"Ask TheCleanGame" All Cannabis Subjects Welcome!

in #marijuana8 years ago

Ask Away, Ask Away, Ask Away All!


I've spent a great deal of time not talking about things I know little about. I hope you can appreciate it. ;) Cannabis is one of the areas I've spent a great deal of time with.

Ask me your questions and I'll give you the straight skinny. Ask me something I don't know and I'll do my best to refer you to a place you can find the answer. :)

Experience

  • 15+ Years Cultivating Hydroponic Cannabis
  • No-Dump Reservoir Management
  • 8 Years Researching Medicinal Cannabis
  • Extractions
  • Rick Simpson Oil
  • Holy Anointing Oil
  • Edibles/Topicals/Tinctures
  • Trichome Density ;)

Looking Forward to Your Questions

Sort:  

Good Questions. Keep Them Coming :D

Appreciate it, the information pool is very muddled, happy to help clear it up in spots. :)

What is your opinion on using molasses during flush? I've had problems with my bud having a hay/grass taste, I've been told flushing with a teaspoon of molasses/gal will help. Any thoughts?

Hi, Thanks for pursuing cannabis cultivation. :)

Molasses is of great benefit to the mirco-herd in organic soils. This benefit takes time, as the molasses is converted and absorbed by the life in the soil. Molasses really has no place in the root zone near harvest time.

Near harvest is when you want to be using only clean r/o water, to dilute and taper off the strength of your amendments. :)

  • Harvest at 5-15% Amber (Use a 30x-60x Scope)
    Ripe cannabis has the longest efficacy time. Unless you like 45 minute high/stone/medication, harvest when trichomes are at least 5% amber. Overripe cannabis will make you fall asleep 15 minutes after a few hits. Overripe cannabis has LESS thc than ripe cannabis, because the thc has broken down into CBN. Overripe cannabis is a drag, unless you're trying to escape life. (You can be pain free and awake with the same strain)
  • Hay/Grassy Smell from Chlorophyll Breaking Down
    Most of the advice online and in books was written by cash croppers, not people looking for high quality. In soil you'll want to use plain water the last few weeks before harvest. Plants should not be dark green at harvest time as the chlorophyll content is very high. The grass smell is chlorophyll breaking down and fading for a 2 weeks before harvest will cut down on chlorophyll content.

Keep your drying area around 70F and 55% humidity and slow/complete air movement. This will prevent the cannabis from overheating and causing the hay smell. You're shooting for at least a 7-10 day dry time, hopefully a bit longer if mold is not an issue. The slower you dry, the more terpenes you're going to retain and the tastier the cannabis will be.

Hope that helps. :D

I'm sure it will. Last time my dry room was closer to 40% humidity and it only took 4 or 5 days until I had snapping stems. I am thinking I will try to drying the whole plant before trimming, maybe with the sun leaves intact it will slow down my dry time and allow that chlorophyl to break down properly.

Thanks for the advice!

You're welcome.
I believe a lot of people dry trim, simply because of the longer dry time. The speed of the dry really does make a big difference. When you get a controlled area to dry in, be sure to try wet trimming again, you'll really appreciate keeping those trichomes on the plant. :)

im not sure if this question belongs here, but ill give it a try. In Venezuela a long time ago, we skomed some weed and called it "marron" many years later, a weed called Creepy became trending, it is a really strong weed, and smells sooo good, like pines. while the marron smells like crap or something, my question is: Where does the smell comes from? its delicious smell, i love it. and if you have the master recipe for the ultimate brownies, ill like to have it, thanks!

The smells for cannabis come from terpenes. Different strains of cannabis smell different, depending on the types and amounts of terpenes it produces. Everything from sugar sweet, to spices, to sandalwood and other essences, to vomit and offal, cannabis is capable of mixing it up. :)

Other flavors are from improperly handling cannabis or growing it incorrectly. Fermentation creates an ammonia smell, heat and humidity cause mold. Any number of things could have flavored the "marron" and it also may have been the "marron" flavor itself. :)

Thanks for Asking!

That's it? Only one question??

What's your favorite extraction method??

Good Question

I prefer food grade ethanol extractions. Not a fan of butane/propane and definitely a loud shouter of "no Isopropyl!" Water extractions wash out terpenes. CO2 is pretty decent.

I use the dry ice hash method without a screen, in a closed bucket instead of shaking it out. Once the cannabis is powdered I can use a 30 second ethanol wash and get a clean, full plant extraction. I end up using about 1/3rd the ethanol when I do this.

:D

"40 million Americans smoked marijuana; the only ones who didn't like it were Judge Ginsberg, Clarence Thomas and Bill Clinton." - Jay Leno

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61