Market Friday Watches galore

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Market Friday Watches galore

This is a post for Market Friday hosted by the lovely @dswigle, if you are not following her you sure should be she is one of the sweetest and kindest persons here on Steemit.
for this week's post, I will share some shots of well the title gave it away Watches in a Watch shop, which as I write this I completely forget where it is and I have walked by it so many times.

1 Market Friday Rolex.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F9 1/60 Sec ISO 1250
Click here to view larger


This company has a few Stores in NYC, and the ones I remember seeing all have a series of Clocks showing times around the World, but this particular one really looks so clasy and stands out.

1 Market Friday Rolex-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F9 1/60 Sec ISO 1600
Click here to view larger



And now I remember where this shop is Located, I was having a brainfade, but it is on Madison Ave and 57th Street, and the Shop is called Tourneau Watches, now you may wonder how I remembered this mid post, its fairly simple easy I scrolled back up and looked at the first shot and saw the name Tourneau, and then I remembered where it was, I know my mind works in strange ways.
And in the Windows, I looked at and took shots they had a lot of Rolex Watches on display

1 Market Friday Rolex-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 25mm F9 1/60 Sec ISO 1250
Click here to view larger



As you can see when I was there the windows had a bit of a Christmasy theme, but what came to me as I was editing these, is you can generally tell the differenc ebetween an Expensive watch shop and a plainer watch shop selling cheaper brands, how many watches are on display, such as these displays of the Rolex Watched, the watches are given plenty of space, where as in other shops they seem to squeeze as many as they can into the display.

1 Market Friday Rolex-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 115mm F9 1/60 Sec ISO 1600
Click here to view larger



Another of the windows, and although Rolex Watches are so beautiful I have never bought one, not even a rip off one, Partially because of the price, but also I used to be a hand soon Tech guy, building and climbing Telecom Towers and doing physical sort of work, and I would never wear an expensive watch while doing that if or should I say when I broke a watch working, it was never a super expensive one so it didn't worry me, but if I broke or scratched a watch worth thousands I would have been upset with myself.

And secondly, I have always been into techy and robust watches, the old Casio watch which had a Calculator, the GMaxx robust Watches, in fact, I was terrible when I used to travel a lot it was a bit of a habit to buy a New Watch and a new pair of Sunglasses each time I passed through an International airport, so much so at the peak I probably had close to 40 Watches and 40 Pairs of Sunglasses.
Each morning I would choose which glasses and watch I would wear for the day.

1 Market Friday Rolex-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 30mm F9 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger



And the last shot of the windows.
Now you may wonder how many Watches and Sunglasses I have no, and its a big change, now I have one watch the Apple Watch, which I find so handy so much ingo easily availabel without the need of looking at my phone, and no Sunglasses, as I wear prescription glasses all the time, so the sunglasses were or no use to me, but my Wifes son and grandson have a good collection of each :)


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.762325 lat -73.972422 long Madison and 57th Street NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Nice picture, I love watches

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks and me to but I just wear the Apple Watch now

My friends say that I’m crazy but I use two watches 🙈
My Apple Watch for my steps and activity and my regular watch jajajaj

Posted using Partiko iOS

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

What a well-put-together post, JJ! @tattoodjay

All of yours are, but, I really like when you do storefronts, especially the Tourneau Watch shop! How unusual it is and it really photographs well!

Truth. I love Rolexes. I do. I won't lie. Is it because I know they cost a lot of money, so they must be good? Hmmmm. I have often wondered this. But, just seeing them in this window display, oh, it makes me weak at the knees. My grandfather had one (he wasn't a rich man) but, it was a gift from a very wealthy man he worked for at one time. He took so much care with it and was religious about having it checked once a year. I thought that it must be amazing to love a watch that much. Who knows.

They are nice and the way you shoot them in the window makes the most of it. Oh, yes! I am not sure I could spring that kind of money on a watch, although... it has a lifetime warranty, so what the problem, right?? Well, thank you so much for the walk into my fantasy of owning my very own Rolex. I am not ashamed to say that I would love one. :)) But, buying one is a whole different ball game.

Thanks for the awesome post and for being part of #MarketFriday!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

I am blushing from your kind words, me and well put together post or any document I do, is not something people often say LOL
I do love Rolex watches as well, I had to but one at a ridiculously cheap price once, about a 1/4 of its value, but I suspected that had been ransacked after fighting/War and I couldn't bring myself to get a good deal through someone else's suffering.

With your Grandfather's history of having one I can see why for you they are so special. and the Life time warranty they offer is amazing actually, a colleague who ending up buying the Rolex I choose not to, he took it into a Rolex Store in Europe to get it checked as he did wonder if it was real or pillaged, Rolex, contacted him an hour after dropping it off, telling him that it had been stolen and they could not return it to him for that reason, and without him even asking they then said they would be willing to give him a brand new model of a cheaper version for his inconvenience.
Worked out well for him the watch they gave him was worth close to triple what he had paid. now that is customer service.

I have to try and get out tomorrow for some shots including Market Friday, if not I may have to get even more creative than usual LOL

Haha! I am always amazed by your creativity. I have come to the conclusion that we all are way more creative when our back is up against the wall. I have to dream up MarketFriday also unless I want to do a part 2 to the Home Show, which I won't! LOL

I am shocked and also not) at the Rolex story. I do love their service, but, it probably ain't what it used to be, you know?? Nothing is anymore! :)

Thanks. JJ @tattoodjay and have a great Sunday!

Thanks you to have a super Sunday, I personally would love to see a part two of the Home show :)

Hehe! Well, let me see if I have enough good pictures to do that. ;)

If not this week sometime ;)

Yes! Sounds good!

Great post & captures!
I remember admiring the watches in they’re store down in a miami mall. What better place than Madison ave for this challange too. Steem on :)

I can’t walk by a watch shop without stopping to take a look even the only watches I will most likely buy from now on are smart watches

I just love looking at these expensive watches but would never own one even if i had the money there is so many more ways to enjoy life with that money instead of having hanging around your wrist a copy is good enough for me...lol :)

I am the same they are cool to look at but there are far betters ways I would choose to spend that kind of money, like on camera gear LOL

Indeed and camera gear sounds good it least it will bring you back some profits and enjoyment :)

Well not so much profit, but lots of enjoyment for sure

Yes true it's the enjoyment of it that i like most :)

Wow!!! The colors just POP in these!!! And i always love how you capture the glow in the windows hehehe

Mailing your pen out today! Finding you in DM to get your address hehe

Tahanks such a nice compliment and I saw your DM and replied ;)

Classic looking watch shop. Very cool. I never had the watch bug. By the time I started having any money to consider buying watches, mobile phones were replacing them as "where you check the time" devices. I did always want a Rolex but I out grew that... ha ha

I liked looking at Rolex’s as well, but if I had ever had the money to consider buying one I would have spent it on somehting else

I would be lost without a watch, from back when they just told time even, through know when I can do so much I would do onthe phone but have no need to get the phone out

we also think that watches are primarily a practical thing. so I totally agree with you !!! a shop with a lot of watches on it, it looks funny :))))

There’s a few watch shops like this one in NYC, this company Has 3 of them I think and there are quite a few others

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-watches-galore


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Time marches on :-)

and never stops :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64