You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delegation Contest - Follow-Up

in #mapsters6 years ago (edited)

I know how that feels. Last Wednesday, I had had it with SteemIt. i decided to take the day off and think about whether I wanted to continue this or not. I think I grabbed my phone like 20 times before I realized I was taking the day off. Lol! Boy, that was a boring day :0)

It’s like I said before: with your history of being curation king for as long as forever, I know that you take SteemIt seriously. If you don’t show up in the list next week, there is no problem. I know you’ll be back eventually ;0D

Sort:  

That's right. There is still an awesome lot to learn. Both about Steemit but also in general about crypto, blockchain and other new inventions.

Why would you consider to stop Steemit?
It looks like you invested quite an amount. And you are normally very active.

I wonder if it would help if my friends and family would join Steemit? Or that I prefer it like this, a bit more anonymous?

Lol, that’s up to you. You could create your very own circle-jerk and grow faster, hahaha
I’m happy I have no one I know on SteemIt (at least, I think so... who knows who is hiding behind those silly usernames), it allows me to speak more freely.
But I see a lot of couples who both have an account, or even parents and children...

Why would I leave SteemIt? Let’s be honest, I love this platform, but it has no future. Every day I come across all what’s wrong with it, and then I get demotivated. The centralized power, the circle-jerking, the upvote bots, the ‘just because’ flagging,... I can go on for a while. But the thing that bothers me most is the fact that STINC just doesn’t give a f**k. They created the platform, then turned away and left it to die... It’s just a matter of time..
But then I think about all the good things, all the fun conversations I have here, all the friends I made here, and how much I already learned about myself, and then I return. Lol
The investment in Steem is just a small part of my portfolio, and so far not te best decision I ever made - lol. But the same goes for everything I bought after BTC, ETH and DASH ;0)

I honestly believe that Steemit has no future. Basically for the same reasons as you. But also from an economic perspective I think it lacks a real business model. I think you should create a social media platform with advertisements. And use part of the advertising income to pay all users. Other part of the advertising income you can use to pay salaries and for further development.

I agree.
Once I saw this proposal from a guy who had plans to build some kind of advertising platform to integrate into SteemIt. I think it even exists already. Should look up that post again.

But internal advertising will widen the gap between the rich and the ‘poor’.
In that same thread i saw a whale asking what kind of advertising he could get for $500. (Or was it $5000? i dln’t remember)...

If I see those kind of things I always feel the urge to try to benefit the system in ways I'm not supposed to. But in the end I end up with behaving good for most of the time. And sometimes I try some tricks. Thinking that if I won't do it, then someone else will. And some whales are really much worse.

But trying to grab money on Steemit is kind of useless for me. Since I have quite a good job. So it makes more sense to work like 1 hour extra in my normal job then trying anything at Steemit.

Don't you sometimes feel the urge to do something like selling your upvote?

To be really honest, I am selling my upvotes through Minnowbooster (shame shame), but only if my VP is above 88%, which is like... never - lol

But I agree on the tricks. I play my number of tricks. If I don’t, somebody else will :0)

The ads all tell you you will make money blogging, but the truth is that you’ll never get rich on SteemIt. Unless the price of Steem goes up to $30 or so, which is very unlikely.
I gave up the idea of making money long time ago. It’s the community that is important now. I’m improving my writing skills, my social skills and a lot more. That’s the real value of the platform...

That's true, there is a lot more than the money.

Do you know what APR you earn via minnowbooster? And what APR do you think it would be when you use all VP for this delegation?
I wonder because I made a calculation the other day.

I also wonder if one could earn more if he/she is able to code? For example to code some kind of bot.

I stopped selling my votes after our conversation yesterday. I’m also involved in @transparencybot, as I think it is a step in the right direction.

On the coding: I assume one can earn more by coding a bot that for example upvotes your posts, or something - I don’t have the creative ideas to figure out something like that. It’s always beneficial if you can code some sort of bot. How profitable it will be, depends on the features of the bot...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60257.31
ETH 2427.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44