The Old Market That Was Once Modern

in #marketfriday5 years ago

I was once young and beautiful! Most of us can say that at some point. The same can be said about buildings, neighborhoods ... I am now referring to a market in Iasi, Romania.

Many years ago, in Communist Romania, the cities were systematised, at the will of the country's leader, by chance (but better not), a notorious dictator. His name was Nicolae Ceausescu, an uneducated man who destroyed many in this country. At one point he had this idea (borrowed from China or North Korea) to change the city with new buildings. As a rule, these modified areas were in the center of the cities. Hundreds of thousands of beautiful buildings, historic buildings were demolished to build them. These places were called "Civic Center"!

This market in Iasi to which I refer now is in this Civic Center. Maybe many decades ago it would have been as attractive but now, almost paralyzed and unkempt, it forms an image not just happy for the city.

IMG_20190728_112640.jpg

Flowers beautify everything! I chose this image as a template because it is more attractive due to the flowers. Otherwise it is quite gray.

IMG_20190719_084126.jpg

This glass dome covers the market. The market is in the basement, we will look from above.

IMG_20190719_084111.jpg

A closer look! I must say that marketers are quite suspicious when they see a camera. Probably many of them do not pay taxes and are afraid they will be discovered. For this reason, I have given up photography for a long time.

IMG_20190719_084051.jpg

IMG_20190719_084105.jpg

IMG_20190719_084120.jpg

IMG_20190719_084123.jpg

One can easily see that old glory is gone! The artesian fountain in the middle of the market no longer works. The look is slightly unattended, unfortunately. In other news, however, it is a market where you can buy fresh fruits and vegetables, meat and cheese. It's a market where I buy to cook.

Now I bought minced meat and vegetables to make "chiftele" named here, in Moldova as "purjoale", a kind of local burger.

The minced meat is mixed with a potato, a carrot, an onion, a garlic crushed by grating. Also add parsley and dill, salt and pepper. Finally, this composition mixes with two raw eggs.

IMG_20190725_174001.jpg

I then make this mixture into small balls and fry them in sunflower oil.

IMG_20190725_173949.jpg

For the garnish I will make mashed potatoes. Boil the peeled potatoes in salted water. After boiling, add butter, cream and milk and mix.

IMG_20190725_173955.jpg

IMG_20190725_180449.jpg

The preparation of the food is over. In about half an hour everything is ready. A very tasty dish especially when freshly prepared and hot.

IMG_20190725_180442.jpg

It is a very tasty food but a little fat and being fried, not exactly healthy if we listen to nutritionists and doctors. Therefore, at the end of the meal a watermelon is indicated to clean and wash all the fat. It is also sweet and cool.

IMG_20190801_075329.jpg

This blog is for #MarketFriday, a wonderful challenge hosted by our friend, @dswigle. Denise! Because it is recommended by Denise then it's mandatory to end with a flower!

IMG_20190721_125918.jpg

Thank you all, hope to see you next Friday!

cnsl49cywv.gif

@bluemoon
Thank you!
Disclaimer
I made this post with passion, effort and respect for you. I hope the result proves it.
Since English is not my first language, please forgive any grammatical errors.

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you! A beautiful cake.

It always amazes me how one man could ruin such a beautiful country almost single-handedly. I can say that in our cities unfortunately, to make room for newer, better places some of the most beautiful mansions and architecture taking down to build modern buildings with more room, skyscrapers that were built up to about four more space. I actually cannot understand why anybody would want to take the beauty of yesterday away to put up a nameless faceless building has no character or charm. But then I am not in charge. I remember this Market from last winter probably when it was actually pretty wonderful as it was covered and you didn't have to get the weather on you. So in some ways the market is kind of cool but another ways I can understand how it has become a disappointment because it is not modern and looks out of place there. Which is funny because it would take very little to make it look amazing all over again.

You tempt us all with a delicious dinner but I was trying to think of what kind of meat didn't this would be but it seems like it is chopped or minced beef mixed with the parsley do salt and pepper potato carrots onion and garlic. Wow. It looks amazing and sounds amazing and of course who in their right mind would turn down mashed potatoes? Oh boy. Watermelon. My favorite. Thank you as always for ending with beautiful flowers and I want you to know that I appreciate all your time and effort spent putting these posts together. So thank you very much and I wish you a wonderful Sunday.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip .20

You are so right, with a little effort this market would look much better. Unfortunately, in Romania there are few people who could do things well. We are in a dark time when everything is deteriorating ... but I have not lost my optimism.

The meat is pork but it can be chicken or beef mixed with pork.

I am very pleased with your appreciation, thank you.
I wish you a beautiful and joyful week!

That's an unusual place for a market I must say, but I like the open air of it. And the small meatballs looks delicious!

Yes, an unusual place who had his glory.

The meat patties you made looks delicious!! It made me very hungry!!

The meat patties you
Made looks delicious!! It made
Me very hungry!!

                 - rynow


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I'm glad you like and sorry to make you hungry. I'm sorry there are these huge distances between us ... I'd like to offer you some of these meatballs.

Hi, @bluemoon!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you twice!

Nice recipe for meatballs, mash potato a dish often prepared in my home, quick nutritious meal ended with lovely fresh fruit.

Pity the open market place is not so popular, run down has become quite popular in our country as well, at least the market still looks like a clean area @bluemoon.

Thank you. You can try the recipe, it's easy and quick.

Definitely a nice open air market with nice surrounding it looks like a good day had with a good meal :)

Yes, a good meal ... I like to make it myself. Thank you!

Well done i am sure you enjoyed it all :)

Yes, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59