drill bit, they want the feeling of a neatly organized room that comes from having the new shelf on the wall.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m such a Seth fan boy lol I am really enjoying this book. So much truth just like you mentioned.

Posted using Partiko iOS

i think the powers that be forgot to spread the word and be welcoming to noobs and growth... it became a dysfunctional pissing match and dreams of grandeur.

oh man. tell me about it. heck give me a few million steempower and i’ll be the welcome wagon lol people would love to be here ;) lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let’s see a Seth Godin book and Jon might finish it in a week. Now that is funny!
The book review should be done by Wednesday, I have yet see Jon a Seth book down for more than a few hours!

The five steps are very true and are invaluable for steem and its growth!

Looking forward to the book review later this week.

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah man. knowing me. i’ll be done by tomorrow night lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11