Pryvoz ~ Market Friday from Odesa, Ukraine

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Hello, my friends!

I haven’t participated in #MarketFriday by @dswigle for ages, and today the time has come! This post is also inspired by my recent short stories about Odessa city.

All right, let's go. Odessa is a port city and therefore a large trading center. Goods from different cities and countries come here by sea. They even have a saying, that "Odessa begins with Pryvoz Market".

9c6jyumhn4.jpg


0xp9t9qlwl.jpg


The idea of city building plan assumed the location of trading rows likely to the Champs Elysees.

The first market appeared on the next year after founding of the city, in 1795. Later it was named "Old Market".

In 1827 the new marketplace was constructed at the big square was as a continuation of the Old Market. It was named "Pryvoz", that origins from our word "to bring", because first, all goods were brought here and sold right from carts and wagons. They still say: at Pryvoz you can find everything and a little more.

We stayed in Odessa for a couple of days, and everywhere I go I like to eat meal prepared by myself from local food. In fact, the process of shopping and visiting local street markets and grocery is my biggest fun.

My goal at Pryvoz was fish and seafood, and special local sort of strawberry. And trust me, I was not disappointed :D

mkcszikwd2.jpg


Black Sea Shrimps are the favorite tread of all locals:

nk662b1vh4.jpg

tdou7htarn.jpg

qai26rgbqd.jpg

octkhdy5pp.jpg


Have you ever tasted the Danube herring? It has the best taste in April and May. If you tried it once, I swear you'll never forget it :D

2gtlatqb5n.jpg



Well, when I got some fish, you will probably need a beer. The caption on the wall of these bar assures that the best beer in Odessa city is on this very street.

9ee8b6bze4.jpg

transparent-dividers-blue-line-5.png


Thank you so much for a visit! I hope you are having a wonderful Friday 13th!



Regards,

I am with @qurator, and you?

vsgpvhbtxt.jpg

x1ezmfj9xx.png

eSteem.app | GitHub | Telegram | Discord

Sort:  

You should consider entering @worldcaptures contest of people photography with your second shot.

Thank you, dear @willowwisp! I wish I could show more "professional" shot :)

I made some efforts and found a couple of interesting shots from my past trips for the contest. Gonna post them tomorrow. Much appreciate your the idea (or reminder)!

You got a 7.49% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @zirochka!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the new contest I just launched.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

What a cool Market so many variety’s of fish Nd i like you added that mural its cool

Have a great day and weekend

Oh, this is only fish I was allowed to capture ))) Often, people mind to take shots of them or their goods. But you're right, they have wide variety, and it also refers to murals :)

Thank you so much for coming along, and have a wonderful day too!

I didn’t think vendors would have minded but clearly i was wrong as I often am LOL

That's why sometimes I turn on "blonde mode" :D :D

LOL I have enough greys in my hr now i switch to grey mode since i cant do blood LOL

My case is much more complicated, as I paint my greys to black, and then mask them for blond, LOL. But your solution is good as well ;o)

Перше фото нагадало про початок смачного літа :)

Вони можуть дозволити собі 2 врожаї

A large market with the possibility of acquiring variety of fish, good article.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=zirochka
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=pryvoz-market-friday-from-odesa-ukraine


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You hit my sweet spot!! Anything that swims for a living, I will surely eat it! Odessa has a wonderful Market! The food looks amazingly fresh and is sure to start those taste buds humming. :)

What kind of lobster do they have there? Do you know? It looks a little bit different than here, but, I am sure the taste very similar. The shrimp looked yummy!

What did you go home with? Some of the seafood markets here, especially the ones on the docks will steam your food for you and save you the fish smell in your house. A lot of people let them do that, but, I just grill it outside.

I did not know that about the Blue Danube herring! I learn something new every day here! Thank you!

Everything looks lovely there and it sounds like you had a wonderful time! I am happy to see you back although I know you probably wished you were back! Thank you for being a part of the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Hello today, Denise :) Sorry it took so long to reply

About lobster, I really don't know what kind is it. I never eat it here in Ukraine, only on my abroad travels. And now I ask myself - why? :D :D

I took home Danube herring, I love it very much. In beginning of spring it is most fatty after the winter spent in the sea, and the most delicious is considered those that caught closer to the beginning of Danube river, because it loss its fat when getting up the stream.

Thank you for your generosity! And have a wonderful day! (I know it is still a daytime there) @->--

🎁 Hi @zirochka! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Цікавий пост!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60