Step through the looking portal to Wonderland

in #marijuana7 years ago

As @spaingaroo keenly noted in the comments to a previous post about my legal outdoor marijuana grow, my three girls are pretty crowded together. This is not ideal, but it is a function of the available space and light in my yard. My plants are already taking up most of the good real estate as far as light coverage and are situated in the only place that is not easily visible from the alley behind my garage. In the wet fall weather here you don't want your plants to be so crowded that leaves touch each other, it promotes powder mildew on the leaves and eventual bud rot. Since my last post I thinned out the plants considerably, harvesting a couple of ounces of the scraggly undergrowth and spreading out the larger branches with a spiderweb of fishing line like some kind of mad puppeteer preparing for a very hazy show.


The looking portal to Wonderland


The view from above - standing on top of the looking portal :) You can see some of the fishing line puppet strings catching the light. The Blue Widow is taking up the front left, Pit Boss front right, and the whole back section and sprawling out over the top of everything else as well is a Strawberry Cough plant that would be up to the eaves of the roof line if I had not bent it over and trained it out like an octopus

As we move into October the nights are growing colder here in Oregon and the deciduous foliage is responding with the usual beautiful degradation into autumnal reds, yellows and browns. My outdoor beauties are still in full flower; the trichome heads are still clear which is a surefire sign that they have not yet reached peak ripeness. The Blue Widow (Blueberry x White Widow Indica dominant hybrid) is the farthest along, with individual colas already in the 1/2oz to ounce range and quite a few red hairs despite the clear trichomes. The Blue Widow is also starting to display the coveted purple coloration as you will see below.


Blue Widow - Unleash the Purple!


Blue Widow closeup


Blue Widow cola - this bad girl is bigger around than my arm


Blue Widow cola - amazingly some of these colas don't even have any red hairs at all yet, so as big as this is already it has a long ways to go still!

Of the three strains that I am growing, the Pit Boss is the most potent by far. Even early harvest of the Pit Boss is ridiculously strong, almost a liquid high like your head has been immersed in water. I will get these tested when I have harvested the fully ripened nugs, and I am guessing high twenties to possibly even 30%+ THC content by weight for the Pit Boss. It doesn't form the densely packed colas like the Blue Widow, but what it lacks in huge shapely buds it more than makes up for with fighting spirit. This lady is a stone cold killer.


Pit Boss - beautiful but deadly


Pit Boss


Pit Boss


Pit Boss closeup

My Strawberry Cough is the farthest away from harvest. Strawberry Cough is a Sativa dominant hybrid and this particular plant is expressing a true classic Sativa phenotype. If I hadn't bent her over and spread her out she would be a Christmas tree of a plant sticking up to my roof line. She started budding almost a month after the other two and is only just now in the last few weeks starting to plump out and produce some capitate-stalked trichomes. I expect she will go into November before she is ready to put out for me. It is hard to get a shot of her buds now because there are still so many shade leaves sticking out of the colas. Here is the best Strawberry Cough bud shot I could get - this particular cola is farther along than the rest:

Thankful to live in a legal state


I am thankful to live in Oregon, a state which has finally legalized marijuana for recreational use. I can legally grow up to four plants (I have three beautiful girls). I hope to see the legalization movement continue to sweep across America regardless of the current political climate.

Hope you enjoyed your trip to Wonderland!

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

Wow! Those are some healthy looking plants!! Great job!

I am not a regular cannabis user but am thinking hard about attempting to grow indoors this winter. Our state legalized marijuana this past November and I just want to experiment a bit. These pictures really got me fired up!

Will the colder nights bother these plants or interrupt their maturation? We’ve been luck temp wise so far, but it is October!

Nope, not unless we get a hard frost. Cold nights do give that nice purple coloration to some strains and help signal the plant to really ramp up the resin gland production... because winter is coming. Good luck if you do decide to grow inside - it is a ton of fun watching some young ladies grow up and mature! Cheers - Carl

Thanks, Carl. Continued good luck with your crop. Winter IS coming, indeed, and I'm not happy about it. lol

Send me some seeds 🌱 . I wouldn't call it Wonderland. It's only a piece of heaven. You need more if you want to call it wonderland. You are doing a good job so far, probably this is just a test. Have a great time Steeming and planting.

Well hopefully I won't have any seeds as these are all females! It is only legal to grow up to four plants here, so I can't have a real wonderland, but I do love spending time with my plants in my piece of heaven. Thanks for stopping by! Much love - Carl

Nice, I never knew that Oregon had legalised. I think the new wave of thinking around the drug war and the associated costs is beginning to break down; the failure of the predominant school of thought over so many years is now beginning to tell. I live in the UK though, and not much sign of movement here, not with a Tory government in power.

There is very little that I like about the American political system but at least with the US states having a fair amount of leeway to make their own laws we can have a result like the legalization of marijuana in individual states even when a monstrous troll like Trump can get elected on the nationwide level. I think the tide is indeed beginning to turn and I don't think people can keep ignoring the horrific (human) costs of the drug war. Decriminalization if not outright legalization may not be too far away even in the UK. Here is hoping ;) Cheers - Carl

Man, those are some impressive pictures! Seriously good close-ups of the buds! I must admit, I've never seen anything quite like the Blue Widow buds.

Thanks! It is so much fun growing them.

You do enjoy your gardening, I see :)

Congratulations @carlgnash! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hey, thanks for the mention. I had to cut my losses on my three that were left.
They were being completely invaded by scale insect, I think it is, and since the rain is coming I decided that they were far enough along.
I still have supply from my wonderland year last year, so it's not that bad.
But I am thinking about how to come back strong next year.

jaja
sorry I haven't been around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75