Sort:  

I cannot say that I am a talent recruiter but if one's only skill is manual labor and that job is automated then who is to blame, the field owner or the laborer?
My point is that I fully subscribe to self ownership, personal responsibility, and personal accountability. If I lose my job tomorrow there will be many factors at play. But I know I can stand back up from getting knocked down, dust myself off, and find other work. If the only factory in my little town closes up I can assure you I will be packing up the next day to move on to the next town.

That is great that you have that view.

However, we wonder how well that will suit you when up to 1/3 the jobs are destroyed by automation in the next 10 years. This is a figure that it forecast by a number of different studies. Will they be right? Only time will tell. So what you call victimhood mentality is a warning.

By the way, it is good you care not a talent recruiter: that is being automated along with hr, accounting, and billing departments. How are the job prospects going to look when 50% of banking/finance is eliminated, 50% of the transportation jobs, kitchens are automated, and all the jobs related to supply chain work is gone?

This is the point. If those who are forecasting this are wrong, not the end of the world. If the ones who are stating just take care of yourself and increase your job skills are wrong, tens of millions are starving.

people survived for 10's of thousands of years without 'jobs' and then money became something 'important' and then people got stuck doing 9-5's they dont enjoy.
because 'the work needs to be done'

if people dont have 'work to do' then maybe they can focus more on the things that are actually important, like family.
eliminate the 'wages' part of things, and all of a sudden depression levels will decrease. and we may actually advance as a society, instead of continually spiralling downwards.

not sure how much sense i made above, and if the thought i was trying to convey came out. its 3am here, and i havent slept in 2 days cos 'theres work to do' and my UBI just doesnt quite cut it yet ;)

@mannacurrency

Should we stop sending emails because the postmen is losing his job?

What are you sollutions?

@mannacurrency, I still do not see your point. If 1/3 of all jobs are to be lost, what is the solution? I do not think that hindering efficiency or quality is the solution either. I can only say that I fully and 100% trust in the free-market solutions (whatever they may be as we are not fortune tellers). The best ideas will always rise to the top and that which is not sustainable or efficient will wash out.

If someone is buying with their conscience and the free market values morals over buying power then I will respect that. I cannot subscribe to artificial manipulation of markets for sympathy's sake. Until then my values are autonomy and freedom. If I am a business owner I will not allow any outside force to mandate that I continue down the path of proven inefficiency or human error just for keeping manual labor jobs alive.

There will still be a market for hand (made, picked, grown, manufactured, etc, whatever the case may be) but automation is the future and inevitable. Modern furniture is one example of this. Have you priced a handmade carved wooden kitchen table? You will be lucky to get one for under $4,000 while IKEA can sell a table and six chairs for a cool $250. Is it sad that furniture makers are out of business or are we grateful that there are consumer goods that are available to us for a fraction of the price of handmade goods? Do you always over pay for organic, gluten-free, non-GMO produce or are automated fruits and veggies good enough?

I can continue on but I think the point is made. If you would rather pay extra out of pocket there will always be a market for you but please do not hinder the rest of us from enjoying lower cost goods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85