Market Friday goes to Halifax Borough Market with 👉🏾 @c0ff33a ☕️ 👈🏽

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

This is my contribution post to #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (👈🏽 That's her, Denise) and posted by me @c0ff33a (👈🏽 That's me ☕️). Today we are visiting an actual, fully fledged Market in the town my business premises are based in Halifax, United Kingdom 🇬🇧

IMG_2204.JPG

That is quite inviting isn't it? This is a permanent indoor market, where individuals can rent a stall space and sell the wares they choose. Some towns have outdoor markets which run on certain days, the traders set up temporary stall tables in the centre of the town for people to buy and browse from. In Halifax we have the indoor Market which is open every day - the market building is quite large and even has apartments above people can rent to live in.

As we enter the market it has a broad walkway, the market is not too busy today which is mostly likely down to the cold and wet weather conditions - most people will be staying home rather then venturing out unless they need to. Most days I am too busy at work to venture out into the town even though it is only a few minutes walk, today however I had to deliver 2200 tea bags to a regular customer. The Square Chapel a long standing customer of mine had a van delivery Tuesday of products including the coffee beans I roast for them for making espresso, cappuccino and latte, hot chocolate powder, caramelised biscuits to serve with drinks and various other essentials. But this morning when I arrived at work they had left an answering machine message - they forgot to order Tea Bags and had run out! One box of tea bags isn't worth driving for, and to be fair I need the exercise so despite the rain I walked down this morning to ensure they could keep serving customers with hot Tea.

IMG_2171.JPG

And on my way to the Market I decided to drop in a quick #Haturday by @saffisara with it being very wet I decided to keep my head dry with the Sessions beanie - excuse the white marks on my Ski Jacket - it's sun cream rubbed off my face from ski holidays long past. It's the most waterproof jacket I have so I tend to pull it out when the weather is very wet.

IMG_2178.JPG

Look at this, a lovely flower stall. My snow lady would like a few of these but with Steem at another low and my rented Steem Power costing a literal arm and a leg she will have to look but not touch.

The advantage of an indoor market is when it's raining outside walking around the market inside is still nice and dry. The shops are very varied in here we will see clothing, hardware, fruit and vegetables and even stalls that sell food either sandwiches to go or meals you can sit and eat in. Here we have a clothing stall with a wide range of clothes in sizes to suit everyone, and then to the left a stall selling all sorts of general interest items - they have enhanced the basic design with a natural wood effect top to the stall to make it stand out.

IMG_2180.JPG

Now this stall has some interesting items for sale, just look at all those different decorated skulls. I'm quite sure @enginewitty might see something he likes - let me know and I'll stick an address label on and post it over - might raise a few eyebrows at customs though!

I had this genius idea of making the less interesting pictures smaller and putting the text next to them, it was a good plan except you actually need to write loads of text next to these pictures to fill in the text space. This stall had scented candles and special healing crystals, @nainaztengra would have been in her element I know she always loves fondling her crystal balls. She's a popular lady as well, I have had to come to the terms with the fact no matter how hard I try on here a tiny tit with a beard is no match for a talented pretty lady who can beguile us all with her amazing tales and ability to Dab at the Pyramids.

IMG_2182.JPG

They really do have a stall for everything in this market, this one does Doner Meat and Chips, eat in or take away whatever takes your fancy.

IMG_2183.JPG

Candy stall, for anyone who has a sweet tooth. I know the Pretty Lady @txatxy has a sweet tooth -
Espero que te mantengas bien, se enfriará un poco antes de que sea más cálido según el pronóstico del tiempo.

We now find the fresh fruit and veg stall, you can purchase your weeks worth of fresh vegetables here or just take a few days worth depending on when you will be able to come back next. They have an impressive range of produce and it is clearly labelled so you know quickly the cost. Here we can choose from Apples, Banana's, Oranges, Grapefruit, lemon's and even avocado.

Now here we have a stall holder who does not keep his staff for long, you can buy various cloth's and also cushions along with any sort of material to create your own clothing, bedding or furniture. Quite a wide variety of colours and patterns of material in a wide range of sizes - you really could upholster all your furniture from here.

