Palm Trees in Need on a Frosty Market Friday, A Crazy Canadian Woman Rant Blog @dswigle

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

A Frosty Market Friday, A Crazy Canadian Woman Rant

IMG_5018.jpg

Meanwhile up in Canada this is what my trip to the market looked like ….

Now you’re saying snow in Canada is business as usual for Market Friday. But Steemians, you don’t quite understand. I don’t just live in anyplace in Canada; I live in Vancouver, and in late February, this ain’t suppose to be. It suppose to be raining and the flowers blooming. In Pamplona, a rocket is set off to announce the running of bulls. In Vancouver, cherry blossoms fall and announce the three-month-long running of your nose. But if you are going to have the sniffles, it's better they be from falling petals than falling ice.

Snow is Mother Nature throwing a slurpee in your face.

Colour me not impressed and impatient for warmer weather and shoes with no socks. I am a lot less enthused than the random Aussie who photo-bombed the above shot. She was actually happy. Can you believe her naiveté? Neither could the flowers. Talk about closed up.


Count me in with the flowers. I once read a shirt that said “I’m sorry for what I wore when I was cold.” Yeh’ahhh. Snow is not fun; it’s the kiss of death to flowers and murder on fashion. We will all look better, including the flowers, when we can take those puffy jackets off.

And the walk home ...

IMG_5024.jpg

Winter sucks. Yes it does, Australia. Yes, it does.

***No Australians were harmed in the making of this blog. But these palm trees wish they were dogs, so someone would rescue them.

Sort:  

I feel so bad for those palm trees. I would like to take them in and give them a proper home in the warm and sunny south. Mail them to me :)

Could you imagine the postage:)

Yeah, well I know from my visits to Whistler and Squamish that there are more Aussies in Vancouver and environs than in Melbourne - I saw flower shoots breaking through the soil in our backyard - Mind you, SOUTHERN Ontario, lol

Let's hope March comes in like lamb. I went snowshoeing this morning and it was lovely but I got my fill:)

I agree, winter sucks. I need it to go away, although we are a bit luckier than you at the moment. We just have cold rain. Thankfully, not cold enough to be ice though.

It has warmed up and so the dump is melting but there was a lot and so it will take all of today and no doubt into tomorrow.

“Mother nature throwing a slurpee in your face…” LOL

I did not know palm trees were every even planted in Canada. ???

Just on the west coast.

Interesting… it’s a bit surprising to see palm trees in the snow.

They had them twenty/thirty feet high in Hiroshima and it snowed there too. They need mild weather for sure, but I think what they really require is long days of sunlight, which is why they do better closer to the equator. It is our short winter days up north that present the real challenge. They never grow very high but they live for decades in Vancouver. We have quite a few of them kicking around.

such a great place and photo shoot. But I felt sad at this moment, since the site becomes slow

yes ... tell me about it. In the end I just went to bed.

I did not know Palm Trees could survive a snowy winter !

They can't. We don't get much in the way of snow here. Maybe a few days.

really funny blog :) good to see Vancouver, don't worry spring will come :)

Thank you, Andi. It was here last week and no it's gone again:)

This is so hilarious and what a funny sense of humor you really have! I loved the palm trees in the snow. Oh- hello?

They do need a rescue!

You are absolutely too cool!

Upped and steemed Tip!

Thank you, Denise. I love to know I made someone laugh:):):)

Thank you, Steve:)

Trust an Aussie to photo bomb you lol They don't know what snow is down under?

They are lucky that way:)

Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66