My Favorite Local Little Shop Is Open!

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

I am SO happy to tell the story of this little shop for #MarketFriday with @denisewigle today. After spending a few weeks in the big city, it pleased me greatly to see our little local produce stand was open for the season when I got home. THAT means summer is here in my little world!

20180525_120052.jpg

All locally sourced products!



This little shop lets all the locals bring their jellies or pickles or whatever and sell them to the other locals. Idaho has a "cottage industry" law, so little old ladies are actually allowed to sell their goodies without FDA approval. Looks like "liberty" comes in many flavors today...

20180525_115901.jpg

"Graduation Gift Ideas" - would your grad prefer jelly or beans?



The cooler for eggs was empty. The spot outside where there are usually sacks of chicken feed is bare. It is early, no one is really getting anything from the garden yet, so I went home with nothing but photos. Maybe I ought to go back and grab one of these quilts for my new great nephew?

20180525_115928.jpg

I like the little UFO blanket! Oh, those are submarines...



If I had bought anything, or if I go nab that blanket, this is the "cashier." The note up top indicates they can take plastic now, you just have to call Vicki and have her come over. Seriously, people, carry a little cash!

20180525_115915.jpg

Don't hassle Vicki, she is trying to garden!



The entire business is conducted in a roughly 6x6 shed. When the gardens start coming on, there will be several coolers full of yummy stuff and come fall, that shelf of preserves will be LOADED. Hard to believe how much neighborly love and good eatin' can be packed into this tiny building!

20180525_115848.jpg

I went home empty handed today, but I will be back soon!
All photos taken by me last Friday with Fuji FinePix S8300

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-10_08-31-59.jpg

Sort:  

Love your local shop! I miss these kinds of things. It is not something you see here! I am glad that the ladies don't need FDA approval for selling their goods. You got along fine without the FDA for years. Love the little quilts! They are cute.

Idaho retains a lot of liberty that other states gave up. However, we are completely medieval on cannabis.So it goes.

Oh my God! I can't believe I'm the last one here to comment. I'm late for my own party. I need to get better at that or I have to cut down on my comments. As if.

I know that I am not only speaking for myself when I say that it's always an exciting time when the local produce stands open. I have one here locally that shuts down the street and opens their Farm stands right in the middle of the road downtown. Somehow that tickles me pink. Of course if I was not living in the local area, it might take me off just a little bit having to find an alternate way and no detour signs. But, I digress.

We are actually allowed to sell jellies and pickles and whatever on the stands without FDA approval also. Or maybe I should shut my mouth because the fact is we do sell them, and we don't get FDA approval. Now I'm going to have to look up the law.

Both of my girls and myself quilt so I can tell you that each of those little hand stitches were made with love. I do love those quilts first and ohmygod the little UFO blanket was really funny. I'm not sure I'd wrap up my little baby in that, but I sure did get a giggle out of it. I've actually never think of going to a farmers market unless I have a little cash in my back pocket. Let's not hassle Vicki! She is trying to pick so that we can have some fresh vegetables and eggs! I had a hard time believing that their businesses done in that little 6 by 6 shed, but kudos to Vicki for pulling it off. Thank you so much for taking cans to your Market and for posting it to Market Friday. It's always a delight to see you.

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Denise, you are such a sweetie! I can just imagine all the good juju in a quilt you made! And I am also tickled that your town puts its market in the middle of the street, let the stupid Nagigator deal with THAT! lol!

Hahaha! I know, right????

Farmstands are popular in my area too. Farmstands and U-pick-ems. Cherries are big right now. Some pit fruits coming in.

You are way ahead of us, I am guessing maybe the cherries will come on next week. A few June bearing strawberries are coming on now, the asparagus is already done. Have not made it to the mountains to hunt mushrooms yet, probably sitting this year out - to much to do at home!

That is great, its good to have a local shop than to travel in the city just to buy what you want.

For sure! You can't buy produce this fresh in a story!

I love those little markets! Thanks for sharing!

You are back! Welcome home! And thanks!

what a cool little shop I love places like this

It is a fun little shop, you never know what goody may be inside!

Hi @fishyculture! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50