A Small Fishing In Greece

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Greece. A land (actually more water) blessed. Since I made my first vacation on the island of Thassos I was "taken". Now, as the summer approaches, I feel again the desire to be there. It's still too early and the only way to be there is with the photos of my last vacation.

On holiday and on the market

I like to eat fish ... I live in a big city and away from the sea. I cannot find to the market to buy fresh sea fish. That's why when I arrived in Thassos Island, the first thing I did was to look for the fish market. Limenaria, the city where we lived, didn't have a fish market. Instead there are some small shops selling only fish.

Looking for the fish shop on the narrow streets of Limenaria.

bjnz8o0jjd.jpg

I quickly found the store and first watched the exposed fish. Fresh fish from the Aegean Sea. Unfortunately I have to thank only with the look ... I have no place to cook. Now let's see the fish!

lnlx5a6slh.jpg

c75ei1opix.jpg

c96v54uul5.jpg

j24hqhek5c.jpg

51hpwz8ney.jpg

God, how much I'd love to buy some fish, go home and put it on the barbecue. My house is about 800 km away. So I remember when I was taking the fish home, on the barbecue in the yard.

o3a0zm9wsg.jpg

c52a7d1azy.jpg

kkzthemx6h.jpg

Memories ... memories! I leave my memories and look for a place where we can eat fish on the island, fish not cook at the restaurant. I found a tavern where authentic Greek food is made. It's cooked in a small kitchen and serves on the street.

5ocxf2cuuq.jpg

ngxxo5dmwu.jpg

8lt3m6onv9.jpg

5vqurdu318.jpg

At the end the tables were occupied by cats. They are "dead" after the fish!

rgnc21nnn0.jpg

oyl5r3afp2.jpg

Not everything is about food. The beauty of the island is everywhere. Cannot be ignored.

d1plr80qwb.jpg

p0lh6pm1ep.jpg

This is for #MarketFriday, a challenge proposed by @dswigle.


cnsl49cywv.gif

@bluemoon
Thank you!
Disclaimer
I made this post with passion, effort and respect for you. I hope the result proves it.
Since English is not my first language, please forgive any grammatical errors.

steemit-border
Posted using eSteem Surfer
steemit-border

Sort:  

It is hard to ignore such beauty, isn't it? From the narrow streets of Limenaria to the sweeping pictures of the landscape, Greece is such a wonderful holiday! Yes! It goes hand in hand with summer in my mind!

The Aegean Sea is well-known for the fish that come from there. What a wonderful collection you found in these places. I grew up with the Atlantic out my back window, so fish was a staple in our lives. I guess that is why I love it so much? We probably ate it 5 days a week. It was free and there were 11 in the family. A wonderful added bonus to living on the water. Everyone in the family would throw a hook in from time to time.

Oh, the pictures of the fish, all lined up on the grill. Sublime! This could easily be a #SublimeSunday entry too!

I think you hit the nail on the head. I have found the small taverns or street cafe always serve the best food. Sometimes a little fancier than others, but, I am a fan of something more on the rustic side of eating. Robust or delicate, if it swims for a living, I will probably like it.

Oh, that last shot with the cats. The Health Department here would have closed that restaurant down. But, in my opinion, everyone has to eat, yes? The last view of all that beauty is divine and I am so glad that you put this out for #MarketFriday! A wonderful post and I know it has you dreaming about it right now!

As always, have a most wonderful day!!!

#MarketFriday loves you

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thanks for the answer, I always write waiting to see how you get my story. Yes, I made Greece and that island a paradise for me ... of course it is far from being like this but it is a dream and it is so pleasant to have a dream. That's why I delete what is bad and ugly and stay with ... paradise.

I hesitated to put pictures of kittens, I know that in some very civilized and septic countries this may upset but in the end I chose to show reality.

I know you've grown up by the ocean, what a privilege. I'm happy for you!
I chose for #SublimeSunday to ride through Iasi but I was tempted to write about Thassos.

Thanks again, to next Friday!

Oh, I am not offended by the cats or kittens. It is a reality as you say, I just laughed knowing some would be aghast at the thought of it.

Reality works. I thought twice about showing the German airplanes shot down, during my air show, from the relics of World War ll, but in the end, reality won as this has already been judged by the world.

I am happy to remember my own dreams just that way. Pleasant. I find no harm in that. :)

Have a wonderful evening, Dan! @bluemoon

Thanks, Denise! I didn't think about you,@dswigle, when I said about cats. I know you love cats even if you do not follow the #caturday tag anymore. I have posted this Saturday in this challenge ... For you!

Very good news for me...today I will receive an invitation for the PHC!

I am sorry to say that I am not in charge of the #caturday tag and never have been. I pushed it really hard to keep it going at one time, and some people tagged me in it, but, I didn't feel right taking over something that was not mine.

I try to correct it when I see it, and I wouldn't have minded running it, but, it seems to run fine all on its own.

Thanks, Dan! Have a great week ahead!

Congratulations on the PHC invitation! I am sure that you will really like it!

I'm sorry by the mistake, I thought you were the initiator.

I'm sorry by the
Mistake, I thought you were the
Initiator.

                 - bluemoon


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Oh, no problem! I kept carrying it on, but, it was not mine. Many people have made the same mistake. No harm, no foul.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you again!

Summer and holidays go hand in hand @bluemoon and there is nothing like fresh fish to satisfy an appetite. What a wonderful selection of fish and those sea views are simply gorgeous!

Yes, it is. Summer and vacation are the most awaited moments of the year. Thanks a lot!

Very true. I'm sure you will make the most of every summer day. 🌞

I hope so, thank you!

our friends treated us to kebab from fish. my husband still remembers this :))) he loves to eat fish, but I don’t really like it. I do not like the smell of fish when it is fresh so my husband cooks the fish himself. I remember this is your holiday. I wish you will definitely be there again !!!! :)

Thank you! I also like to eat fish and my wife don't, just like you.

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Penning My Thoughts Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hello @bluemoon, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you! I am surprised, delighted and compelled by your choice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46