Texas Has Legalized Marijuana! Well sort of!

in #marijuana8 years ago

Well, they are allowing for the growth and use of low THC strains for the production and and dispensing of CBD oil for treatment of seizures. Currently 23 other states have similar laws.

Texas Senate Bill 339, Texas Compassionate Use Act

Here in Texas Gov. Abbot recently singed Texas SB339 into law that would allow people with certain medical conditions access to low THC , CBD Oil to treat seizures. The law further allows for at least three dispensaries across the state, but it looks like they will not have licensing until January 2018.

Is this a "Medical Marijuana Law"

No not really, this law only allows for low THC, CBD oil for use to treat intractable epilepsy, not for use in a wide range of other symptoms. Also patients will need recommendations from two doctors as well have had tried two other forms of treatment for their condition.

Permitting and Administration

It appears that as of now all permits and administration of the regulations will be thru the Texas Department of public safety, not the Texas Department of State Health Services.

Per the Texas DPS website, They will license at least three dispensing organizations by Sep 1st 2017.

https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/CUP/LicensingandReg.htm


What it takes to be a licensed dispensary?

Well there is a laundry list of regulation pertaining to permitting, I have a link to the pdf, take a look when you have a few minutes.

https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/CUP/Laws/adminRules.pdf


Should I apply for a permit?

I tell you why I ask that, If you check my previous posts, I have a large hydroponic tomato growing operation. I have all the infrastructure to grow a large amount of anything I could imagine, but I am a small operation, family business you could say.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@jed78/hydroponic-growing-methods-part-1-dutch-buckets

When I read thru the regulations I notice things like 24 hours security of the premises where growing occurs, and a whole host of other regulations It's plain to see that they are looking for large scale operators who can run several employees and administrative type personnel, and that just ain't me!

So I guess I'll just sit back and grow my tomatoes and let the big dogs run that slice of the pie, and wait for further deregulation from the state!

Let me know your thoughts!

and thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Yep, here in Colorado all sorts of grow operations are robbed along w/ dispensaries since it's as good as gold. If it becomes more normalized in Texas, then it might be less stressful than being a front runner.

The 24/7 security is normally covered by surveillance cameras, at least that is how it is set up here in Oregon. I think you should definitely look more into it! Your grow op is beautifully well designed and could really do some wonderful flourishing in there!

Thanks, Yea I am looking into it , but it seems like a lot of hurdles, not just security. But who knows, I might do some more digging

Even as it saves lives, regulators are still treating it worst than tobacco. After a million years of Evolution we still don't know how the greatest tools nature has giving us.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.4 and reading ease of 63%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61