You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Marketfriday comes to Chatteris

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Hi Michael! Say that I have both Aldi's and Lidl's less than 10 minutes away from me and I truly like them because of the surprises that they offer, plus the fact that they're own brands are what they carry... and most of what they offer is good and very well priced.

Aldi and I met when I lived in Europe, Germany I believe and the love affair has lasted all these years. I can tell you that your locally their shelves empty on a regular basis because of their prices and the products they carry. None of the stores are big but they carry basic Staples. I can honestly say that they probably are emptying out because of their prices not because they are under stocking.

It would seem to me that Jack's is trying to make a play for the market that they have cornered and I believe that that is probably a great financial decision. I hope you enjoy the store and just like Walmart, stores like that have found that they do best serving a underserved Market I'm. Something that is not overwhelmingly populated with other stores. Great post and I want to thank you for taking the time to put a market Friday together.

Upped and steemed

Sort:  

This move by Tesco's is a reaction to the growing market share that Aldi and Lidl have gained in recent years.

Aldi product lines, as you know are very good and keenly priced while Tesco's has been ripping off the public for years by price gouging a captive market.

The move by the consumer to these smaller supermarkets is simply based on convenience and prices. They are local and within walking distance of most of their customers.

Tesco has been building on the outskirts of towns which means you need a car ride to get to them.
Things have changed here big time. 10 years of zero pay rises and austerity has made Britain a basket case.

People cannot afford cars and shopping locally is the only option for many. Car sales have fallen off a cliff.

Jack's is a johnny come lately to this new game and they really have missed the point. People want quality products at affordable prices. Not some jingoistic buy British bullshit Tesco really has lost it's way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59121.51
ETH 2993.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78