Market Friday - The World's Largest Store Macy's on 34th

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Market Friday - The World's Largest Store Macy's on 34th

Market Friday big.jpg


Sony A6500 39mm F4.5 1/250 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


For this week's Market Friday Hosted by @dswigle, I thought I would feature the Big Macy's on 34th Street in NYC, which up until 2009 was officially the world's largest store as stated on the big Shopping bag that's part of the building.

Market Friday big-2.jpg


Sony A6500 24mm F4.5 1/500 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Since March, 2009, the world's largest retail store is Shinsegae Centum City Department Store, located in Busan, South Korea, but the flagship Macy's store is still pretty impressive, I have been into it a couple of times, but it does get so crowded if I ever need to go to a Macy's I will head to one out in CT which is smaller and thankfully no where near as crowded.

Even though it may no longer be the largest store in the world it is pretty impressive, especially when you consider it has been standing for over 155 years and has over 230.000 Square meters of floor space.

Do you have any Stores that have been in the same building for that long?

Market Friday big-3.jpg


Sony A6500 39mm F4.5 1/160 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


The building is pretty impressive to look at, but I love the clock and detail above one of the entrances as shown above.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.750078 lat -73.987511 long Macys NYC d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-the-world-s-largest-store-macy-s-on-34th


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I've been to that store and I must agree that it is definitely impressive in stature. I loved the architecture of the exterior as well.

Both inside and out it’s a pretty impressive place for sure

It is indeed a large place..wow such a huge building..l just hope it has almost everything everyone needs..thanks for your entry today @tattoodjay

Thanks for the visit an this store has just about everything for sure, well other than groceries LOL

I will never forget my first time going into that store! It was Christmastime and we, (4 grown women) waited in line to see Santa! Great shots!

I am sure so many have wonderful memories of this store, it is so amazing but especially so at Christmas time

beeing a store for over 155 years?? thats really impressive!..

Isnt it just I wonder how many other shops around the world have that sort of heritage

maybe we can find out in comments :))

That would be cool, I may edit the post and ask

i have been there. bought some vests. very reasonable. great variety.

they do have such a great variety and the cost is good when on sale I find

one day I hope to visit Macys and New York city -- I can but dream on

I remember thinking that when seeing the MAcy's day parade on TV when I was young, and the dream came to be ;)

Icon of stores.

Isnt it just

I love that Macy's store and it used to be my favorite place to go. Who can resist the grandness most of it all? I am sure Washington DC has stores that have been around since the beginning of time or especially in Old Alexandria but I cannot name any on the tip of my tongue

Thank you for always making such amazing post about wonderful places in New York City and in Connecticut of course. I really enjoy looking through your shots yes.

Upped and dteemef. Tip!

Thanks kindly your always so kind 😎👍😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91