You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🏆 [CHALLENGE] What Did You Learn About SteemIt Today? (@steembasicincome Giveaway)

in #mapsters6 years ago

Today I learnt that meeting Steemians in real life can really change your perspective about Steemit and what it offers.

I have been reading a few posts from people who feel like they have spent a lot of time and effort but not getting the results/rewards that they are looking for. I also feel like becoming less engaged as the number of followers increase and you spend more time on Steemit and Discord. But the real value of Steemit is creating opportunities and value for communities that come together on this platform to help each other and that has to take place in the real world.

The only way to learn this is of course to organize time to meet Steemians in person, and to reflect on the experience (not necessarily write a post about it but I did). There is so much more you can learn and share by meeting people in person compared to blogging and chatting on Discord and I wish I did this sooner! My approach is to look for opportunities to meet people 1 on 1 rather than waiting for meetups to be organized because it is easier to organize things with smaller numbers of people.

Sort:  

Interesting approach, @plushzilla.
Did you actually have a meetup with someone already?
I can imagine that a real-life 1 to 1 conversation can be a good thing, both concerning motivation and knowledge.
How I wish there was a whale who could explain to me how the reward pool exactly works, while sitting next to me - lol. It would probably speed up my process of understanding. :0)

I see a lot of people that are meeting each other, mostly during organized meetups - but like you I would prefer to have just 2 or 3 people come together. But I hear it is even organized in schools... that’s how far the SteemIt platform reaches into society.

Since I have met only a small handful of Belgians so far - to whom I’m not really ‘close’ - I think I’ll have to go on without real life interaction. Not that I care, I’m not a very big fan of meeting new people - lol

Thanks for joining, you’ve posted a valid entry

Absolutely, but I didn't write the typical post where I go through all the details of the meeting, rather I reflected on what it meant to do something like this instead of just staying online:
https://steemit.com/makesteemitgreat-again/@plushzilla/why-meeting-steemians-in-real-life-will-change-your-view-about-steemit

It's interesting that the larger Steemit meetups occur in what we call the 'developing' nations that have a more community-minded view than the mature economies that are too obsessed with materialism and consumerism (and selfies).

Of course, there are people that I admire very much on Steemit that I might never get to meet (Steemfest might be the best opportunity) so I talk to them on Discord or leave a comment on their blog, but it always makes you wonder what they are like in real life :)

True. We’re all brought up as individuals and lack team-spirit and sense of community.
Gonna read your post instantly :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34