You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [STEEM-BOUNTY] are You Actively Promoting Your SteemIt Posts?

in #mapsters6 years ago

Hmm, interesting the way you promoted steem-bounty here. Kind of makes me want to do a tag search, just to find current posts with an open bounty. I have been trying to think of ways to sort of "sell" my comments to people who want them on their posts. Steem-bounty does a good enough job of advertising to everyone which people are willing to pay good money for comments, and makes you compete for it.

What magic technique do I use?

Charm. Authentic. Honest. Relevant. Question. Clincher.

I try to use a combination of these personality traits in all of my posts. As long as I communicate clearly, with minimal typing and grammar errors, I don't have to worry about being poor quality. Write about any topic, and people are sure to be interested in reading it.

People appreciate reading text much more if it has a narrative style, from a person with a real voice and personality. Anytime I can sneak in a personal story into whatever I am sharing, the better.

Charm is easy. Never talk like a sales-person, commercial, or a boring instructor who gives the same lesson every time just like every other teacher who teaches the same lesson. Be slightly weird, hyper, strange, nerdy, narcissistic, or any not-normal personality to slightly enhance your writing persona. This will heighten your personality to a less serious tone, which makes it easier to add your own sense of humor too.

Always include a question, or ask for help, because it connects people together. Everyone wants to have a purpose and feel generous that they can help. So I like to make that offering every time.

A little bit of kindness and courtesy goes a long way, by briefly acknowledging gratefulness to everyone who has volunteered to view, comment, or upvote. Don't be repetitive and use the same words every time. Be genuine, and express your thanks in a regular flow based on how you actually feel in the current moment.

The only thing I never ask for in my posts is for people to upvote and resteem me, because people generally won't do that unless they want to, not because I ask for it. Some people even refuse to upvote anyone who they feel is begging for upvotes, because it is a big turn-off to them.

A clincher is a nice bonus to make your post leave a memorable impression. One last Hail Mary to earn an upvote! It can be an emotional photo, a quote, a joke, or a life lesson learned from the post. Anything positive to contribute to leaving the reader better off than they were before makes a good clincher at the end of the post. Be original and mix it up every post, so that the followers will continue to appreciate following your posts.

I don't have any tricks for promoting my posts to get more followers directly. I gave up on bots and I never give permission for voting services to autovote for me. Sometimes I write posts with certain lucky tags, and it attracts a lot of upvotes because related communities enjoy getting new posts from new writers. Some people like to find out which posts are getting big upvotes from @Curie, and focus on writing related posts that use the same tags as those posts. I don't do this, but I try to post about a variety of subjects each time, to try out a few new tags each time, and continue using one or two tags I think are popular. Just make sure your content is actually related to the tags you choose, otherwise people might get angry and flag you.

Okay, can you see I love giving advice and being helpful? Viewers don't have to take my advice, but it's there if they want it.

Thanks for sharing this steem-bounty @simplymike. That is very generous!

Sort:  

Thanks for your advice, @creativetruth. There was actually such a lot of good advice that I started wondering if you would ans,er the question too. But you did, in the end, lol.

By the way, before I forget:you don't have todo a tag search to find bounties, you can see them all at the @steem-bounty website: https://steem-bounty.com/

Using the right tags is a strategy I see more people mention. I don't really have so many options, since my field of interest, knowledge and skill is pretty limited. But maybe I should try it once: choose a tag before I write the post. Might be interesting... or nothing at all :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

I have to tell you @simplymike, I was honestly just going around and commenting on all of the steem-bounties available that looked easy enough to participate in. Most of them looked innocent enough, so I took advantage of the opportunities to build up some engagement with others, and potentially earn some extra rewards.

Unfortunately, there are some people, I later on discerned, only running the steem-bounties because they want to earn the 100 Steem prize being offered for those running a steem-bounty contest. One of those I ran into started harassing me with judgements, and insulting my misfortune of being born from lower forms of life (paraphrasing). I am not easily offended, but I feel bad for anyone else who might fall victim to predators out there looking to lure in comments, only to spread hate and negativity to innocent contributors.

Can steem-bounty creators hijack their own bounty to collect extra rewards?

Thank you @simplymike for being such a helpful steward to others here on Steemit and elsewhere who are sometimes a bit clueless on how things work. It is very dissatisfying to ask a question about something that is causing frustration, and have people write back that you don't deserve an opinion on technology you don't operate or understand.

What? Did this really happen?? Perhaps it is something hou should the guy behind @steem-bounty, preferrably before he pays out his 100 steem., so he can take those people lf the list of valid entries.

Hosts of bounty contests normally get nothing. But with the 100 Stedm bounty contest that is running now, they get an upvote of app 2 steem when they set up their contest, and they will get a share of the 100 Steem.prize pool. So at the moment, there's a lot at stake. (This 100 steem bounty contest is just a form.of promoting the service. It will be gone again soon, and things will get back to normal: host simply pay for the prize money themselves, and the steem-bounty service takes care of deciding who gets how much of the prize pool.

If you want to, I will message him.in the morning, telling him what you just told me. Could you send me the link to the contest (if you prefer Discord, you can find me there as simplymike#5957

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the author I engaged with is kind of a wacko conspiracy theorist, and full of hypocrisy, but dangerous enough to dox people based on other posts I am reading. Arguing with him is not recommended, as he does not play by logical rules.

I do not support censorship, obviously. However, I hope he isn't using this contest to be a predator on others in order to grab a prize from people more deserving.

If you are going to change the rules because of abusers, I do not want to be held accountable. I'm just reporting my experience.

https://steemit.com/steem-bounty/@justmeagain/why-i-do-declare-it-s-1861-in-the-steem-world-social-experiment-and-a-civil-war-is-unfolding

I think everything that has happened has little to do with Steem-bounty. The guy is just... (I don't want to write down yhe words I'm thinking right now)
I think you handled that conversation really well, I wouldn't have gone back for seconds. But you did and stood your ground. Very well done.

I think the conclusion should be: stay away from controversal bounyty post by ****** people, lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn, i managed to lose my very lengthy reply. I'm not going to retype now, I got to get some sleep, but if you send me the link to the contest, I'll let the guy behind @steem-bounty know about this and make sure she doesn't get a reward.

@jmhb85, maybe you should already read the comment above this one in which @creativetruth has been obviously a victim of @steem-bount abusers

@creativetruth, send me the link, if you want to, feel free to use Discord. You can find me there as simplymike#5957

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90