Market Friday Farmers Market

in #marketfriday7 years ago

Dag Hammarskjold Plaza Weekly Farmers Market

A post for @dswigle Market Friday Challenge

Some shots of a street Market in NYC this week, I had forgotten about this Market tilI walked past it early one morning as they were setting it up so I returned later in the day to get these shots.

This is in the Dag Hammarskjold Plaza and is a regular weekly Market there

Markey Friday-3.jpg

This Little park is a popular spot at lunchtimes on most nice days with many people sitting in the area, on Market day its even busier and the market stalls seemed to be doing very well, this shot just gives a touch of a feel of how busy it was

Markey Friday-4.jpg

a few of the stalls, for a little market they had a good selection
Markey Friday-2.jpg

which was apparent from this sign with a card system if you bought all four, fruit, vegetables grain and protein you could win a prize.

I do not know what the prize was since i live out of the city shopping here wasn't really an option for me

Markey Friday-5.jpg

this bakery had a good selection of breads

Markey Friday-6.jpg

And there was such a good variety of vegetables, Pumpkins and corn

Markey Friday-9.jpg
Carrots
Markey Friday-10.jpg
and all kinds of vegetables

Markey Friday-11.jpg

Artichokes, squash and varied greens

Markey Friday-12.jpg

And another bakery also with a wide selection

Markey Friday-13.jpg

Dairy Products

Markey Friday-8.jpg

and the Organizers of this and other farmers markets in NYC with information on the various markets they support

And this ends my tour of this not so little farmers market, which from what I saw ids a very popular market and it seems botht he shoppers and vendors do well

image

!steemitworldmap 40.752726 lat -73.969640 long Dag Hammarskjold Plaza NYC d3scr

Sort:  


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 13.54 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @tattoodjay.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 13 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Thanks Kindly my friend tip!

Wow. Cool that this plats is in dedication of Dag Hammarskjöld. He was a famous Swedish diplomat and the youngest person to become the Secretary General is the United Nations.

He is one of only four people to be awarded a posthumous Nobel Prize and was the only United Nations Secretary-General to die while in office. He was killed in a Douglas DC-6 airplane crash en route to cease-fire negotiations. Hammarskjöld has been referred to as one of the two best secretaries-general, and his appointment has been mentioned as the most notable success for the UN.

the photographs lovely... I think the Farmer's Market is great fun.. Dag must have loved them too.

Thanks MY Friend, I really liked your post for this challenge as well :)

great job my alliance friend .. I must try and make it to the Farmer's market this weekend..thanks for the reminder..this is the last month.. love the photos :)

Thanks kindly my friend 😎

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

A Nice​ little market in the name of Dag Hammarskjöld. PS were there swedish food​ available? Cheers from Sweden @tatoodjay!!!

NO I didnt see any Swedish Produce BUt there is a Swedish House not to far from here for the Swedish community :)

This looks like a wonderful market. Very colourful with lots of different fruits and vegetables. Makes me want to shop there! Really nice photos.

Thanks kindly you are always so supportive, I almost didnt do this post to be honest as I wasn’t that happy with my photos

We are all perfectionist at heart. That is why we are on steemit. To improve! lol

yes its good for us to always be striving to improve

I like the markets a lot, I enjoy the big

Yes outdoor markets are great in the warmer months

in the television I see that it has second-hand markets, I love to recycle things, but here there is not, a pity

That is a it’s some of them an be so cool, some are just garbage but some have real cool things to find

This was a fabulous little gem in the middle of the city. It is surely a breath of fresh air from the run-of-the-mill grocery stores.

My smile got bigger at the reward method for eating well or at least buying a balanced list of food. Any gimmick that will work to fool you into eating right works for me.

Thanks for letting me come along with you to your market! I loved the variety of the bakeries and the freshness of the food. A great find!!

I would appreciate if you would put the link for your post in the comment section of my #MarketFriday post. It will make it much easier for people to find all of them when they are all in one spot. Thank you, as always, for taking the time to join the challenge with me and I hope you get a chance to check out some of the markets posted here from all over the world. If you do not get a chance to do it, I will try to drop your link for you. Thank you!

Happy #MarketFriday!

Thanks and Yes I always forget to add it to your post done now and checking out some of th Esther posts :)

Have a great weekend

You too, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51