Marijuana Grow Journal Entry 1: History and beginning prep work for my perfect bud quest!

in #marijuana8 years ago

Marijuana Grow Journal Entry 1: History and beginning prep work for my perfect bud quest!

Good afternoon #weedlovers before I start my personal project #questfortheperfectbud I just wanted to share a bit of past history and the prep work I have in order to have a successful next 2 months or more keeping this plant happy and healthy.

Why I do it

I started growing my own #cannabis, first because I consume cannabis on a daily basis. I don’t like to purchase weed from a dealer, purchasing weed from a dealer encourages a negative impact of weed on society. Its also my 2cents in contributing to the bad reputation the term #marijuana has. 

Disclaimer: I don’t sell weed! I consume my weed and give away to my friends and family if they want!

Another important reason for me is that I am currently helping close friends and family with actual medical benefits. With the #bud I last grew I prepared a #marijuanatincture and gave it to them for free. 

They all have reported back saying it helps them sleep better, reduces back pain and Sciatic Nerve and Sciatica pain for up 2 -3 hours while taking a few ml of liquid tincture drops.

That right there for is 100% motivational for me to grow my own #marijuana. I’m helping my direct loved ones save a lot of money on heavy painkillers is awesome!  My next project after this one will be geared towards finding a better strain that has more medical benefits.

Today’s project is a healthy 2 month old AK 48 , its a combination of Colombian Gold / Thai / Mexican / Afghani Hybrid. 

I have never tried this strain but it has great reviews and has the benefits I am looking for and she is very forgiving for us new growers.



Blog Updates

I plan to change water every 7 days so I suppose I should update my blog every week. I will start from there, but important updates  deserve specific posts and I will be posting other goodies so bookmark me and follow me and to keep #upvoting !

Quick History in my growing experience

I have had 3 plants in my life; all with issues!  Overall they have produced between 4 – 5 Ounces each. Not bad and good smoke!  

I want to improve my buds so this new project is more towards quality and not necessarily quantity; I am slowly learning from my mistakes and improving.

In the past I have had a few issues with heat, some sort of spider mite and root rot. However even with these issues my past harvest have been successful. I can’t believe how forgiving this plant is!

Temperatures here are between 75-85 even 90F! It’s now colder so I expect that these buds will be better! Heat and humidity have a huge impact and they directly affect the consistency of the buds. 

High heat results in airy buds and we want delicious tight heavy THC covered buds! Which I have yet to achieve but im sure this time will be it! 

My personal Set up

I have the tent inside of a closet that I keep locked at all times, it has a window for the hot air to blow out softly. 

Although I just have 1 plant and it’s legal here I don’t like anyone to know its there. I bought quality products and invested time and money to keep my grow area safe, odorless and as quite as possible. #stealthmode

Again! I don’t sell weed this is my personal #steemit project! 

The current grow tent I have is a Gorilla 3x3 Grow tent. This tent is so good! The quality of the zippers and the materials in general are top!

Inside I have 1 KIND LED K3 600 its LED, this type of light is expensive but consumes less power and produces less heat. It’s also full spectrum so the same light works both for Vegetative and Flowering stages. 

Due to past heat issues its important to have good air circulation inside the tent. For that I have a simple old computer fan rigged to pull in fresh air from the bottom tent intake hole. This doesn’t really do much since the air outside is hot anyways but it keeps the air circulating.

I have a small fan inside also this keeps the leaves moving and the plant feels like it’s out doors with wind blowing. That’s the idea; try to make the plant have the ideal conditions for it to properly produce a nice harvest. 

For hot air extraction I use a Hurricane 4 Inch fan controlled at half speed for power savings and it runs considerably lower.

Simple Hydroponics

I use a simple method that uses 1 5 Gallon bucket with a fishtank airpump that connects hoses that go through small drilled holes on the sides of the bucket to airstones. 

The bucket lid holds a small net pot where the plant actually sits inside a Rockwool cube with claypebbles. 

Since I have heat issues I read online that the material around the buckets that I bought helps keep the water temp down from the exterior heat. However I also drop frozen bottles to reduce the water temp and it helps the water stay down as well, Win/Win!

I usually forget something but in general I should also have

  • 1 Phresh Silencer
  • 1 Phresh Carbon Filter
  • Sound reduction duct fitters
  • Active air speed controller
  • Active Aqua water pump
  • Recipe for success Nutrient formula
  • Clay peebles and Rockwool cubes
  • Water Pump
  • PH Meter
  • TDS Meter
  • Light timer
  • Temp and Humidity meter
  • Trim scissors
  • Gloves
  • Net (For Scrog Method)
  • More stuff!

Looking forward to this project I hope you guys follow me through this #questfortheperfectbud

#questfortheperfectbud #marijuana #takeiteasy #medicalmarijuana #weed #cannabis #steem #steemit #weed #steemit #life #art #growtent #weedlovers #weedlover #trending #growers #herbal #bongs #pipes #vaporizers   #bud #anarchy #bestbuds


Sort:  

Some years ago, just before i stop using marijuana, me and my friends produced our own, we also didnt sell it, good to see you are thinking a better way, just like we were. I also didnt like buying from dealers, since in my region they were killing people for money.

Where do you live?

Im from the interior of Brazil, i live in a small city with 200.000 habitants.

Excellent start to a fresh grow

I've been growing cannabis for 15+ years and never tire of it. :)

Looking for No-Dump Reservoir Management?

You'll save nutes and water and grow cleaner cannabis. :) I've begun breaking down what I know about hydro, to help newbies utilize the information in my book. ;)

Link to: TCGHYDRO 101

Keep it Clean!


TheCleanGame Blog, Neatly Categorized

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56