Lesson #10 - Indented Lines and Indented Paragraphs In Lists - Check out my Markdown Course!

in #markdown6 years ago (edited)

Learning Markdown helps you make your great content look great!

I created an online course called Steem Markdown, which teaches you how to use Markdowns to format your Steemit posts.

In this post, I am including information from Lesson #10 - Indented Lines and Indented Paragraphs in Lists.

If you want to access the full online course (19 lessons) for FREE, click here!

Getting Started


Ordered and Unordered Lists are a great way to present information to your audience.

It is important to know how to properly format paragraphs and lines within those lists so that you can communicate your message in a visually appealing manner.


Important things to remember:

  • In order to create an indented line in an ordered or unordered list, press the Enter key 1 time and press the Space key 3 times.
  • In order to create an indented paragraph in an ordered or unordered list, press the Enter key 2 times and press the Space key 3 times.

The Comparison

What you type:

1. One
   Indented Line - press the Enter key 1 time and press the Space key 3 times.

   Indented Paragraph - press the Enter key 2 times and press the Space key 3 times. 

2. Two



What you see:

  1. One
    Indented Line - press the Enter key 1 time and press the Space key 3 times.

    Indented Paragraph - press the Enter key 2 times and press the Space key 3 times.

  2. Two

Practice Makes Perfect


Now it's your turn to practice what you have learned.

  • Open Steemit.com and click Submit a Story.
  • Copy the following text and paste it into the Steemit Markdown editor.
1. Ordered List Item #1 
Create a new indented line by adding 3 spaces in front of this line. 

Create a new indented paragraph by adding 3 space in front of this line. 
2. Ordered List Item #2 

This is a paragraph that is not indented (no additional spaces required).

Your Turn


Let's continue the conversation in the comment section.

  1. Have you been able to use Markdown in your Steemit posts?
  2. Which Markdown hint have you used the most?
  3. Is there a formatting hint that you would like to learn?

Thanks for stopping by.

@sumatranate

Sort:  

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 6 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

@ethandsmith, thanks for letting me know that this post is being featured in the Steem English Express Podcast. It is an honor to be selected.

I am greatly enjoyed being apart of the Steem Engine community!

  • this is silly

    this is silly

sucks that you need to use lists in order to get an indent to happen

@lemonshrimp, I like the ease of Markdown, but it is not as robust as html. I have found that there are a few formatting options that I am not able to execute the way I want to.

thanks so much for making these and helping walk us newbies through it ^_^

Great info! Still trying to figure out how to make my posts look good.. it’s confusing at times.. I’m gonna have to go take a look! Thanks a bunch!

@mamabear72, it takes time to get the hang of things here on Steemit :)

We should think of formatting our posts in the same way that we think of editing our posts (for grammar mistakes and typos). I still make a lot of mistakes!

When you proof read thinking about formatting, you should look for

  • the right oppotunities to add headers
  • text to emphasize - bold or italics
  • lists
  • and so on

There are so many great ways to create a clean look with Mardown.

The bold & italics & lighlights is what I’m trying to figure out now.. lol I’ll go digging threw your stuff to look for content on that here soon.. I’m distracted now! I got to go meet my grandbaby , and haven’t been on so much the last couple days, but leave on Tuesday then back to the grind of things.😉Back to learning! And I’ve learned somthing New every day I’ve been here on Steemit in the last 2 weeks! Everyone’s been very helpful!! Thanks again!!

Hey @mamabear! I understand finding the balance between family and Steemit.

I have posted several aritcles on Steemit about Markdown, but if you want to find everything in one place, I recommend that you sign up for my FREE online course about Markdown.

Good luck and happy learning!

I do not know where to start,I think it is very interesting that you describe.thanks @sumatranate

@baroen96, if you want to follow all of the lessons then sign up for my FREE Steem Markdown Course!

Great informative post I have bookmarked the tutorial site it could be very handy for me who uses little of the capabilities of markdown

The course is set up with self-paced lessons. I hope it provides you value. I am still working on refining the end result. Pass along any feedback that you might have.

I will do I just need to find and make the time to do it

Hey :D
First of all, great tutorial about Markdown. I didnt' see all your post about markdown, so sorry if you already teach it, but how do you the grey zone?
Thanks :)

hey @criptomaster, the gray area called inline code or blocks of code.

I will be posting a lesson on Steemit soon about this feature. If you want to learn more now, be sure to check out the Steem Markdown online course.

Thanks for the reply :) I'll check the inline code or blocks of code :)

Question, does anyone know how to justify the text in markdown?

@insideoutlet, I am pretty sure that Markdown does not allow you to justify text (except in tables). I will be posting a tables Markdown lesson soon.

Are you taking about text, photos, or both?

I have included a way to do it (or at least I think so depending on your answer) in my Steem Markdown course. The solution is in HTML, not markdown, so it is a more robust solution, but not as simple.

That is nice tutorial.
Do know how to change font in markdown? #qurator

Loading...

This is great what you are doing here! Keep up the good work and thank you for the pointer.

@mental-extract, I am so glad to help. Thanks for the kind words!

I think the write-up is incomplete and abit confusing. So you've indented, BUT where does your text start? ie Where did you start typing Have you been able to use Markdown......' From your example above

@ocs, thanks for the feedback. Sorry that you felt the lesson was a bit confusing.

I usually use the header called "Your Turn" to introduce a section that contains questions. I do this to create more interaction with my readers. Maybe this is what caused the confusion.

Again thanks for the feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77