Racing Through the Market, While Still Reducing Plastic Waste ;)

Hey folks!  I don't know what it is about Fridays, but they always seem to be jam-packed!  I missed last week's #marketfriday, so I didn't want to let another week go by without supporting the wonderfully gracious host @dswigle.  I had to make a quick stop to grab some items for a little girls' night in anyway, so snapped some pics as I zipped through Kroger.

I also think @livesustainably has a great thing going this week with getting folks to submit ideas on how to reduce their plastic waste, so I wanted to also share my quick tip on how I try to do that at the grocery store or farmers market.  It is really easy to end up with so much extra wasteful packaging when you are buying groceries, so every little bit helps!

I'm sure most people know about re-usable grocery bags.  I keep my car stocked with a stash at all times.  It's exciting to hear of other cities or even individual stores that don't even allow plastic bags anymore!

Did you also know that you can just as easily find mesh produce or bulk bin bags?!  I get comments on mine almost every time I go to the store.  They can be a little bit of a pain since sometimes the employee at the cash register has to open them up to see what is inside, but most of them don't mind at all and are usually curious about where I got them (thank you Amazon--they really do have everything on there).  I buy tons of produce, so they have really saved tons of those cheap plastic bags that they have at the store that most people use once then throw away.  You can also toss them in the washing machine when they get dirty.  I have had mine for years and haven't had any tear or break yet.

I try to opt for open stock produce as much as I can instead of pre-packed.  They have lots more options for leafy greens that way anyway.  I was shopping at Publix for a little while, but got frustrated with how much of their organic produce was way over-packaged.  Thus, when I can't hit the farmers market I'm back mostly at Kroger and Whole Foods because they have beautiful rows of minimally packaged produce like this...

I also wanted to share a picture of my store's gluten-free and bean-based pasta section.  I posted a recipe about a week ago using edamame pasta and a few people were curious about it.  This store has a great selection of lentil, chickpea and quinoa pastas.  Some are a little pricey, but I am always on the lookout to stock up when they are on sale!

I hope you guys get out your re-usable bags and have a great trip to the market today, too!  Have a fantastic weekend!

Sort:  

Asia can learn something of it... so much plastic here and they all throw it on the streets or in nature. Even when there is a bin close by!

That is not good and they shouldn't allow that anymore.

You really hit home with this one! I have been trying hard to get everyone in the house to switch over to the bags instead of dragging the plastic home and I think we have got 100% finally. We had one lazy holdout, so I made him bring all his plastic back to the store to recycle.

I like the open produce way better myself, but my interest was piqued by the pasta and now i am going to have to do a scroll through on your posts.

Thank you for your wonderful #MarketFriday post! It was simply awesome and you are such a awesome addition with your amazing posts! Thank you!

Upped and Steemed tip!

Thanks Denise! That's awesome that your household is doing their part to reduce waste. I'm the only one doing any shopping in my house, so it's up to me to be good about it.

Looks like lots of different markets posted this week, so I've got some catching up to do today to check some of them out! 😃

In Belgium, groceries and supermarkets are no longer allowed to give free plastic bags to put your stuff in. People are really changing because you have to pay for a bag and they are just taking a backpack or reusable bag to the go shopping. Is it the same in the US?

Unfortunately in most places in the US there is still lots of plastic to be found. I remember in the past before getting my re-usable bags being annoyed with the baggers because they would use so many bags it was ridiculous. I would buy 10 things, and go home with 5 bags. Now there are some cities and stores that are slowly changing, but it is definitely not the norm overall yet. Nice to know Belgium is on top of it!

This is great my dear friend, we should all use re-usable bags and reduce the plastic waste that already is causing such a bad impact in our world. Keep it up! Superb post! Congratulations

Thank you dear! I still have a lot of areas to improve on, but sharing what I am doing now gives me motivation to keep doing more!

Oh yes, I am getting those mesh bags, thanks for reminding me, because I keep forgeting.

Lots of great products too my Dear, I have to check if we have them here 💚😊💚

The mesh bags were definitely worth getting! I have two sets with a few different sizes. 😀

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are looking for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there message me! I am using the same Steemit name.

Thanks so much! I'll definitely come check it out when I get some extra time!

Many stores still using plastic bags, and also sell reusable bags too! I always have the reusable bags in the car! There is really too much garbage out there and I can't stand seeing litter..

So true Icy! It's tough to see all the litter. Though I think it is even worse than we realize sometimes since we just toss stuff in the garbage can and never think of where it goes after the trash man comes to take it away.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

I've never heard of pasta from chickpeas and lentils. very interesting! Thank you! I also do not like packed fruits and vegetables.

It's great if you can find it! Just ground up legumes made into pasta. Love that there are so many more plant-based options coming out all the time!

I do not even suspect that they exist :) I find out about them from your posts and other girls. Thank you for telling me about this. have a nice day!!!!

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably.

I also run competitions for those making the world a better place. Check out this weeks reducing plastic competition here

Thank you for doing great work to spread fantastic ideas to make us think more about our impact on the environment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44