Market Friday - Chinatown Shopping Center, Los Angeles

Market friday.jpg

On a cloudy Sunday afternoon I decided to swing down to Chinatown and check out the markets.

I'd been down there a couple times already, but never with my camera. Well, my phone, but not the big boy. Bringing him out meant things were serious. I mean, lugging around a 5DMKIII is not a simple matter. It's a full backpack of stuff to make sure I have the lenses, batteries and other random stuff ready in case needed. A real pain when the camera on my phone will do almost the same level of quality necessary for most people. Technology is making things a lot simpler, and it's the person behind the camera that matters anyways.

So, here I was, with my camera, standing in front of a crowded Chinatown Shopping Center. People milled about, moving into and out of the entryway. It was a little like a black whole...as you were walking by, if you got in too close, you suddenly found yourself turning and walking down the narrow alleyway walled with shops contains a crazy amount of bric-a-brac, shoes, bags, toys, jewelry, and, well, pretty much anything you could think of.

Market friday 1.jpg

Market friday 2.jpg

Market friday 13.jpg

Los Angeles is an amazing place with so many nooks and crannies to discover and explore. I have to admit I haven't been to near as many as I should have in the time I've lived in LA. I think that's true of many people. That when they live someplace, the likelihood of them really exploring and seeing the sites drops dramatically. It might be the mindset that the thing is always there and that they can check it out sometime in the undefined future...but that leads to you missing out on a lot of stuff. It's a habit I fell into over the last several years. I thought my buddy Joe had cured me of it when we lived in Kyoto, but, guess not.

Market friday 4.jpg

It definitely reminded me of my trips to China, walking through some of the market streets.

Packed in, crowded, vendors with their hawks eyes pulling people in with simple questions. So much useless crap being pawned off for cheap prices to wandering tourists and needy children mixed with the useful necessities in life.

At points in the narrow alley it felt like the walls were pressing in on you, walls of backpacks arching over to create entryways that you had to crouch down to enter. Kids loved it, adults dealt with it. I thought it was pretty cool.

Market friday 5.jpg

If you walk far enough in the space opened up into a different kind of market, focused on cloths.

Strings of shirts, skirts, pants and coats were everywhere. Piles of shirts, shoes, bags, and backpacks went on row after row. The blue and green tarps a seeming permanent fixture above casting this weird aquamarine over everything. Everywhere you could hear the chatter of different languages...Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, German, Spanish, and other languages I couldn't identify, at least without getting rudely close.

Market friday 11.jpg

Market friday 7.jpg

Market friday 9.jpg

I really like these kinds of places. The press of people, things, and the environment reminds me of memories long past in places far away. Our modern markets, at least in the US, are so dull. Soulless structures of steel and brick filled with overpriced goods in designer interiors, the life of what a market should be sucked dry generations ago by simple greed.

Market friday 3.jpg

There's so much packed into this space that it was hard to capture it all

...well, after a bit it was pretty much the same thing over and over and over again...and I think you can only take so many pictures of giant racks of clothing and discount signs, hehe. I hope you enjoyed this little walkthrough of my walk through the Shopping Center in Chinatown. It's a cool place to spend some time, and if you're so inclined, money. Prices are good, quality isn't bad, and the people are pretty friendly. And, afterwards, you can head to any of a dozen nearby restaurants to eat some amazing food. Definitely worth a trip if you're in town.

My Submission to @dswigle's #marketfriday :)

Market friday 10.jpg


Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-chinatown-shopping-center-los-angeles


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That's a really colorful market! I'm sure I would find something for myself.

You probably could :) So much random stuff there.

To be able to visit a market like that must be a very enlivening sensation. The sights, the sounds and simply the energy alone. It goes to show that as Humans we really are the same at heart, a market place is where it can all become clearly visible :-)

It can be. The weather was a bit dour, so so were the people. But, on a sunny day, the energy is crazy exciting :) Wherever you go..there you are :)

So much bright colour, it's an amazing market those narrow passages are quite enclosing aren't they. Such a wide variety of choice to find here as well, loved this journey of yours thanks for sharing.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Hehe, love me those narrow paths. So much in such a small space. But, the rent must be crazy to have a location like that, so they have to sell a lot of different stuff. Couldn't imagine working day after day after day...guess the people in the booths next to you kinda become like family. Strange, but interesting situation. :)

WoW....very colorful and tightly packed doesn't that remind you of Thailand walking through them markets :))

Wow, Mike! How I loved this #MarketFriday post! First off, you are right. People forget about their own back yards because it will always be there. I live in Washington, DC and I see it every day. I am like a street rat, discreetly everywhere.

Chinatown was such a wonderful way to spend the dsy. I love the booths, the colors, the people... what is not to love? Hemmed in those narrow alleys with the throngs speaking their native tongue.

Culture extrordinare! Thank you! Having lived in so many different places on the globe, I'll take the markets any day over the bore of the big box stores.

I also cannot help but wonder if you were in the AF having lived on Kyoto?

Anyway, you got totally gyped on this post. It should have made a ton more! Thank you for the awesome post!

Upped and Steemed. Tip! .2

Hi @mikesthoughts! You have received 0.2 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Happy St. Patrick'S Day! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67