The Day maneco64 Became a Contrarian Thinker.

in #market6 years ago (edited)


In this report I talk about how I became a contrarian thinker. I go all the way back to 1975 when I was 10 years old and growing up in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

I recall a great experience I had with my father when he allowed me to race his sail boat with him in an important race in Guanabara Bay and how we actually won the race thanks to my contrarian advice.

Despite being only a young boy my father listened to me and instead of sailing in a "straight line" we took a longer course where we caught strong winds that led us to winning the race by a large margin.

The History of the Darke de Mattos Regatta:
http://www.icrj.com.br/vela/levatamentos/Campeoes%20Regata%20Darke%20de%20Mattos%20Classe%20Star.pdf

maneco64 store: https://teespring.com/en-GB/stores/maneco64


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Cool hearing stories about the early days with your dad!

I thought it would be interesting and it shows a bit about myself.

Great contrarian sailing story. And the pictures are great too!
I've done a bit of sailing myself. A few years crewing on a winning boat in the Marblehead bay area, MA, weekly night races. One day the skipper did exactly what you guys did and arrived at the finish with every one else way behind. The skipper had actually let us open the beer cans before the finish line, a first. Also, this past summer three of us sailed out to Bermuda and back from Salem, MA. Best part was navigating back through Nantucket, Martha's Vineyard and Cape Code Canal on our way back to Salem, you have to know your tide timing. We figured out that one morning we had to leave from where we were at 5:30 in the morning so that we could be out of the Cape Code canal by around noon, otherwise you would have to wait for the next favorable tide, like 12 hours.
When is the last time you did some sailing Mario?

Hi jayem, Nice to hear from. Funny you should ask when was the las time I sailed. It was back in 1994 when my wife and I went to Boston for a friend's wedding. After the wedding we drove down to Woods Hole and to took the ferry to Martha's Vineyard where we spent a long week end. We rented a dinghy and I took my wife sailing there. What a coincidence!

Yeah, that's great. So you know the area we had to navigate through to go back up to Salem. So you on live.

"Blye me matie! Ahh didne ken ye waur a fellaw sailur an aw! 'Att was quite a race ye hud wi' yer faither when ye was ten! Yoo're welcome aboard th' mighty frigate Silverton onytime!" -Keptin Joshua Slane

old-navy-3-1435826.jpg

https://steemit.com/story/@joshuaslane/toor-ay-th-gulf-ay-aden-18au18-sixty-one-oonces-ay-trooble

wow amazing! I'd like to hop aboard that!

"Come 'en aboard mucker! We sail everyday! An' ye micht enjoy uir silver contest! "-Keptin

https://steemit.com/story/@joshuaslane/toor-ay-th-gulf-ay-aden-21au18-a-tattered-defeat

I also want at least once to ride)

One way is to get on a racing crew. In the Boston area, north shore, there was a fair amount of racing boats looking for crew members. You don't need a lot of experience to be on some boats, just the desire.

Great story, it certainly has served you well.

That was a great story and moral, my Dad is a bigtime sailor and taught sailing in the summers for a big marina on Lake Superior, people who stored big boats there would let them be used for the sailing classes in exchange for cheaper slip rental and he used to take us out on big 40' boats and catamarans once or twice a summer.
He lives near the ocean now and has a smaller boat, I think it's 22', I was just on it with hime and my step-mom while visiting 2 weeks ago so I really enjoyed this video, I even sent him the link and he enjoyed it too.

I hope you will give us good advices during upcoming economic storm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65