Market Friday- Artegon Marketplace in Orlando- An Eclectic Mecca!

in #marketfriday6 years ago

For my first Market Friday post, I thought we would take a look at the most diverse market that I've ever been to!

Welcome to Artegon Market in Orlando, Florida!



20160423_133253.jpg



My brother had been pestering me forever to make the couple hour trip to see this mall. He was sure I was going to absolutely love it. I couldn't take much more of the prodding and hearing about how great this place was, and agreed to take the road trip.

And I am glad that I did.


Upon entering, the first thing I saw was a sky-high jungle gym! And yes, it is a play space for all ages!


20160423_133410.jpg


I thought briefly about getting in line but realized that I wanted to see the rest of the market before I plummeted to my clumsy death. Best to save it for last!

And being the fatty that I am, I noticed that there was a Belgian waffle place right next to it, and decided that the call of the waffle was far more enticing than the call of climbing rickety structures indoors.

(There are no waffle pictures. It is probably for the better. I destroyed them like a woodchipper on a roided out bender. Children were crying, waffle shrapnel was going in all directions. 10/10 would do it again.)

Aside from the Artisans witnessing me commit a waffle murder, what made this place special was the vendors.


From the outside, you would expect a regular mall experience. But once you got past the jungle gym at the door, you were soon to find that this was not the only thing out of place, quirky, and niche.

This market was an eclectic mecca.



20160423_143955.jpg



So eclectic, in fact, that they even had a fully functioning glass blowing shop.

You could buy finished pieces made by local artists if your pockets were deep enough. But better still, if you wanted to try your hand, they offered classes and you could blow your own glass like the professionals! Right there!



20160423_144001.jpg

A seasoned artist hard at work.



The ranges of classes varied from making ornaments to simple paperweights, to wind chimes. You were free to keep your blunder and/or masterpiece at the end.

And if you had a more solemn reason to blow some glass, they offered memorial glass pieces that could either be made by one of the professionals, or you could do it yourself with guidance.

BYOA- Bring Your Own Ashes.


I thought that was really nice.

Artegon also functioned as what could only be described as an art gallery!



20160423_141409.jpg



While milling through the winding aisles and exploring little nooks and crannies, you would find art installations, booths with the artists hard at work creating while their latest paintings for sale are still drying on the display.

Spray paint artists, needleworkers, candle makers... people that made their own dip mixes, jerky, sauces, and harvest their own honey.

Dancers getting up on a small stage to perform while everyone browsed.

All side by side in this amazing indoor experience.


20160423_151319.jpg

They had something for everyone, even little ol' me.



And just when I thought there was no way that this mall could get any better, I rounded a corner...



20160423_151900.jpg



^ My exact reaction according to my brother.

I had heard whispers about this store. About the ultimate geek store opening in Orlando. It was passed down in tones of reverence and awe. I never thought I would see it. I never thought I would have it RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME.

I am not ashamed to say that I literally skipped into the store. My brother was ashamed. I was jubilant and overstimulated.

Tabletop!
Comics!

Model kits!

Ramen bar!

An actual alcohol bar with nerdy drinks!

EVERY SCIFI THING EVER SCIFI-ED

I thought I was going to black out.



20160423_152810.jpg



Especially when I looked up and noticed the Doctor Who mural!

Safe to say that I remained in that store for a small eternity and had to be pulled out of the door kicking and screaming while clutching at every geeky plushy in desperation.




I wish I could tell you that Artegon Market is just a road trip away from you getting to enjoy it yourself.


Unfortunately, they closed their doors not too long after these pictures were taken. (About two years ago.)

I was devastated that I only got to go once but I am glad that I got to explore the magic that is and was Artegon Marketplace. Even if it was only for one day.



20160423_153755.jpg



It showed me that Artisan shopping isn't just a trip, it is an experience. It gave me a greater appreciation for shopping small and supporting local artists. To find some honey harvested with love, and to buy dip mix from the middle-aged dude in overalls because...

Goddamn, he knows how to make some serious ranch.


But for some good news, Gods & Monsters is still around and can be found in Orlando!

And THAT alone is worth a trip if you get the chance!




stitchhead.png

Gif credit to Giphy!
Sort:  

This post was quite the roller coaster of "I want to go to there" to "dammmmmmmmmmmmmn whhhhhhhhhhhy?"
There are quite a few reasons to go to Orlando, but my largest is to see Harry Potter World. I don't have children. But I will dork my little heart out. With a wand.

Hi stitchybitch,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Well its a really diverse market as we can see in photos... Great photography by the way.. keep it up... Thanks for sharing...

Loading...

Hi @stitchybitch! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77