I have created an online module that teaches Markdown for Steemit users!

in #markdown7 years ago (edited)

feedback-1825508_640.jpg

I am looking for feedback!

I am creating an online module that teaches Markdown for Steemit users. I have made a lot of progress, but there is still some more work to be done.

The module is FREE (for now). Once you sign up for this course, you will have access to the current information and future updates.

To check it out ...

  1. Click this link: https://steemskills.teachable.com and set up an account
  2. Enroll in the Steem Markdown online course
  3. Send me feedback about what I am doing well and what I need to do better.

I hope this module helps you learn more using Markdown language in Steemit so that you can better format your posts.

Image Source:
https://pixabay.com/en/feedback-confirming-board-1825508/

Sort:  

This is such an awesome idea. I have zero voting power right now but I have resteemed, I hope you have lots of success with it.

@catonwheels, thanks for the resteem and the kind words. That means a lot to me!

What a fabulous idea. I've signed up so here is my feedback, as detailed as I can be:

The Introduction (very first one) is missing text.

In the links section it is a bit confusing as to why you suggest using <>around the email address as just using the normal markup will do the trick. I think that would prompt people to use HTML elsewhere and have a lot of it non-supported. That being said, an HTML section may be helpful.

"Indentation" is a better term to use than "indention". Both are correct but the latter may confuse ESL speakers as it's rarer.

One last thing, based on the introduction of Dtube and its insertion of HTML coding into posts, a section about HTML use in Steemit posts may be good. Just another reason to add it.

I've really enjoyed this short class and learned something! Is there no certificate for me to PDF for my resume? :p

@xeonn, thanks for the comment and all of the great feedback.

  1. I have not worked on the intro yet. It is on my to-do list. I plan to do so and improve the landing page for the online school and online course.
  2. Thanks for this input. As I have been creating the training module, I have learned a lot as well. I work on this more.
  3. I was planning on doing an simple HTML section for things that markdown does not do or at least not do well.
  4. I will change the wording to "Indentation". I want this to be as readable as possible for all users.
  5. Same as response #3. I had not thought of this being used for DTube so I will be sure to check our what tricks would be helpful there.
  6. I would love to give people a certificate of sorts, but the platform does not support it (at least not now)

Thanks again for taking the time to look through the course and give me valuable feedback. Much appreciated!

Not a problem and best of luck. It's too bad that certificates are not permitted on the platform. I would have guessed that a statement of completion of some sort would have been an option.

@xeonn, I have a quick question. I have been looking for the "normal markup" language you spoke of regarding emails, and can not find anything about it.

I have tested several syntax options in both Safari and Chrome, and I can not get an email to turn into a clickable link without the < >.

Do you mind explaining more?

No, you are correct, I was wrong. What I was thinking is that the typical [mailto: markdown would work but on second glance it does not. I hope you didn't waste too much time on my mistake.

No worries. I just wanted to me make sure that I was not missing something. Thanks for all of your feedback.

Ohhh that's awesome i'll try that ;) i'll give you my thoughts afterwards

Since I didn't know a thing about markdowns, it's really great for me! I'll have to take some notes 📝 ;) thanks for this work!and i'm ot just saying that :))

@jamisa, markdown is great. It is what I use to make my posts stand out!

I highly recommend learning it!

WOW

You could have made this a post series, but chose to go above and beyond! Very well done!

I thought I wouldn't learn anything, but I didn't know about sublists!

You should definitely add a part about tables.

@thatsweeneyguy, I am so glad that I was able to pass along something that you had not been exposed to yet.

A lot of people have posted about markdown, but I could not find a centralized source that provided enough detailed for an advanced user and enough simplified information for a new user.

I hope to give both!

I have tables on my to-do list. That was the point where I stopped working today!

Well you've done a hell of a job so far!

This initiative definitely deserves more exposure than it got. Resteeming.

@guiltyparties, thanks for the comment and the resteem.

I do hope the project can gain some more traction. It seems that a lot of people either do not know about some of the basic skills that can improve their Steemit posts, or they choose not to learn about those skills.

I want to help change that so our community can become a stronger group of content creators.

I hope so too. We need more of this kind.

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Great post you earned a new follower from @thefollower -_- Like money? Read my blogs for more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11