My super late Market Friday

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

ORANGE COUNTY COURT HOUSE

Let me start off by saying the marriage laws in America are so strange. The United States Government at a "Federal" level recognizes "common law" marriages. Classified as a couple who resides with eachother for an extended amount of time and who "holds out" as husband and wife.

Common law marriages are legally allowed to file federal tax returns together and a slew of other financial and legal paperwork. The down side is in the event of a tragedy the common law spouse has no claim to benefits such as a social security payment or any inheritences or even a name change for free in the court systems.

Every state has different laws concerning marriages. My state, Florida has no common law, and infact up until 2 years ago, it was a punishable offense by jail and fine (even tho it was not enforced) to co habitat with the opposite gender (even in a plutonic roommate type situation).

My last post I had mentioned I had a suprise. No one knows this not even my kids. My husband and I officially got married via the State of Florida this past Thursday even tho we had held out as husband and wife. My illness and my recent hospital stint made me realize him and my kids would not be secured financially if this did not happen. Also my mother is ill with myocardopathy and her heart is only functioning at 5% so the need to do this was great. We are still planning a huge wedding for show on April 26th, 2019 and as I said no one knows we did this.

So let's take a look at the court house where this was done at..

20180426_114849.jpg
This is part of the outside of the building.

20180426_114853.jpg
The court house is split into a few separate buildings.

20180426_114947.jpg
This particular structure was done in 1994 but it used to be a different building on a different street decades ago.

20180426_114648.jpg
This is a statue in the center of the main building.

20180426_112733.jpg
Here is the view from the 3rd floor! It was a gorgeous sunny day outside.

20180426_111011.jpg
This is the sign above the chapel room in the clerks office.

20180426_114805.jpg
It is a bit blurry but they also do shoe shining.

20180426_114846.jpg
Here is a view over looking the main road.

I am not going to post photos from the ceramony as you'll just have to wait a year til the big shabang!

I had to take these photos with my Galaxy S7 as the courts would not allow me to bring in my camera for security reasons.

Thanks for Viewing... Have a GREAT SATURDAY EVERYONE!

Check out SteemUsa's latest posts HERE

and the Alliance's latests posts as well!

PicsArt_01-07-05.51.10.png

image

U5ds4tK6KzWuBxRMR9R2d8zA4wVgjbk.gif

Sort:  

Woooww really looks great

Thanks for sharing @deadgrlsuppastar

You got a 6.57% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @deadgrlsuppastar!

Congratulations, Liz! I am so very happy for you. I am one of those those that pushes for the marriage because of all the laws and I really believe in it. And love. :)

I know. But, I do and I am happy for you.

Those are rather antiquated rules. Pfft!

Tip! .4

Hi @deadgrlsuppastar! You have received 0.4 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42