Hand Painted Eggs for MarketFriday

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Easter is coming, so I thought it's time to post these photos I took at the craft market last year. These are hand painted or decorated eggs made mostly of wood.

IMG_20180524_111117a.jpg

Easter is celebrated in many parts of the world and each nation has it's own tradition. In Romania you can see these painted eggs during Easter. Some are made of wood and others are real eggs.

IMG_20180524_111244a.jpg

Those huge ones are very strange as we don't have anything here that can produce a huge egg like that. Unfortunately I wasn't paying attention to it at the moment, should have asked the vendor what it is. Maybe it's wood or it could be ostrich. I'll be more attentive next time.

IMG_20180524_111139a.jpg

Look at these eggs and try to imagine how much time it takes to design one and then you will understand the price.

IMG_20180524_111152a.jpg

This is something new. These are not painted, these eggs are decorated with very small beads, which is even harder in my humble opinion. These small beads need tweezers and precision.

IMG_20180524_111124a.jpg

This is what I could find at the craft fair. It's not much, but the fair was held way after Easter.

I'm planning to do a detailed post about our eater tradition if I'll have the necessary time to decorate eggs. We'll see.

This is my entry to #marketfriday hosted by our dear friend Denise, @dswigle.

steemit-border

Check out my #SevenDaysOutside Challenge!

1nap82ea0l.jpg

These are the days and the categories:
#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks (bricks only, no pavement elements or cobblestones please)
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Make sure you write a description of the photo you are posting. Share as much details as you can, like where that statue is placed (in a park, at a museum), what it represents etc. Make it enjoyable.

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag and tag me, @erikah!

Goes without saying that you can only use your own photos. No paintings, no drawings, no digital art please! There is no prize here, this is just for fun.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks @pixresteemer!

Wow, those are so beautiful and intricate! If the large ones are not wooden, maybe they are emu eggs? Any "exotic" farms around where you are?

=^..^=

Thank you @curatorcat, no emu farms around, not that I know of.

That guy who does that must be as boring as anything. I couldn't do this as it may be fun to do one or two , but doing 100's for a living would be painstakingly horrible. I would charge a fortune if I was selling them to make up for doing this.

Agree to disagree on this. What may be boring for you, may be relaxing for someone else :)
I know that from experience. As about the price, I agree with you. When you are the artist and the vendor, you want your work to be rewarded and sometimes it isn't, unfortunately.

I think the relaxing disappears when it becomes a business. Imagine having to do thousands of these every month.Maybe 3 or 4 could be fun, but I think you may lose your artistic abilities to create after doing so many. Maybe I am wrong and he still finds it enjoyable. I hope so anyway.

I guess it depends on the person. I know from experience, I can't do the same thing over and over again. I need to do different things and I know artists are thinking the same way. I've spoken with a sculptor lately and he told me he can't do two identical works because it's boring, annoying and not creative 🙂
So who knows ...

Perhaps people's personalities are just different @cryptoandcoffee; I have been painting similar patterns by hand on beach stones for almost 12 years; started drawing the intricate patterns as pen-and-ink on paper when I was in my teens. I find it very relaxing, zen and meditative.

For the past 10 years (the last six "seriously") doing this has increasingly become part of how I earn a living. But hey, I'll be the first to admit that artists are strange and twisted people!

But — for perspective — I have also never been bored in my life, and I enjoy the comfort of just doing one thing and working on endless slight variations of that. It was the constant change and unpredictability of a very busy job in the IT industry that landed me in the hospital with a "hypertensive crisis" a decade ago.

Which is all a very long-winded way of saying that the person making these most likely really enjoys doing so.

Thanks for the reply. I just thought it may be mundane for an artist. I can see the relaxing side of this though. I am glad you found something you enjoy.

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Beautiful Sunday, Sublimely So Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

This caught my eye was I was looking through #art posts; those eggs are pretty amazing! I guess I relate to them because they remind me a lot of my own painting... although mine is on beach stones.

Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for stopping by and I'm glad you like it.

Those are so beautiful. I do think that is one of the loveliest traditions.

Thank you Melinda, I'm glad you like them. Easter is definitely beautiful.

These painted eggs are stunning @erikah, have not seen them in our part of the world, lovely!

Thank you @lizelle, I'm glad you like them.

You got a 5.47% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

What stunning craftsmanship if they were real you wouldn't want to eat them cause they are so beautiful :)

Wait and see the Hungarian motives on the eggs :) Those are indeed so beautiful that you can't eat the eggs, you don't have the heart to break the eggs. However, those eggs are made with a special technique. Fists you make two holes to the egg, take the yolk and the white out, let it dry and then you can paint it, which makes the paint job even harder as the eggshell is very delicate, you can brake it in no time :D

That really sounds like a delicate job is that going to be this weeks market Friday will be looking forward to it :)

Oh my goodness! These hand-decorated and painted eggs are simply incredible! I got some painted eggs when I was in Romania and also in Poland. I was admiring how detailed those beaded ones were. I cannot imagine using a pair of tweezers and gluing each piece so that it makes a artistic decoration.

I can see that they had a whole table full of eggs of different sizes and shapes. I had a friend who used to collect eggs from around the world and the ostrich eggs for huge so I don't think those are ostrich eggs. Of course, I could be wrong. Aside from that the patterns that they paint on them and beat with are stunning. I keep my eggs in a special dish made of crystal. To me, the eggs are Sublime. I really do like the blue and white one that is large and if I'm not mistaken, it looks painted. And yes, I agree that these had to take incredible amount of time to design and then to decorate them.

Thank you so much for always coming up with such wonderful places and things in your posts. Your craft fairs are so fun to go to and it doesn't matter that you think there wasn't very many oh, it was a huge eyeful to me! And very pleasant! I look forward to your post about your Easter tradition. And, so always I want to thank you for taking the time to take pictures and put a post together! I appreciate it so much!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip

Dear Denise, thank you so much for your nice comment, which is more longer than my post :)) I have an excuse though, I was away for the weekend and only had my mobile phone to post :)
Thank you for taking the time to reply in so much details, it's amazing how you look at each photo and give a detailed opinion. I wish my English vocabulary would be that rich so I could write long and detailed descriptions.
Now I know you like Easter eggs, I'm going to try to do a post about out tradition :)
Thank you again for your support and see you on Friday :)

I apologize for the lateness of the reply. I was gone for a few days and only had my phone, so I waited to reply to everyone's post. I hope nobody is upset with that!

And you are always welcome! I love your posts! That is why I love to go into details because I look at all the posts. :)

Thank YOU!!!! xoxo Your support is amazing!

How can you think that anyone can be upset for you replying late? We all have a life outside of Steemit, it is called real life and it's more important than this although this is becoming more and more important day by day 😀
Ok, jokes aside, don't worry about it, no one is expecting you to stay in front of the screen all day/night and write comments longer than some posts (mine for example).
Don't worry, just have fun! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45