You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March Madness

in #marchmadness5 years ago

I did it - read all your chapters so far - and you're really onto something with this! Maybe you'll envision more of the usual plot-thriller-suspense-action thing as you keep writing. For me, plot is the hardest. Most books and movies leave me annoyed with the contrived conflicts and the STuPID things people do in order to keep the plot moving. A lot of best-selling women's fiction is literary and character-focused, not plot-heavy. Your story is coming along fine. If you don't want to do the 50,000 words in 30 days thing, that's fine, but do keep us up to date with Doris!! I want to see something great happen. The plotters will tell you she has to have the worst thing she can imagine happen to her and all looks hopeless, but then she rallies around and triumphs. (This is the part of plotting that grates on me as a writer.) I hope to see more of Doris in the beta readers group!

Sort:  

Ah, you are sweet. Thank you. I really appreciate you taking the time to read Doris' story.

You're right, it was the plot (or the lack of one) that was getting in my way. I'm actually beginning to taste the excitement again, now that I have released the pressure I was holding onto. We are such strange creatures, aren't we?

Authors are not as strange as the stereotypes would have believe. :)
I have so many books I could Kindle-loan you on writing. If you're interested. You're in the right place already, here at freewritehouse. The best method, imo, is to freewrite and see what emerges. Let your subconscious take over. I'm always surprised at the characters and plots that emerge in my own freewrites. The prompt is not a rule; it's only there for those who say "nothing comes to mind; I don't know what to write" -- somehow, a single word or phrase is all it takes to trigger a memory or a feeling. "Apple tree" or "Apple pie" might summon a deluge of memories about chores on a farm, peeling, slicing apples to freeze for pie or to be canned. Some of the prompts are said to be challenging. Like "Local Derby." I'm so happy you're recapturing the excitement Doris brings, not just for you the writer but for us the readers!

Free writing is generally the way I write. I need to let the flow take me again. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39