Market Friday An Original Market - Shiraz (Not Wine)

#MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle for markets around the world.

The images here are of a market in Shiraz in Iran. I took these in 2009. I didn't have a camera with me so borrowed a colleague's spare camera. The market is quite large and seems to sell items manufactured locally, rather than mass-produced and brought in.

Long Market view.jpg
1/30 sec. f/2.8 4.4 mm ISO 125 DMC-FX500

The view of the market at its entrance.

Sacks of spices.jpg
1/50 sec. f/2.8 4.4 mm ISO 100 DMC-FX500

spice shop.jpg
1/40 sec. f/4.3 8.3 mm ISO 100 DMC-FX500

Never run out of spices here.

Metal sculptures
1/125 sec. f/2.8 4.4 mm ISO 100 DMC-FX500

These are copies of the stone sculptures that were carved 2000 years ago at nearby Persopolis.

Shop Front Beading goods.jpg
1/40 sec. f/4.5 9.9 mm ISO 125 DMC-FX500

This shop seemed busy earlier in the morning.

Metal work.jpg
1/30 sec. f/2.8 4.4 mm ISO 100 DMC-FX500

Metal and ceramic goods.

square within market.jpg
1/160 sec. f/4 6.8 mm ISO 100 DMC-FX500

The market was quite large, then I found a square in the middle of it with more legs of the market leaving it.

always bright.jpg
1/40 sec. f/4.5 9.9 mm ISO 160 DMC-FX500

Inside the market, it was always bright and shiny. This is how markets would have looked for hundreds of years I would think. Maybe slightly less bright without electricity for lighting.

Sort:  

What a cool market, I remember visiting old markets like these in my travels and much prefer them to the high end modern markets here

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Fascinating market place! I love the architecture. It's interesting to see the different items that are sold in different countries. Thanks for sharing!

This was absolutely a fabulous #MarketFriday post and I loved it! I have never been to Iran and nobody has posted anything from it, so it was a delight to get a view of it!

The architecture and booths were so beautiful! I love the replica's of the old statues. It is nice you included people in it and the barrels of spices - amazing!

The entrance was my favorite part! Breathtaking! Thank you so much!

Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. They are easier to find in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much!! ❤

Upped and resteem
!tip

🎁 Hi @honeycup-waters! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi, @honeycup-waters!

You just got a 0.87% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

That would be a fascinating market to wander through!

It was and no one minded having their photographs being taken. I was surprised as we had been warned off going into that area as it was a bit rough. People could not have been friendlier.

I have always found that if you smile and are pleasant that people will be friendly in return. And I'm sure you were friendly to them. Were there a lot of tapestries and stitched handiwork?

Hi Melinda, there were some but not as many as I expected. There were quite a few carpet stalls and fabric stores that seemed very popular. Mostly wood, metal and jewellery type products were in abundance the most.

What sort of things did you purchase?

Hi Melinda, I did not purchase anything. when working I take so much equipment there is no room in the case to buy things to bring back. Two cases are all I can carry and my excess baggage charges were never less than £450 each way ($600) so they are very heavy. Some countries don't have trolleys until after customs, so carrying more than one is not possible. I simply don't have room to bring back anything else.
Going to the loo can be a problem too, two cases in one cubicle can be a bit tight. On this particular trip, I had my coat stolen while in the loo at Dubai.
so, unfortunately, I bought nothing back other than a very small Persian carpet to hang on the wall that the customer bought me as a present. Even that was difficult to

They stole your coat? HolyMoly! I haven't been following you long enough to know what type of work you do. But the baggage charges and the difficulties make perfect sense as to why you don't do any more shopping while you were there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86