IMG_2186.JPG

Ooh the Balloon party shop, everything you could wish for to make your party go with a bang!

This is one of those stalls with a little bit of everything to offer, toy's, hardware, cleaning items, general household stuff - a real one stop shop for all those little things you might need for your home. I will apologise about the quality of these pictures, it still get's to me a little that everyone is staring at me photographing stuff - like they are all just looking trying to work out why this random guy is walking around taking photos with his iPhone. I can't yet work out if it is easier for people who have professional grade cameras - because it most likely looks like they are taking advertising photos or pictures for work. So I try and be as quick as I can snapping the various stalls of the market - no careful framing or positioning - walk point and click.

This stall did all sorts of bath bomb type soaps, they have these scented items which you can put in a bath and they fizz away giving off a lovely smell and special foam for your bath. They also had some fun bags on the top shelf, including a Pug photograph bag which is quite special.

On the right a store with a little bit of everything, hardware and general household items whatever you might need can be found here.

And we started this journey take tea to the chapel, and look what we have here a Russian Tea Shop - very different and we can see lovely the decor.

IMG_2193.JPG

For you keen knitters out there they even have a dedicated wool shop you can purchase your wool from.

IMG_2195.JPG

If you have a gif that needs wrapping, this stall have you covered.

IMG_2196.JPG

The last time I came in with my youngest boy, he loved all these fantasy statues on display.

IMG_2198.JPG

IMG_2197.JPG

And you can even find a bag to suit every need - the stalls in this market literally have everything you will ever need. I hope you had fun looking around the indoor market with me, it too a while to take in every sight but I hope you all had fun at least.

IMG_2201.JPG

Finally we leave the Market

IMG_2202.JPG

taking in the last few stalls on the way

IMG_2194.JPG

And that says it all, thank you for taking a walk round the Market with me - it's a quirky place but good to have a Look around.

source

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

For the simplest way to upvote and promote your work, log into SmartSteem it’s the smartest way to get your work noticed.
Join Steemfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes. It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

For Steemit to grow we need to post rich content - interesting and unique posts that encourage others to join in and share their experiences. If you feel your own posts are not doing well look at what your favourite content creators are doing - if you like their work they are doing something you could do as well - think of way to do similar things with your own unique twist.

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

As Steemit grows making your content stand out gives it a greater chance to be seen and enjoyed, I try to work on making one post every few days - but making it as big and content rich as I can. I don't know if this is the right way, but I enjoy the most big content rich posts - and a wise man on Steemit once said to me - make your content like the content you enjoy.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

This l see is a big shop..beautiful photos..thanks for sharing

Thank you very much for taking a look at my post and leaving a comment :-)

what an amazing photography dear brother @ c0ff33a this is really amazing, i do really love the market. amazing place thank you for sharing.

Thank you very much, they were not the best planned photos I have done literally I was walking around snapping pictures while barely stopping. Amazing they came out so well really!

This great and complete super market is a great business, and generates turnover, success for you, and always happy @coff33a.

Thank you for taking a look at my post and leaving a comment.

This is a very interesting market @c0ff33a! It is quite impressive, you can get many things here, but the most important thing is that is indoors! Thank you so much sharing this in our community!
Stay warm okay!

Thank you very much, it's an interesting little indoor market in a very historic building. It's also nice to be inside out of the rain and cold!

Such a quaint and very comfortable looking place to frequent. We do not have anything like that here in San Antonio. Wish we did. Very nice

Thank you very much, we have plenty of Markets around the UK like this one. Thank you for taking the time to look at my post and leave a comment.

It really cool man... sometime going to the market is fun...👍

Thank you very much for taking a look, the market can be a very good place to pass the time.

wow today's market friday was really cool to visit got to see a lot of different things :D

Thank you very much, I am pleased you enjoyed my day out.

I'm sure I would find something for myself there, it's a very nice market!

It is an amazing little market, thank you for taking a look at my post and leaving a comment.

My pleasure :)

The bags were looking so cool and interesting this was a great time spent there :D

Thank you very much, and thank you for dropping in and leaving a comment.

Well you can always cheat and make the text larger to fill in the space next to the pics ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50