Market Friday and the lesson in "Cutting the Cheese"

in #marketfriday4 years ago


So yesterday, I was feeling down in the dumps, but I NEEDED
some things from the grocery store, so I pulled up my panties
and went to Kroger.
I was craving a salad, but I've learned from long experience
That if I BUY a head of lettuce or whatever, plus all the other
Stuff I like in a salad, much of it will go bad before I can eat it.
DSC_0002.JPG
I was also thinking about the thick cut of meat in my fridge
That needed to be cooked, and what would go along with
It, so... some taters.
I've fallen in love with the (expensive) "antipasti" bar
DSC_0003.JPG
I finally got one of the nice folks there to let me sample
One of those marinated Mushrooms.
DSC_0004.JPG
Very tasty, but for another day.
DSC_0005.JPG
So this section is also the CHEESE specialty area, the young man
"Juston" who let me sample the 'shroom, saw me taking photos.
"If you'll come back in a little while, I'm going to be giving "Devin"
Lessons in how to cut a cheese wheel"
DSC_0006.JPG
That is 80 lbs of Parmigiano Reggiano at $17.99 per lb.
Of course I came back
DSC_0007.JPG
(That's Connie in the red shirt, Devin is in the black shirt)
It was fascinating to watch the steps, and how seemingly
Easy it was for him (he was taller, I suspect more leverage)
than for her (plus me being there with my camera was,
Even though she denied it, making her nervous)
DSC_0011.JPG
DSC_0012.JPG
Of course, Juston let me taste a piece that fell off as they cut
DSC_0013.JPG
It was DELICIOUS. I've never had parmesan cheese this way,
Nor this fresh.


Who knew you could get lessons in

"Cutting The Cheese"

by
Jerry E Smith
©1/17/2020
All images and video are original taken with my
NIKON D5600 (except this one, from my phone)
IMG_20200117_164315.jpg
Thanks to @dswigle for starting this challenge, sorry I was a
Bit late.
!steemitworldmap 33.874897 lat -84.533452 long d3scr

These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


cyktlq.png

This .gif was created by @elgeko




Sort:  

@jerrytsuseer
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 78
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma
56D18CB0-2067-406F-A4CE-344BF718F1F5.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Another yummylicious Friday meal, Good luck for the contest

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Thank you very much @appreciator, I appreciate your appreciation (wait, what? ha ha)

No problem being a little late. That was awesome and I lived in Holland and was fascinated by the cheese wheels they cut at all the cheese shops! That was so cool of you to get that!

Isn't it amazing to watch?

I understand the lettuce dilemma, but, if you take it out and put it in a Tupperware container, with a paper towel loosely on the top of it, it stays longer. Of buying one fo those small bags of mixed veggies and lettuce. Or split it with a neighbor when you first buy it. I used to do that when there were only two of us.

Down in the dumps? Make sure you lace up those running shoes and hit the street and let loose a few endorphins. That may improve how you feel. You just don't know, right? I get up and out no matter how I feel. I want to thank you for being part of the challenge!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thank you so much for this thoughtful comment Denise. I've tried that with the container and paper towel, but not recently.
I am usually very good about getting to know my neighbors. People have changed from when I was younger, everyone is friendly in the hallways, but disdain my invitations to "come by sometime" so I know most of the 8 people that are my neighbors in this building, but otherwise... I DO have a phone # for one neighbor; she lost a backpack at the Airport with her house and car keys, wallet etc... she just happened to see me when she came home to check to see if anyone had damaged anything (of course she couldn't get in herself, her spare key was inside the apartment 😱)
Long and short, her car happened to be parked right in front of my apartment, so she asked if I could keep an eye on it over the weekend (otherwise she could have gone to the office to get into her apartment). So of the 8 apartments, she and I speak in passing more than any of the others. She is also a school teacher.

You know I had a hip replacement last May (I can't believe it has been nearly a year)
They told me I could resume normal activities except:
Don't Fall, Don't Run, and Don't get on trampolines.
Repetitive impacts on the hip joint could cause it to fail sooner.
I have a plan. There is a very nice "adult rec center" very close by, swimming and yoga are very attractive to me. As soon as I get this last surgery (hernia repair) out of the way, I will be signing up.
Have a great day @dswigle

I am fortunate to live in a friendly community with a nice mix of ages across the board. It is getting harder to find these communities and I have been very fortunate. The jobs in the family have us moving from time to time.

When someone new moves in or is moving out of the neighborhood, I still bringa dinner over or at the very least, a dessert to welcome them in or say goodbye to them. They have to bring that dish back for another reconnect. Silly, but it is important to me to be able to connect to the people I live near. Some places have just become unfriendly or they keep to themselves. Too busy, too untrusting, whatever. That makes it uncomfortable for me. I'm weird that way.

Anyway, I hope that you get to sign up soon for swimming and yoga. I am sure it will be a nice break to be able to get out and have a little fun. You have a great day!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Awww... Thank you Denise for the tip. And the comment, I would LOVE to have you as a neighbor. :-)

PS. I am performing this afternoon, so I really doubt I'll get a Market Friday post in today; you never know though, just what might happen 👄

🎁 Hi @jerrytsuseer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Gets The Royal Treatment Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

🎁 Hi @jerrytsuseer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Treed On Tuedays Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @jerrytsuseer, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

this seems to be so hard to cut this cheese...and dangerous, hell I was fearing she was gutted ! 😌

Hi @barbara-orenya, I think she was afraid of that too. Juston said that he thought it was easier for him due to his added height.
I kept thinking that by making more "plunge cuts" (stabbing down into the cheese along the line) then flipping it over and doing the same from the other side, it would break along that line, but it was their task. I enjoyed it, and the cheese.
Thanks for stopping by.

At her place I would have been terrified...LoL...Have a great evening Jerry 😊

Thank you Barbara, I hope you have a very pleasant evening as well.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jerrytsuseer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-and-the-lesson-in-cutting-the-cheese


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

"lessons in cutting the cheese" - thats charming. I like the images you provided... if it was nt 4 of the night, maybe I could rush myself to the nearest Auchan mall for getting me some. but it would not be as great as yours... I will have my morning coffee watching your post tomorrow :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23