Straw Art At The Craft Market

in #marketfriday5 years ago

I'm continuing my craft market presentation as it's #marketfriday again, hosted by my dear friend @dswigle. Today I'm going to start with some straw art and most likely continue with something random, I don't know yet but we'll see.

This kind of art has a long tradition in our country, especially at the countryside. There are museums all around the country to preserve the tradition. The most famous products are the straw hats. Village people were using straw hats while working on the fields or guarding grazing animals. Straw hats are still in use at the countryside. I have one myself and using it when I'm working in the garden, harvesting currants, to protect my head and neck from the sun.

IMG_20190517_110222a.jpg

Yes, you're right, at the beginning they were making products that they could use in the house. Now it's an art. As you see, there are decorations you can put on the wall like the flower wreath in the center of the photo. There is a wine mug covered with straw, bread baskets and those round things you put under hot pots.

IMG_20190517_110222a1.jpg

Then there are these flowers you can put in a vase and enjoy them no matter the season. Look at that meticulous work! Imagine yourself creating a straw flower like that and they try to put a price on it. How much would you ask for a flower like that?

IMG_20190517_110228a.jpg

Straw hats in the background, wreaths for different occasions. Those with angels and bells are for Christmas, the one with a bunny and egg is for Easter.

IMG_20190517_110246a.jpg

There's a funny hat here I haven't seen before and some paper napkin holders. I have a similar one, it was a gift and I love it.

IMG_20190703_135128a.jpg

IMG_20190703_135136a.jpg

This is my straw paper napkin holder, I made a couple of close up photos so you can see the details.

IMG_20190703_135211a.jpg

This is my straw coaster.

IMG_20190517_110238a.jpg

Those hanged lace like products are for tables, similar to tablecloths.

IMG_20190517_110254a.jpg

These are mostly Christmas decorations, bells and angels that you can hang on a Christmas three. Small keepsake boxes on the left and two wells that look exactly like the wells you can see in villages. There are some wooden spoon holders in the front of the table.

IMG_20190517_112103a.jpg

Braided straw basket decorated with embroidered linen. This is new to me, I've never seen a basket decorated like this. Baskets were usually simple, but I love it, it looks very nice.

IMG_20190517_120427a.jpg

Here you have pretty much everything. I'm going to name a few things that are not on the photos above. Look at those bells on the left. I'm seriously thinking of buying some for my Christmas tree. Beneath the bells there are two identical hair pins. That is a traditional hair pin, older women from villages were using it and maybe they are still using similar ones.

There was a habit according to which married women had to wear kerchief or headscarf and they were not allowed to cut their hair, so they had to wear a bun. This was a pin used to fix the bun.

There's also a flower holder on the upper left that I like very much.

IMG_20190517_120420a.jpg

This is it for this week, see you next week or in two weeks with another entry from the craft market.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you.

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Many thanks, another milestone ✔️

You got a 10.16% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you.

Those are very nice crafts especially the hats but the decorative ones will be hard to clean when they get dusts ad dirt. @erikah

Straw is washable, you can just clean them with water. I do that very often. You dry it and it's good as new.

I'm a huge fan of straw art, or weaving as they sometimes called over here because at times you are actually weaving it with your hands. This is one of those Arts that is nearly lost but has been brought back from the dead and has been continued over the generations. I have a couple pieces and especially several straw hats, one of those items set comes in handy with you live in a city or the country.

I will admit right up front that much of yours is much more intricate than the pieces that I have seen here, but that only means that I'm not familiar with them. I can see that there is a sameness in the fact that Generations ago thanks for made that her practical and used front house and nowadays it's all about the art. Of course they still have practicality with the Bread baskets in the straw trivets, to put your pots under. It's really nice to see what they can do with them. I love all the flowers and all the beautiful little Christmas ornaments that they're making. The wreaths are another whole seeing that I have never seen before, never out of straw anyway and I just love the up close napkin holder that you showed me and yes! The details are amazing. There's just so much work so much artistic ability and just so much Beauty in these products that you have shown me I was really fond of the straw basket that was decorated with the embroidered linen. I have seen them being sold but I have never seen them being sold in a market where they make them themselves. I'm not so sure that the ones I saw were not machine made. However the ones that I saw in the market we're not and I actually want one of those because they are so beautiful. This was a pretty amazing setup and the merchandise they had was out of this world. Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to document your visit and make sure that we got to see all the beautiful things. Your posts are always amazing and I thank you so much.i

#MarketFriday loves you

Upped and steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Give In To Kindness Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66871.77
ETH 3512.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14